Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Playlist - Acoustic Christmas Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

The Great American Songbook
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 26 February 2013
I am not simply a passing stranger to Amazon, If you want to hear music and I do not mean the tuneless tat that the youngsters seem to be hooked on, get yourself one of Sarah Vaughan or Ella Fitzgerald's records from Amazon one or two clicks and it wing its way to you by fastest post possible, job done.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 November 2013
If you love jazz and particularly african american female jazz players, you will know the familiar names. Sarah Vaughn is possibly not se well know unless you are a hardcore jazz fan, but I saw a document with her in it and had to buy her music. She is underrated in my opinion and has a unique quality to her singing and music.

The collection is fantastic for the price. All the songs are great to listen to. I love putting this on whilst doing something in the kitchen, or something relaxing or thoughtful.. When I play it, I feel like I am in my very now jazz cafe. A more than worthy and beautiful tribute to the talent that is Sarah Vaughn. Thank you for the music Miss Vaughn! x
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 June 2014
If you like Sarah Vaughan, you'll like this CD. Her amazing vocals never falter on all the numbers. The mixture of jazz and soul are blended in her tones, and render the numbers on this CD quite special.

Barry
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2014
Sarah Vaughan was a gift to the world in the sense of tale, and this album covers a choice selection of standards that she makes the composers and lyricists heroes...wonderful selection, wonderful voice, wonderful lady.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2013
some good songs from a woman who had quite an outstanding voice - not all of this album was to my taste but again that is subjective. Many people may love it and her voice is undoubtedly up there with the best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 February 2014
Fantastic music in a flimsy bit of plastic, but who cares as it will take you to seventh heaven, or maybe eighth. Many of the classics are here, smooth and jazzy, with great musicians. Let the music play!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 July 2013
I have always loved Sarah Vaughan! if you love her music, her voice, jazz. The Great American Songbook is a cd to have. No doubt about it. The sound is great! I strongly recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2014
A comprehensive collection of Sarah Vaughan's work, you get an enjoyable variety of tempo's all showcased by her beautiful smooth tones, a feast for the ears. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2013
Around half of the tracks are designed for the popular market, the rest with small jazz groups, half a dozen or so of these are worth the cost of the discs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2013
WOW! What a singer and what a collection of the very best of American music from across so many eras!

This is a must for quality music lovers!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)