Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
270
3.8 out of 5 stars
Size: 63.5mm|Change
Price:£2.00+ Free shipping (Addon item)


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2015
Great little clamps

I had several meter strips of 12mm ply to stick to a 12mm ply board to add strength. Was going to buy two more big clamps at £15 but realised it would take several days to do the work as I could only glue a meter at a time and I wanted to leave clamped for a good few hours.

Found these and orders 3 packs for £6 and did the job perfectly. The wood is painted so probably has a total thickness of about 26mm including the glue which I would say is the maximum the clamps can take but they did the job well and all sorted in a day.

Taken off 1 star purely because they are a plastic clamp and I have used them at the maximum of their capability but still feel a little lightweight, having said that they have not broken so remain for my next wood glueing task!

Used Gorilla wood glue for the job and gave a very strong and neat finish, don't put the wood down in the wrong place as after 30mins it won't be coming off!!
review image
11 Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2016
The first thing I'll say about these is The first thing I'll tell you is that theses are called 'micro' for a reason.
They are small, very small. Which makes them a little fiddly to open and clamp. But once I got the hang of holding them in the right place they did exactly what they are supposed to do.
They are designed for very, very light work – small kit construction, model boats, planes etc – as the clamps are (a) not strong enough for heavier gripping and (b) the jaws are too narrow for wider clamping.
I am using them on a wooden structure I am building, (hobby), and they work great for that.
The actual strength of the grip is great. Just right, meaning I don't have to put slithers of soft wood on either side of work to protect it. These clamps make no marks yet hold firm, (for their size)
So if you're a small model building and need to clamp gently then these are ideal
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2012
These are definitely micro clips, but the jaws open to 26mm, the overall length is 70mm, with 20mm from the grip to the inside hinge.

They seem sturdy enough with a fairly strong grip
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2016
At about 20p each, these worked out far cheaper than any similar clamps aimed at model makers. I've found them useful for holding parts together while glue dries, although you have to be selective over which parts you use them with. They lack the precision of adjustable strength clamps, so you have to make sure that whatever you're clamping together won't get crushed.

The jaw parts are made of orange plastic which is hinged to the clamp body, so it is possible to get a flush fit with any flat surface. They are not particularly grippy, so using them on curved or non-parallel surfaces is a bit hit and miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
arrived quickly - part of a big parcel so don't know what it'd be like on its own - no damage - as described - no hassles.
10 little pinching clamps
Slightly stronger grip than clothes pegs - that's not a sarcastic observation.
useful for all manner of situations. For me that's mostly - but not exclusively - gluing and some holding in place for drilling.
the jaws open to about an inch - 25mm -
For the price they are undoubtedly well made and useful, they are small enough to hold things where space is limited and more strongly than my fingers could.
For children or older persons or persons with perhaps less dexterity than they used to have mechanical screw type G clamps might be easier to control, but that not to say these require herculean effort to open. For the price its worth having them and trying them.
ACID TEST: would I buy again - Yes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
These are pretty small (roughly 2.5"/6.5cm) in height. The jaws open to a maximum of a little less than an inch, and and the effective depth to which one can clamp something is about the same.
These clamps are actually quite powerful. Although the jaws tend to misalign a bit they still hold quite effectively.
Two out of the eight clamps arrived broken so the question arises as to how long the remaining six will last - although I suspect it could be for some time if not heavily used.
It's a pity about the two broken ones but, overall, considering the pack only cost £1.44 and free postage, I'm actually quite happy with this purchase (although I must really buy some bigger versions as well)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
Purchased for general model use and never having bought clamps before, tried to get away with the cheapest around.
Unclipped the from the card and filed them for useage, as I was filing noticed that whilst the body is durable plastic and the spring is very strong , the plastic around the jaws is of a very very poor and brittle consistency, one set broke just lifting them up.
If this had happened on a model or a miniature, it could have damaged it so I file these under use on things that don't matter and look again for something with strength, but also finesse.I know it was my fault expecting finesse for buttons but hey I tried so that you don't have to.
Note to manufacturer, change the material of the jaws, tweak price, solid product.
Note to buyers, if your clamping something these cannot damage, fine, also be aware the join may move when the jaws break, distorting the bond you are attempting to achieve.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2014
Bought to use with video/audio cables and lighting filters. These are small but quite strong and perfectly suited to my needs. They have a robust feel although because of their size can be a bit fiddly. But they're light and this makes them really useful where weight matters.

I accidentally trod on a couple and they didn't survive. But at the price I paid, they are almost throw away items. Great to just have a load of in any accessory kit. They won't support much in the way of weight, but they are strong and quite well built. Just not designed for a giant bear paw stampeding on it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2014
I was quite impressed by the strong springs and pivoted jaw pieces.
These little clamps are very good for holding any parallel-sided components together for hobby work and small household repairs.

Unfortunately the swivelling jaw pieces are made of a very hard, slippery plastic, so that even though the gripping surfaces are textured and they angle to fit any shape of item, the strong springs and the lack of friction combine to shoot anything with sides not precisely parallel to each other right across the room, which didn't do my model airplane any good AT ALL. Even something with a slight camber, such as an airplane wing, would squirt out.

I am thinking of gluing some grippy rubber sheets to the jaws to see whether that would help, but the real solution would be to use a soft rubber compound for these parts in future rather than something which is a cross between Bakelite and Teflon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
i just do not know what they are thinking when they sell an item such as this, okay to look at but not okay when using, the springs are too strong for the plastic casing around the metal bolts since purchasing i have none left in one piece, i dont know if they have been taken off the website at all , i did get my money refunded, but that is not the point, i do not think that anyone has attempted to test this item. i tried to think of something positive about this product but i can not.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)