Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
74
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 July 2006
I was lucky enough to pick up a copy of this on R1. It's a somewhat messy film probably due to the rumours that the producers re-edited it long after Tony Scott had finished shooting. The story labours a little at the beginning, and Costner's character is kind of hard to root for because he's not all that pleasant, but that's part of Revenge's charm. It's not clear cut and definitely not predictable despite appearing to show all its cards in the title. Anthony Quinn is great as always and even manages to evoke sympathy for his character at times. Costner's character is very similar to Richard Gere's in Breathless, a bit of a nasty sort, but kinda cool. Madeleine Stowe puts in probably her finest performance too. If you're looking for a film that doesn't tick all the do's and don'ts of a Hollywood mainstream movie then this could well be up your street.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2012
A very seldom seen thriller these days and if you're a Kevin Costner fan, this ticks all the boxes. At his prime, Costner's character becomes embroiled in a claustrophobic love triangle, brilliantly played out by Madeleine Stowe who gives that understated sexuality to her sultry character tormenting her sugar-daddy husband played by the late superb Anthony Quinn. It's got all the slow, sexually charged build up required to give this thriller it's tense, but, tragic finale. Thoroughly watchable - they don't make them like this any more.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2003
Gripping tale of forbidden passion in a foreboding climate.The scenes unravel into a spectacular frenzied chase through the Mexican backwaters as we are led to the inevitable ,almost allegorical, conclusion.Kevin Costner is at his smouldering best alongside sensual Madeleine Stowe in one of modern movies' most memorable understated seduction scenes.Anthony Quinn excels as the overlord tortured by the double betrayal.Compelling stuff.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
You know when you fart and it's difficult to be absolutely certain if it was a shart or just sweat, known as arse dew! Well it's a bit the same with this film. Revenge is bloody good, make no odds, but it's s bit like a shart. You just know where you stand with it. Its definitely a love story and it's a revenge story like the title says but it still made me think what it was actually trying to say. Not a bad thing, just strange to me.

For a start our man Cochran (Kevin Costner) is an Air Force top gun, retired of course, but I struggled to see what relevance this had in the film, considering the opening sequence. It played like Top Gun deleted scenes but without Tom Cruise. Cochran then nips off to Mexico to see his old mate and crime lord king pin, Tibby Mendez (Anthony Quinn) who is married to a young sort in the form of Medaline Stowe. Anyway, one thing leads to another and Bobs your uncle and they play hide the sausage but they get rumbled and each set out to avenge one another. Mendez for shagging the wife and the Cochran for catching them at it and for Mendez giving her damn good hoofing.

Revenge is a very violent film, even by today's standards and the sex scenes give Basic Instict a run for their money. The shagging, the finger blasting and Stowe giving aggresive head with a load bushy pube's up her nose as she nuzzles down on a vieny bank stick. But the sex and violence serve purpose to the story much like Basic Instict and Fatal Attraction but instead of a rabbit being murdered, a labrador gets blown away with a shot gun. On top of that we have throat slitting, severe beatings, brains blown out and a Chelsea smile. I loved all of it!

The story is pretty straight forward but is dealt with in a very original way which feels like Tarrantino style but some of it I didn't quite get. Having said that, this film was based on a novel so reading that may fill in a few gaps. Apart from that though Revenge is a very grown up thriller with graphic violence and sex and good performances from all involved and it's well directed by Tony Scott.

If you decide to get yourself a copy of this movie then get the US directors cut on Bluray because it has pretty good interview with Costner, Stowe and Scott which is informative.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2008
My partner highly recommended this film to me and although I half guessed the end, I thought it was an excellent film.

A litle slow at first, but was soon transfixed - excellent performance from Quinn and Costner and an unusual storyline Impossible not to cry.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 March 2008
Despite Tony Scott's at times heavy handed approach, this remains Costner's most sensitive and emotional performance. This film has moments of real beauty, carried essentially in the performances. Stowe and Costner are intense together and the Mexican setting is a dream. powerful stirring stuff. The last five minutes has me in tears every time.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2013
This film represents a bright flicker of Costner's carreer candle leading up to his 1000 watt magnum opus 'Dances With Wolves' and his subsequent piece de resistance 'Robin Hood Prince of Thieves'. In my opinion Revenge is the greatest of these 3 films.

Spoilers:

Set in Mexico Costner foolishly begins a passionate affair with his powerful friend's wife. Despite being the boss of a large criminal empire dealing in drugs, prostitution and violence Anthony Quinn is a man anyone would like to be friends with - amazing party organiser, rich, generous, trusting and loyal to those who pay him the same respect, until he is betrayed that is and he becomes an inhuman animal dishing out pain and cruelty to all those who have crossed him. Left for dead Costner travels across dusty, hot Mexico for the cool nectar of his sweet love. A trip that leads to considerable searching not just of Mexico but of both of his soul and his conscience. But does the punishment justify the crime? You're the judge.

Watch this film!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2014
Another of Kevin Costner's films. This one is very rough. It involves the beautiful Mr. Costner falling in love instantly with a beautiful woman, as he often does in his films! This one is played by Madeleine Stowe. But she is the wife of a tough powerful man twice her age played by Anthony Quinn. The story takes place in Mexico and the terrain is rough as well as the story. There is quite a lot of violence - the 'revenge' of the title. It is a story well told, though not a happy one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2007
I first saw revenge about 14 years ago now and still after watching it today i still give it the same review this is a powerful, violent and very sexual film.

Directored by Tony Scott (Top Gun, Man On Fire, Days Of Thunder etc) and co-produced by Kevin Costner. I recomended this to any fan as this is one of the pairs best movies.

After just watching the Unrated version (not yet avaliable in UK unless import ) i have to say i like that version better even though it is 30 minutes short of the original release it is more fast paced and with more scenes added it makes revenge a more obsessive and sexual movie.

Don't be put off by negative reviews with an all star cast and superb director any fan of costner or scott will not be disapointed.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2011
As the title says this version has been shortened from the original,the cutting room floor has never been so cluttered!so to speak.
Several scenes were deleted which I know should be there which makes the movie disjointed in places,they were good scenes too,important to the movie,that why I noticed they were missing.
so beware.
If you buy this having seen the full length version you will be disappointed.
A good movie ruined by idiotic clumsy editing.
two stars for this version.
I would have given this otherwise excellent movie 5 stars.
1010 comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)