Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
105
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2015
Surprised at the time of writing here in 2015 to find no other Reviews as this was a sweet little British production (2007-09) that went to 3 series, 18 episodes and probably boosted tourism to the county of Norfolk where the fictional Market Shipborough was set (real location: Swaffham). Stephen Fry on wonderful form as a small town solicitor Peter Kingdom willing to bat for the underdogs, assisted by extraordinarily quirky Norris as his slightly unhinged half sister; also Imrie his receptionist who is clearly secretly in love with him, and Law as his lovely also quirky auntie. Other big names find parts: Richard Wilson, John Thomson, Robert Bathurst, the late Lynsey de Paul and Richard Briers, Jack Dee and Rory Bremner.
l never felt quite sure the actor playing his associate Lyle totally fitted in but his character took the many knocks, with grace and always ended up wet.
Settle back and enjoy. To me the litmus test on any production is if you can re-watch it multiple times and still find it delightful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Only discovered this series after watching an episode on the TV which I later found was series 3.

I ordered series 1 on DVD which is excellent, It also helps me understand the characters better in series 3.

Stephen Fry is superb as Peter Kingdom, Hermione Norris shows what a good actress she is, she is so different from her character Ros in spooks. Celia Imrie is as always superb.

The person that really surprises me is Karl Davies who is the sharp young trainee solicitor, Lyle Anderson, I remember Karl Davies in Emmerdale and how much I disliked him in the show, It goes to show what a good actor he is, he is superb in Kingdom.

A great series full of great actors, a must watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Nice to be able to watch the series again...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2008
At first glance this is just another in the series of those heartwarming comedies that spring from the BBC, and in many ways it is just that. There's the usual roundup of comic characters all doing their best east anglian accents, the major characters are all good people, and no one gets seriously hurt.

What sets it above the run of the mill is firstly the quality of the acting; Stephen Fry and Hermione Norris are especially good, and secondly the way in which the characters build and develop and bits are added to the back story episode by episode. There's a solid story under the froth.

I for one am certainly hooked.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 June 2008
What a refreshing change this series is. Quality drama, a superb cast, Stephen Fry as the solicitor with a conscience and compassion, hermione norris excels as Beatrice Peter`s tormented and utterly self centred sisiter whom one should hate but cant help feeling sorry for. Karl davis as trainee solicitor Lyle is brilliant there is such a rapport between him and Fry. Celia Imrie marvellous as Gloria the firms secretary who is a greiving widow with a troubled son. Tony Slattery is so funny as the tiresome Mr.Snell always wanting to sue the council and making Gloria reach for the air freshner.The series is set in Market shipborough on the Norfolk coast, the scenery is absolutely lovely. The stories contain humanity and subtle humour. A pleasure to watch, do buy this dvd if you want a change from all the violence and cynicisim on tv .
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2008
In a bucolic vision of a corner of Norfolk we are drawn into the daily life of Kingdom and Kingdom, solicitors. Each episode features one or more of the cases the firm handles with the story lines of the sibling Kingdoms threaded through the episodes. Peter Kingdom, played by Stephen Fry, heads the firm and is assisted by his articled clerk. In Peter Kingdom we see a man who, while daily confronted with the less attractive side of human nature, exhibits the virtues of "a good man" possessed of an excellent mind and an extraordinary conscience. He finds comfort and pleasure in the small things that make life enjoyable. It is a wise man who finds a moment or two of pleasure in tea cakes, chocolate biscuits, a glass of wine, a favorite mug, a '67 Audi, toy trains and the like. Peter Kingdom is an even wiser man for of higher value to him is family loyalty and his belief in the virtue of personal redemption. He is the essence of honesty and decency.

I should think there is a good deal of Stephen Fry in Peter Kingdom.

The series is a homage to the beauty of this corner of the earth. Lovingly photographed, the sea and the surrounding countryside are integral to the mood and stories presented.

The quirkiness of the characters that inhabit the town is delightful.

This is a well written and well acted series.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 October 2007
What a wonderful series! I had to force myself to watch the episodes one at a time, because in short order I wanted to know all about the characters and their lives. I can't wait for the next series to come out. I assume ther is one?) I live in the US...I sure wish they made television like the Brits do....I love Stephen Fry...he is perfect in this part. In fact, all of the casting seems spot on. Well worth the money and the time spent in viewing!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2008
Just proves once again that you guys in the UK win hands down when it comes to excellence in television! This is a wonderful series that has just enough comedy, intrigue, and emotion to be loved by all the age groups in my household. We are really looking forward to series 2! I am recommending this series (and region free dvd players) to all of my friends here in Chattanooga, Tennessee!
11 Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)