Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 November 2012
The beauty of this film and its eternal star have been well covered elsewhere, so here is just a short note on the differences between the European Region 2 Eureka! 'Masters Of Cinema' release and the US Region 1 Kino Video DVD.
Firstly, the original US DVD has the amazing bonus 1930 short (18 min.) feature "Windy Riley Goes Hollywood" which is currently the ONLY speaking Brooks film on DVD (we're not counting the cheap 'n' shoddy US DVD-Rs here). A spectacular little gem, that although somewhat degraded in both picture and sound, shows the beautiful Louise in talking and dancing brilliance. And she sounds like an angel. If only there'd have been more. This comedy gem was directed by Roscoe 'Fatty' Arbuckle after his criminal and unfair Hollywood blacklisting and was one of his final works too. Probobaly the best print of this short available.
The main feature is not as good as the Eureka Region 2 DVD (which is not going to be surpassed) but certainly looks great. Worth the money for "Windy Riley..." alone.
Of course, the Eureka Region 2 DVD is stunning. A fantastic looking print, great bonuses and an informative book ('booklet' doesn't do it justice). If you're a fan of Louise then I'd highly recommend both.
44 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
I just want to mention that this particular DVD edition includes a 40-page booklet with various pieces of information on Pabst and Louise Brooks, including writings from Louise herself, which makes quite a good read.

And, as someone else mentioned already, if you like this, you should also watch "Pandora's Box", also directed by Pabst and featuring Louise Brooks.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
I enjoyed the film , what I expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2014
It's hard to talk about HD picture quality for a film such as this for all available prints seem to be rather murky and scratchy so this is perhaps as good as this classic is going to look. Still it's a slight step up from the DVD though not overtly so. It will be interesting when they get around to releasing '' Pandora's Box '' on Blu-ray for the surviving copies of that are generally far superior to '' Lost Girl '' though as cinema I think this is the better film.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2007
This release of the second collaboration between actress Louise Brooks and master film maker GW Pabst allows modern viewers to understand why this film is still written about and discussed eighty years after production.

Pabst takes a simple story of a girl cast out from her family, due to an unwanted pregnancy, and turns it into a study of the hypocrisy of 'respectable' society. Moved from her home to a reformatory and then escaping into a life on the streets, Pabst shows a character looking for love and support who time and again is betrayed. Once again he is able to coax a remarkable performance out of Brooks and make good use of an eye catching supporting cast. Sometimes this veers towards the grotesque but this fits in well with the themes of the story. The occassional stiffness of the silent school of acting can be seen of course but, in fact, it now re-inforces a feeling of social rigidity and convention for the modern viewer. Against this is contrasted the light and natural character of Brooks. Hers is a very modern performance and it is her sensuality and beauty that adds the magic to this story, lifting the film onto a whole different level.

The quality of the print is very good and allows the viewer to become immersed in the film without being distracted by flaws or failings in presentation. An interesting booklet is also included as part of the package.

A good release of the first Pabst-Brooks film, 'Pandoras Box' is already available from Second Sight on Region 2 DVD. This release of '... Lost Girl' allows us to enjoy the other great work of cinema they created, in something like the condition that was originally intended.

It is released by Eureka as part of the 'Masters of Cinema Collection' and shows the care and attention to detail that makes so many of their releases essential for anyone truly interested in cinema.
0Comment| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2013
film art at its best; an interesting part of the european silent movie culture; a culture of concentrated pictures and communication - so it gives us clues for the interpretation of our wolrd, which consists highly on visual signs and communication again.

A world lost - but a world we are connected to since today
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2010
I apologise to readers of this review - I wanted to create something that would make people go and watch this wonderful film, but I'm lost for words: I give up. This is everything a review shouldn't be but ....

If you haven't seen it - DO!
11 Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2011
This is a very good film, but I would recommend Pandora's Box even more! Still, you'll enjoy the bohemian nature of this film and I just love Louise Brooks naturalness. great stuff!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2017
Fabulous! Now known primarily as a style icon whose haircut is imitated by numerous hipster young ladies in Brooklyn and Berlin we should remember Louise Brooks for the major film star she was back between the world wars. One of her two best films yes, it is silent and it is black & white but do not let this deter you or your kids from watching it. A morality tale worthy of D.W. Griffith it could almost be a chapter in his incredible epic Intolerance. Brooks plays her role well, be it up, down and then up, she never is less than believable and the direction of Georg Wilhelm Pabst makes this one of the great films of the Weimar Republic era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2013
5 stars because Louise Brooks cannot help but convey truth in her responses to the script. She is more than a mere actress.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)