Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

  • Dig
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
16
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£23.14+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 January 2004
I have just recently bought this cd. It is one of the best Jazz cd's I have heard. I cannot fault any of the tracks. The vocals are superb, and the backing is 'Spot on'. Stand out track has to be 'Vanishing Point'. I really cannot put into words how Good this cd is. Have a listen and see for yourself!. You won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2017
'Get on the natch' seems to give rise to mixed comments here. Though quite fun, it is not a great track in my opinion, and I do find it annoying because it is so out of step with the rest of the album. I’m almost tempted to copy the album with that track moved to the end or missed out altogether.'Then I just go' is the track which always gets to me. It is a track which I fish out and play on its own quite often. Scaggs is underated, at least not well enough known and celebrated. Strangely, not so good over headphones … better for laying back on the sofa or having a smooch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2006
I bought this CD after hearing Miss Riddle on a Jazz FM compilation. I loved the lazy, atmospheric, West Coast feel of that track. I'm pleased to report that there are several tracks with a similar groove on this CD, namely 'Thanks To You' and 'Desire'. Other tracks have more blues, pop and R&B influences but all benefit from Scaggs' distinctive vocals, the input of quality musicians and excellent production. All-in-all, highly recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2001
This album deserves to be a smash. There isn't a bad track on it. My favourite at the moment is Vanishing Point. Boz has a superb voice and his guitar playing on this is excellent. His best since Silk Degrees.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 May 2006
This is a really excellent CD, and once again demonstrates Boz Scaggs' remarkable versatility. As others have said, 'Vanishing Point' is the stand-out track, but the whole CD is excellent. The only reason for not giving this one all five stars is that I prefer "Some Change" and "Come on Home".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2010
This record has been promoted as the new `Silk Degrees', Boz's multimillion seller from 1976. On listening though, it is nothing like the acclaimed meisterwerk; in fact, sonically it bears more resemblance to the quieter numbers on 1994's `Some Change', while `Get on the Natch' and `Call That Love' on the album are straight blues more reminiscent of 1997's `Come On Home'.
The album appears to be conceptualised as two sides of a record, the first 4 songs lulling you in like a sonic lullaby, then moving onto the blues, then soul in later songs like `You're Not'.
The difference is that the previous two albums were produced by Boz while here the textures are provided by Danny Kortchmar - whose guitar sound is all over the record- and David Paich, the latter being the musical arranger and keyboard player on `Degrees'.
Boz sings very well, about loves' lost and found, being an ongoing speciality with Boz since his earliest solo albums. `King of El Paso' and `Vanishing Point' are more reflective pieces on American characters on the road to perdition, a mix of Jack Kerouac and his beloved rhythm and blues lyrical themes.
After a few plays the album comes to life, and the different musical styles come out of the mix, becoming a stylistically varied album.
Overall then, it is not `Silk Degrees Mk II', but why should it be? That album was a continuation of the styles he had been mining up to then, as is this one, a summation even.
This is the latest Boz album, and is a very worthy addition to Boz's canon, and in continuing the "variations on that theme" he sings about in `Thanks To You' he remains a continuing pleasure to his fans.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2010
this album is by far one of the best produced of all his albums, a must for die hard fans of his music and great for a first timer. A total joy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
More than just sketches, of course. From the first few bars of the opener Payday, I knew this was another winner from Mr Happiness. No other singer makes me feel the pure joy that Mr Scaggs manages to do, whatever the actual mood of the song. {The compilation 'My Time: a Boz Scaggs Anthology' is essential, especially to any newcomers out there.}
This 2001 album is simply one gorgeous song after another, with guitar work courtesy of Danny Kortchmar and, on the unforgettable I Just Go, two limpidly lovely guitar breaks by Boz himself.
King of El Paso is another superb track, soulful, funky, bluesy and with a terrific vocal by the man himself.
Boz Scaggs' music is generally unclassifiable, taking in soul pop, rock, blues, Latino, and much else besides. We get most of that here, including plenty of soul, and I will be playing this until they come to take me away ~ not so very far into the future!

Boz ~ love the man.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
Boz at his unbiquitous best. Is he ever anything else?!! Any album you could mention of this guy is totally worth paying for. Dig it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
This is a brilliant album - there isn't a duff track on it and is a constant source of delight. The musicianship is first rate, Boz's singing is on top form and the quality of the songs is first rate. When Boz kicks in to his soulful groove you just know he takes some beating - and this is Boz at his best! Buy this album - if you like bluesey, soulful music you will not be disappointed,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)