Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
53
4.2 out of 5 stars
Wait For Me
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.58+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 9 August 2017
iys ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Simply loveleh
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
Amazing album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 June 2015
The Pigeon Detectives exploded onto the scene in 2007 with this upbeat and catchy debut album. These five young men from Leeds put together a confident first album which is filled with tunes that are ideal to play up loud with a group of mates at a house party. If you like similar indie rock bands such as the early Arctic Monkeys, The Enemy, The Holloways, The Courteeners, and Sheffield's underrated sons Little Man Tate, all of whom appeared around the same time, then you should snap 'Wait For Me' up without any hesitation. These guys offer up nothing original whatsoever, but then again, they probably didn't care, and neither do I - this is first-class feel-good indie rock. It is pretty samey though, hence why I decided to knock a star off my review.

The massive opener 'Romantic Type' sets the tone for the entire album, fast, exciting, filled with raw energy, and tunes to make you want to stamp your feet. With the exception of the later single 'This Is An Emergency', this debut is almost like a greatest hits package, containing four singles that all topped the indie music charts. One of them was 'Romantic Type', and the other three are 'I Found Out', 'I'm Not Sorry', and 'Take Her Back'. Play both 'Don't Know How To Say Goodbye' and 'I Can't Control Myself' on repeat, I do.

If you like indie-rock/Britpop music which is virtually designed to make you jump up and down like a fool, sing at the top of your voice (badly in my case), then buy Wait For Me' and discover The Pigeon Detectives (great name!) today.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 23 August 2015
Most albums of under 36 minutes would seem rather skinny and poor value but 'Wait for Me' is every bit of a rush as the haste in the title suggests.
With no sign of a ballad in sight, the band thrash their way through an enjoyable, quirky and lyrically astute and witty set that's full of catchy hooks and glorious 'indie guitar' riffs.

Sure, the lack of variety does get a bit waring by the end but crucially, because the band sussed when they might be 'outstaying their welcome' and stopped there they pull off a delicate balancing act and your final thoughts are 'well, that was good!'

The only snag for me about this lot though is that I get the feeling one album by them is likely to be enough for my collection. Adrenaline rushes like this album are rare but equally you really have to be in the mood to listen to such boisterous energy!

This album did well for the band and includes five singles. To give a long drawn out analysis of each track is really a waste of time because they are all from the same mould, pretty much but if I had to pick out one as my fav it would probably be, 'I Found Out'...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 15 August 2007
OK, so I'm 50, and maybe shouldn't have a say on new groups. But do these guys give it all. There are strong traces of punk in there, and I'm sure they must have been influenced by The Clash, Pistols & Buzzcocks. From track 1 had goose pimples, it's just catchy, within 3 listens you are there
and you know all the words. Go to the web site, and have a listen to the tracks, l think the first track, they even have a video of. I was tapping away within 30 seconds.
It's in my best CD's of the year already.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2007
This yorshire band showed a lot of promise when their single romantic Type came out last year, a great slice of spiky indie rock.

then they followed up with that with the already indie anthem of "I Found Out" with the shout "Is she going out with"

after the two promising singles, it was time for the band to come up with the goods on their debut effort "Wait For Me".

and they really do deliver the goods on this one, 12 songs that are designed to played loud, with a beer in your hand and group of mates all tuneless singing along, back of the net!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2007
Although I don't like describing bands as "X meets Y", I'm simply too unskilled to avoid it, so sorry: The Pigeon Detectives are The Jam meets Feeder - purveyors of energetic, hooky and anthemic garage rock.

They sit well with contemporary staples (Kaisers, Franzs, Arctics, et al) but wear their old influences (The Kinks and Velvet Underground) brashly enough that they don't sound like copycats.

'Romantic Type' is very Feeder-like; fast-paced shouting of amusing lyrics mixed with tempo changes into more tender, reflective segments and fun guitar solos. My favourite on the album though is 'I Found Out', Undertones-like (read: Teenage Kicks-like) and with a shouty backing vocal, highly sing-along-to-able.

I can sympathise with complaints that The Pigeon Detectives are generic, because there's no denying that there are hundreds of UK bands putting out music like this, but one can't help thinking this band are something more, perhaps having taken those five years since forming in 2002 to really nail down the precise tracks they want to define them in their debut album. It will certainly be interesting to see where they go next; a mass bandwagon jumping could shoot them to the top of the popularity stakes in latter 2007 or they could just fade into obscurity like so many others - neither would be quite deserved.

Inoffensive, uplifting but not especially remarkable UK rock - worth a listen, if not a purchase. The mental imagery of their name gives me the laughs, too.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2007
Wait for me is a fantasic album, full of fire passion and energy. Every single song on there could be a single in its own right, and after one listen on the album the whole way through im sure you would agree. A must have for any pop/rock/indie fan.

Recommended songs: Romantic type, I'm not sorry, I found out, Take her back.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2007
Not much to say except possibly album of the year, I can't turn it off. As for the last reviewer, although he is spot on about this album he is so wide of the mark regards indie in general he has almost gone full circle. For instance, The Cribs have been around longer than any of the acts they supposedly copied?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Emergency
£5.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)