Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 1 April 2017
GOOD STORIES
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 December 2007
Yes - it really did! This 3 disc set is fabulous. Well - let's say that 2 of the discs were fabulous and watching disc 3 was a struggle, even when trying to be objective (there should have been just a little back story used...it was too far removed from the original series).

I loved Blackpool when it was on TV but this DVD set brings the whole drama back to life...and it's something that I can watch again and again - and then go to the music sections to watch them over yet again!!! My personal favourite is "Don't Leave Me This Way" as I love how the song intertwines all of the main characters and their feelings at that moment...

Superb performances from all of the lead actors...and also the supporting cast, especially the slithering accountant and the ever orange police superintendant! David Morrisey, Sarah Parrish and David Tennant are all at the top of their game in this - and how many nightdresses does Sarah's character get through in all of those bedroom scenes??? Favourite scene, the little boy lost look on Carlisle's face when he believes he has lost the love of his life forever - priceless!

DVD set recommended for a girl's night in (we have had a few nights of watching - and more to come no doubt!) A terrific drama that stands out from the crowd.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2017
Viva not as good as Blackpool, Blackpool just brilliant a feel-good DVD to watch and watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2017
love music actors and story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2018
DVD very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2011
I remember when "Blackpool" was first on TV and it did not appeal to me one little bit. However late one night "Viva Blackpool" was on the box, and I decided to watch it. It was brilliant, quirky, funny and certainly different. That spurred me on to watch "Blackpool" which is even better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2014
Very good series,dont usauly like it when people suddenly burst into song in things like this.But its fitting and David Tennent(the first thing I ever saw him in)is great in his part.A great little series worth watching,a great shame it was never repeated on tv.Hope you enjoy it if you purchase it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 December 2013
Great TV series. David Morrisey is wonderful. The sound track music is brilliant. I really enjoyed it. Viva Blackpool not quite so good.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2007
Disclaimer: I haven't seen the follow up - my review is of the original series.

TV drama at its best, and clever into the bargain.

I only rented this because I wasn't sure, from what I had read, what I would make of it.

Now I've added it to my wishlist!

It's a bit of an odd concept - gritty northern drama meets musical meets murder investigation meets comedy - but it's very very well done, with a brilliant cast.

Morrissey is, as someone else has said, born to play this role; sleazy but compelling, by halfway through the first episode I very much wanted to see how he would turn out. A performance that makes what could have been a bit of a one-trick-pony character into a complex and interesting man, for whom, in spite of everything, one still has compassion. An outstanding performance.

Parish and Tennant are the heart of the drama, at turns heartbreaking, beautiful, and sexually charged.

Tennant in particular shines as the disciplined policeman falling into potential corruption and having his life turned upside down. Fascinating performance to watch and impossible to take your eyes off him in so many scenes. Compelling.

All the supporting cast are strong, down to workers at the amusement arcade, Ripley's family, the religious "nut" outside the front door (fantastic - better known as Filch in the Harry Potter movies but a brilliant cameo in this role) and, possibly a personal favourite, DCI Carlisle's (Tennant) sidekick Blythe.

Impeccable. Watch it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 September 2007
Yes, the sequel (Viva Blackpool) is bloody awful - but don't let that put you off: Blackpool itself is sensational.

The device of introducing big, corny song-and-dance numbers into drama-comedies was first introduced by Dennis Potter in Pennies from Heaven and The Singing Detective. Here the device works excellently. You can't walk through Blackpool without hearing music playing somewhere in the background, so why not?

This is an accomplished comedy-thriller, but the comedy never detracts from the thrills and nor do the thrills spoil the comedy. The BBC tried something similar with Funland, also set in Blackpool, some time later and it didn't really work. Here it is pitched perfectly: you care about the characters and you know that Ripley Holden is a tragic hero of positively Shakespearean proportions.

Brilliant from start to finish.
55 Comments| 63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here