Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

American Doll Posse
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 July 2011
I won't try to give a song-by-song breakdown of this huge 23-song collection, as others have already done this very well. With American Doll Posse, Tori Amos has made a second recovery from a spell of less than convincing albums. I had given up on her after the turgid Boys For Pele, but she came back with her best album in From The Choirgirl Hotel. The covers album Strange Little Girls was another low - in addition to be very hard work to listen to, it seemed to indicate a drying-up of creativity and I again gave up on Tori.

American Doll Posse is a spectacular return to form and an extremely impressive outpouring of creativity to boot. If there can be a criticism, it's the inclusion of six throwaway very short tracks that add very little to proceedings - it would have been an even stronger (17-track, 70-minute) album without the likes of Yo George (1:25) and Fat Slut (0:40). Skip instead to Digital Ghost and Girl Disappearing for vintage Tori Amos. Highly recommended, even if (like me) you thought that maybe she had run out of steam
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2007
A total knock out of an album. Tori flits in her 'doll posse' disguises from genre to genre, touching on all her best previous moments but also taking everything that little bit further. From profound pop to cocky glam rock to Eleanor Rigby-ish fragility, via sultry blues, heartbreaking rock ballads... I'd honestly say there isn't a better album to find out both the breadth and quality what Tori's got to offer than this one. If you just want catchy, elegant songs, it's got plenty - if you want something richer - a story behind every character, five contrasting outlooks on life, it's all there if you want to get more. Some of the lyrics are fascinatingly cryptic, many of them are beautifully direct ("Chin up, a happy mask was never your best diguise", on Almost Rosey), and those five characters arent just a box of wigs - Tori's even given each of them a distinctive style of singing. The 23 tracks seem a little daunting before you listen, but let yourself in, it's worth every minute.

Essential Tracks: Bouncing Off Clouds, Teenage Hustling, Almost Rosey, Devils & Gods.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2016
Tori's ninth studio album where she assumes the singing style of several different female characters, this is a stunning tour de force work with hardly a bad track on the whole album.
Still at the height of her powers, she did one more superb album after this before she began to lose her way more recently.
An unreserved, five star must buy from a musical genius.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2007
ADP has many interesting songs that do not necessary follow the style Tori has accustomed us to. The sound has progressed to use more drums and guitars with the exception of e.g. Yo George... My personal favorite is Bouncing off Clouds.

Overall I think Tori is experimenting to improving and differentiating herself from her earlier work which I think is a good thing. However, her equilibrium has not yet reached a point where she can produce masterpieces like her first 3 albums ('Little Earthquakes', 'Under the Pink' and 'Boys for Pele') contain. It is still interesting to see where this experimentation takes Tori!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2015
Excellent product, price and service...Thanks....Pete
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 May 2007
I have been a Toriphile for a few years now and have the majority of her released work, so was eagerly awaiting this release. As any fans of Tori will know, before the release, there was much hype and marketing - Tori launched 5 on-line blogs, one for each of the personas, and she appeared on British T.V. to discuss her work. Maybe this hype is part of the reason why I am ever so slightly disappointed with this album, something that is new for me in regards to her work.

I think die-hard fans who, like me, followed the on-line blogs and got sucked into the idea of 5 different personas to represent 5 different aspects of feminity, need to approach this album just on the basis and merit of the music alone.
Like many other reviewers, I do believe that this album lacks the essence that we have come to associate with Tori's work - there were no songs upon first listen that really stood out, but perhaps that is partly because of the sheer length; with 23 tracks it is hard to distinguish one from another after a while. Unfortunately, on many of the tracks the sound of her amazing piano has been lost. There are times when I listen to this album that I can't help but feel that there is too much of an over-produced feel to it as a whole. I think Tori forgot that in order to make an 'angry' or passionate song, you do not necessarily have to have lots of noise and shouting. Some of her earlier pieces that just drip in emotion are often tracks with little instrumentation, such as CHINA.

The tracks on AMERICAN DOLL POSSE that could easily have been left out are Mr. Bad Man, Fat [...] and Programmable Soda.
Having now listened to the entire album a few more times, the tracks which stand out for me are Digital Ghost, Girl Disappearing, Secret Spell, Body and Soul, Father's Son, Rootsterspur Bridge and Almost Rosey.

This is a piece of work that deserves repeated listening - the enormity of it demands more from the listener, I think, than her previous albums. I am still in no doubt that Tori is an amazing artist, she produces music and lyrics that are deep, soulful and intelligent instead of just being run of the mill, however, I hope for her next release she does not get too dragged into trying to create a concept album rather than just the type of music that she does best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2007
ETA 2010: I have calmed doen at bit. It's pretty good. Now I'll hand you back to 2007-Pete, who is rather excited that it isn't as boring as The Beekeeper.

Tori, in her 'doll posse' disguises, leaps from genre to genre, touching on all her best previous moments but also taking everything that little bit further. From profound pop (remember that?) to cocky glam rock to Eleanor Rigby-ish fragility, via a bit of sultry darkness and some heartbreaking & heartwarming ballads... I'd honestly say there isn't a better album to find out both the breadth and quality what Tori's got to offer than this one - her wry sense of humour, in particular, shines out on Programmable Soda and Posse Bonus.

If you just want catchy, elegant songs, it's got plenty. If you want something richer - a story behind every character, five contrasting outlooks on life - it's all there if you want more. Some of the lyrics are fascinatingly cryptic, many of them are beautifully direct ("Chin up, a happy mask was never your best diguise", on Almost Rosey). Those five characters arent just a box of wigs - Tori's even given each of them a distinctive style of singing.

The 23 track count may seem a little daunting before you listen, but let yourself in, it's worth every minute.

Essential Tracks: Bouncing Off Clouds, Teenage Hustling, Almost Rosey, Dragon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2007
Admittedly on first listen to this album I was unsure ad didnt really get it, but when you read it along with the album notes it makes perfect sense! This is a fantastic album and I can't stop listening to it. Gil Disappearing is one of Toris most beautiful songs ever. The track assisted with subtle beats are reminiscent of the Choirgirl Hotel era (this album being her best since). Admittedly this album is very untori, with a lot of tracks being heavily rock influenced, it's not until the 4th song that we get a piano track. But I find the diversity endearing, the soft piano led Beekeeper did get a bit, dare I say boring, towards the end. This keeps you hooked. Plus it's great value for moey. The packaging is beautiful and alot of care has been put into it. There's not much on the DVD to be fair but it's well worth it for the extra track My Posse Can Do. Rather than pining and longing for Tori to make Little Earthquakes 2 it's about time people embraced this as a new form of Tori. As A longtime fan thaqt has collected all the albums and singles over the years I do think that Tori is putting all her egs in one basket of late by seemingly putting all the songs on the albums. Part of the fun used to be collecting all the rare B-sides from the singles. I for one am very proud of this album and wil certainly wait eagerly for Tori's next offering.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2007
Always liked & Admired Tori Amos, never purchased any of her stuff. As an artist she always came across as a great talent who writes great songs, so I thought it was about time to put right the injustice of not having none of her material and I am glad I started with this album, a fantastic piece of work, a great listen. Plenty of people rant on about the Kate Bush parallel (yawn) Just enjoy this artist for the great music she writes.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 June 2007
This is great - Tori mixing that incredible voice with her quirky style and some good rock tracks. Witty, intelligent, enjoyable. Don't listen to the moaners - listen to the album...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)