Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
11
Daler Rowney Calligraphy Pad A4
Price:£11.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 12 January 2014
The paper was just the right thickness for using guidelines underneath which saved me having to spend hours spacing and lining my work
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 September 2017
My favourite writing paper. Lovely stuff
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2018
This was a gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 May 2016
great quality paper
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 May 2014
I got this pad about a 9 months ago. it has 30 sheets, the first 10 have a cream tint, the second 10 have blue/grey tint, and the last 10 have a yellow tint. I do a range of calligraphy styles, predominantly copperplate with the famous Joseph Gillot 303, but also many other nibs including Joseph Gillot 1950, Brause 6EF and Brause 691 and a few others. I also use standard calligraphy nibs such as the Rotring Artpen, and Willilam Morris nibs, Leonardt nibs and Arabic calligraphy reed pens and Chinese calligraphy brushes.

I use a wide range of inks, from fairly regular, thin Cross, Lamy and Sheaffer Skrip fountain pen inks through to much thicker special calligraphy (gouache style) inks from Winsor & Newton and of course sumi-e inks for brush calligraphy.

If you've ever tried to do copperplate calligraphy on laser printer paper or random scaps of paper you'll know that there's a problem with "bleed", i.e. you do a lovely stroke, but the ink then spreads around your stroke to turn it into a blob. The science behind this is a bit complicated, but it's to do with the balance between how the ink sits on the surface of the paper compared to how it's absorbed. For paper manufacturers this is a very difficult balancing act. If the paper is too absorbent you'll need to refresh your ink every second letter and there's a higher risk of bleed. If it's not absorbent enough then the ink will sit on the surface of the paper and give you uneven or heavy strokes.

So, when I first started using this paper I tried it out on all my different nibs, brushes and inks. It wasn't perfect, but it was definitely 5 star. I was very pleased. However, I was really surprised to find that after I'd finished the first 10 (cream) sheets, the second 10 (blue/grey) sheets were not only a different colour, but also had different absorption qualities. There was a horrible amount of ink bleed with the thinner inks (e.g. Sheaffer Skrip, Cross). I tried a few more pages of the blue/grey paper and found that some led to ink bleed, but most did not. There was a bit of ink bleed even with the thicker inks, but not too noticeable.

I have not yet tried the last (yellow) 10 sheets, but it is clear that the quality is not consistent in this pad.

I would guess that you have about 5-10% chance of getting a bad sheet among the 30 sheets in this pad. You'll notice straight away if you've got a bad sheet, so it's not as though you'll get half way through a page and it will suddenly start to bleed. It's a bit annoying, particularly if you use thin inks. If you only use thicker inks then you might not ever notice.

Overall, I would buy this pad again.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2015
Good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2016
Good quality paper
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2014
Great product, excellent quality paper
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2014
great value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here