Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
40
4.5 out of 5 stars
The Ultimate Collection
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 April 2017
This a CD for the dedicated Woody Guthrie fan. I have listened to various songs over the years, watched him preform on You Tube, and read his autobiography. However to have so many tracks of a similar sound and tone on a CD I found to be too much of a good thing. Having said that, the CD is very good value and I now listen to it for short periods and enjoy what I hear.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Had this album before, but somehow lost it. I believe shows just how influential this man truly is. Sadly taken from us by a hideous disease (Huntington's)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2015
A great collection. Precursor to every folkie. Taught me a thing or two and no doubt many others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
A good collection of guthries
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
very good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2017
Excellent music especially for a collector.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 February 2010
Woody Guthrie. The man who founded the tradition of the American protesting folk singer/songwriter which gave us Bob Dylan and Paul Simon. Indeed, Dylan made his name with the `talking blues' style patented by Guthrie. Guthrie's music, it is not too much to say, was one of the greatest influences on 20th century popular music. It was a prime influence on the British Skiffle movement (Lonnie Donegan covered a huge number of Guthrie songs), out of which came the Beatles. It also gave us Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, and countless others.

This album collects together 50 (yes, FIFTY!) classic tracks, and demonstrates just why Guthrie is such a major figure in the history of music. All the classics are here, `This Land is Your Land', `John Henry', `Gypsy Davy', `Mule Skinner Blues', `Wreck of the Old 97', `Jack Hammer Blues' and `We Shall Be Free', and that's just disc 1! In all of these Guthrie uses an eye for detail and an outrage at social injustice to craft catchy, yet involving lyrics which have a story to tell. Mixed with a distinctive guitar / harmonica style and compelling rhythmns and hooks in the music, these really are great songs, that almost anyone will find something to enjoy in. Personally, I find Guthrie's work more accessible than some of the other greats o the time, such as Ledbelly, partly due to his singing style - he had excellent diction, meaning that every word could be heard clearly.

This 2 CD set is a steal at the price being asked. The 50 tracks sound good for their age. I don't know if there has been any remastering, I suspect there has as the recordings all sound quite clean. There is a short, disposable, essay about Guthrie and that's about it. My only gripe is that there is no information about the recording dates (or even the years!) for the tracks presented. But hey! At this price that is a minor quibble, it's the music that matters! And you get a lot of excellent music here.

A set well worth getting. Recommended for all fans of Dylan, Early Paul Simon, Early Springsteen, Billy Bragg and the like.
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
It is helpful to have such a comprehensive collection of Woody's songs. It is a pity that modern technology was not utilised in upgrading the quality of the original recordings.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Easy to see were bob Dylan got his influence from
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)