Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Five stars with reservations. If you have the Criterion double dvd the picture and sound quality (when upscaled) are just about the same on this blu ray. I watched this Masters of Cinema edition on 100' projection. The picture is sharper but colours and grain are virtually the same. Having said that, of course, the Criterion disc is extremely high quality. In theory the audio of the blu ray is stereo but in practice it is still the mono soundtrack across two front speakers. The subtitles and screen text are pin sharp. I do not know if the blu ray version of the Criterion dvd is significantly better.

As for the movie itself, it is both wondrous and wonderful. Having recently experienced the full might of the Justice system being perversely abused I fully engaged in Mick Travis and his friends' stunning revolt against hypocrisy and the vile depravity of the ruling class. "You look after the House and the House will look after you" offers the Headmaster. License to make documents go 'missing.'

If you are interested in the Extras on this one disc release I noted that the Menu stated that the interviews were carried out between February and March 2014.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Dad's old favourite film so I got it for Father's Day. Really weird film but my dad loved it so I was happy too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2017
Classic, 'fab', 60s British film about a 'private, public' school(!), repression, sex, caning, drugs, revolution and CCF explosions.

Ah ... those were the days.

The CCF explosions I mean as the rest seems to have passed me by.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2017
Great classic film I went to an all boy boarding school in the 70s just like this film smashing but harsh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Classic sixties drama
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Everything fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
I had forgotten just how brilliant this film is. Very much of its time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
the film has many tips for young men as to avoid teenage pitfalls so if later in life you fall on hard times it is noted that the pat can haunt you in your future
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
As you've probably gathered most of the reviews are for the 'DVD' version of Lindsay Anderson's incendiary 1968 'bucking-the-system' classic. And the BLU RAY is available in both the States and the UK. But which issue to buy?

Unfortunately the uber-desirable USA Criterion release is REGION-A LOCKED although it doesn't say so on Amazon.
So it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't).
Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Luckily the "Masters Of Cinema" release on this side of the pond (which boasts the same cleaned up transfer) is REGION FREE – so that will play on UK machines.

Check you’re purchasing the right version before you buy the pricey Criterion release...
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
I'v read a load of rubbish people having said about this film, I first saw it at the Plaza cinema
in London when it came out, and loved it then and still do now. The only thing I was not keen
on was seeing all those old men, talking about when they was in this film. I could not see
that it was them at all. But then is was all those decades ago.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)