Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
17
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£22.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2007
Three stars, my a*** !! A definite five star album with Roy Wood at his peak of creativity. The album boast an array of styles and it changes by the track as indeed does Wood's voice. Nevertless it works as an album, as the theme running throughout is Wood's love of unusual instrumentation. Cello solos replace guitar solos, water drips replace percussion and double-speed voices become a fanfare of trumpets.

Boulders is a classic studio album, and although it is about one man pushing himself to the limits of his ability and creativity, it still has warmth and a heart. Amidst the orchestra of instruments, well crafted songs shine through. . and in many instances the arrangements are simple and elegant. But when Wood goes over-the-top he really goes OTT, with the barogue 'Dear Elaine' one of the hit singles from the album, that boast a choir of Roy Woods!.

Roy Wood plays everything except a bit of harmonium on 'Songs of Praise'. I have never been able to work out why! Maybe if the album hadn't worked so well, Wood could have blamed the harmonium player!

It's said to have taken about four years to complete and coupled with the changing quality of each song, it has a timeless feel. It is quite simply one of those albums that everyone should have in their music collection.

Roy Wood also did the self-portrait for the cover. It's perfect! A classic album cover.

And to the other review. . it's Eddy and the FALCONS (Eddie the Eagle is the Skier!)
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2007
Please remember that although this came out in 1972 it's a 60's album! It was recorded in the late 60's and put on hold for a few years due to The Move, ELO and Wizzard commitments. Think of the recording technology (or lack of it) available in those days. Who else was singing about computers (Miss Clarke and The Computer)way back then? It's a beautiful album, full of different styles. Can't wait to hear the re-mastered release next month!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2007
This album is bursting with melody, inventiveness and, like Roy Wood himself, fits into no known category. Pop? Rock? Folk? Charming, wistful, engaging, and, inevitably, catchy. Released in 1973, though recorded a few years earlier, it just shows how rich an age that was and how talented its stars were.
The CD brings out the voices well, although the percussion is probably too forward. It lacks the warmth of the vinyl, but that could just be my CD player. Only one bonus track - a mix of Dear Elaine without the weird trumpets on the finished version. At the end, Roy Wood says to the engineer, 'Was that okay?'
Genius was ever modest.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2007
Roy Wood is pure genius. I had forgotten how good he really was especially in the context of what he was producing pre 1973. A one man masterpiece - singing, instruments, production, design - unbelievable all round talent. Boulders is a collectors must - a piece of pop history - and relatively cheap as well.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2007
It's a long while since I listened to the whole Boulders album track by track. I have tracks across Roy's various hits CDs, but here together in Boulders I sense the CD of the year; 2007. The new remix is absolutley superb in every aspect. The variation of songs, the instruments and the new mix make this my best of the year so far. Even what I consider 'filler' tracks originally, they now all fit perfectly. This same year he had both Grandma Plays The Banjo and Jolly Cup of Tea. What great fun.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2013
Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic - the only question is why it has taken me 40 years to catch up with it. It is just amazing that Roy plays all the instruments - with the exception of a bit of harmonium - I wonder why?! - and does all the singing. I just love his voice, and his willingness to experiment with all the instruments. I love, too, the substitution of the cello for the bass guitar, and you end up with a lovely country-rock feel. A bit too late to say now "more,please"!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2016
Freed from the constraints of The Move with the disagreements of what musical direction they should take, Roy Wood turned out this electric and idiosyncratic solo album where he wrote all the songs, played all the instruments and even painted the cover. The ethereal ballad, Dear Elaine, was a hit single and Roy's unsuccessful submission for the Eurovision Song Contest, Songs of Praise, the B-side of the single is the wonderful opener. Other great tracks include When Grandma Plays The Banjo, the brilliant Miss Clarke And The Computer - the best track on the album in my view - and the charming Nancy Sing Me A Song. It is a pity he did not do more like this as his talents went beyond The Move (good as they were), ELO and the rock and roll pastiches which followed with Wizzard and his all to brief solo career.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
To hear this again after 30 plus years was an absolute pleasure I had forgotten how good it was.This was an album which was unique in its time with a host of instruments to be heard,all self played,and a mixture of different music.Dear Elaine remains one of my all time favorites together with Forever which appears on the "Roy Wood Singles" album, also worth buying.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2012
I bought this 'LP' back when it was released in the early 70s, and realised that 40 years later some of the tunes were still stuck in my head! This is a brilliant collection of songs by a truly talented musician, in my opinion there isn't a bad one amongst them. I'm delighted that the remastered version is available, certainly one of the best downloads I've made.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2011
A creative masterpiece and great fun.Clever arrangements,masterly musicianship, just try and predict how each song will play out.Wood's answer to SMILE but superior and more consistent in quality than Wilson's album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)