Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
12
AKU-AKU.
Format: Paperback|Change


on 15 August 2017
A fascinating account. What a remarkable man he was. Some of the tunnel exploration makes your blood run cold.
It tails off a bit: Thor is obsessed with the contents of the inhabitants hidden caves. This part become repetitive and not so interesting, to me anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2012
I read and enjoyed the Kon-Tiki expedition and thought Aku Aku looked interesting. I was not disappointed! The book provided a really eye opening insight into Easter Island, its history and myths. Thor gives enough information to really get the imagination going. Sometimes Thor made me laugh with some of his comments as he likes his readers to know he is the boss of the expedition! Theres some good pictures in there too, although you can tell the book was written a while ago! Recently bought another copy of the book for my mate as thought he would like it too.

If you want an adventure book and interested in Easter Island you cant go far wrong with this. You can pick up copies of this book very cheap too if you don't mind them being a bit battered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 March 2015
A great read, especially if you are planning a trip, subject to the vagaries of the author's theories. It seems he is still well known on the island, and at least one expedition member spent a good deal more time there in later years, putting statues back up.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 November 2016
It has certenly been read several times , but i am satisfied , i am glad to have bought it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 April 2015
A book to keep and read again. Heyerdahl recounts his amazing experiences with wit and insight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2012
good to find recycled books where the main price is the postage. This gives people
the opportunity to find books they want to read without having to buy new, and this book
was delivered in good time and well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2014
Not finished reading this yet but a good book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 May 2014
it is a shame that the delivery person decided to leave a book outside in the rain in a cardboard cover; the book was very wet and damaged as a result; there was a dry storage box which should have been used. There seems little the seller could have done, although if they used a plastic waterproof pack for shipping books, then there would not have been any damage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 August 2014
A stunning book in (almost) every way. Full of huge characters, great excitement and adventure (not for claustrophobics), and of course great mystery. I would seriously wonder about anyone who could not get a lot from this book.

Howevers:
1. It was written after an expedition that took place in 1956, and so there are some attitudes and descriptions that might be phrased differently if the events took place now (we would say that we are a little more advanced now than he and his party were...). To set against that, there is little doubt that many of the adventures described within would have been approached very differently in this age of omnipresent Health & Safety.
2. Heyerdahl was well-known to favour his own ideas that Easter Island was colonised from the east (mainland S America, particularly Peru), and he has been criticised for "being selective" or even ignoring evidence that colonisation proceeded from the west, as the tag-end of the gradual eastward spread of Polynesians (ultimately from Asia). Well, if a Big Idea leads a man to lead an outstandingly successful adventure bringing the first true archaeological investigation to the island, I guess we can make some allowances. You can of course read more recent accounts based on follow-up archaeology (such as Easter Island, Earth Island) which give a strong argument against Heyerdahl's ideas, and make up your mind.

I decline to remove a single star for either of these caveats.

Nevertheless,even if many of Heyerdahl's conclusions are ultimately thought to be incorrect by the academic consensus, this book is thrilling and inspirational. REAL ADVENTURE.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2004
Aku-Aku was the first book by Thor Heyerdahl that i encountered. I have since read the Kon-Tiki expedition and Fatu-Hiva which are also great works in themselves. Aku-Aku is primarily an account of a year spent away from western society on the tiny speck of land that is Easter Island. Thor Heyerdahls work is rich with description of the immediate surroundings in which he spends his time. The language he uses is often poetic, and at times quite beautiful as he describes what is quite possibly the most remote inhabited land on earth. Aku-Aku is however no mere travel dialogue. It is a book filled with high adventure and wonderful characters who welcome Heyerdahl into their way of life with open arms. The simplicity of their lives is in great contrast with the mighty stone monuments that litter the tiny island in their hundreds. To investigate these monuments is of course the main purpose for Heyerdahls's presence on the island, and he does not disapoint the reader as he searches relentlessly for answers to age old mysteries. In short Aku-Aku has everything that could ever be asked of a book. It has a main character who everyone would love to have as a travel companion, while at the same time it introduces some of the most genuine and friendly people one could hope to find anywhere on earth. High adventure and mystery awaits the reader around every corner in the account of a year in the life of one of the most extraordinary men who has ever lived. This book will not dissapoint.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)