Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Morrissey Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
51
3.7 out of 5 stars
Introducing Joss Stone [CD + DVD]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.77+ £1.26 shipping


on 25 June 2017
Bought cd for myself to listen to . This cd hasn't disappointed - love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2013
Such a talented singer .... a great addition to any music/CD collection. I also recommend her very first CD, 'The Soul Sessions' (I believe it was her first)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
As many other reviewers have stated, if you are expecting another set of sultry, atmospheric tunes to chill out to, then look elsewhere. If this is what Ms. Stone considers to be her real style without being influenced, then her career will be short after this. There are many others peddling this tosh and they don't make much of a mark. The cover should warn you off. The Vinnie Jones intro confirms it when he talks about change. This is not a change for the better. Where's the bin?
Still pants. Read all the reviews Stratsrv, and spot a common thread.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2007
I held off buying this album after the bad press it got, but eventualyy gave in to my curiosity. It's true to say that this is definately not as good as her previous 2 albums. From the very first track you know that it's different to the previous 2 albums. Sometimes, it's different for the better. Tell Me Bout It, Girl They Won't Believe It and Put Your Hands On Me are really upbeat songs that are a joy to listen too. Likewise, Tell Me What We're Gonna Do Now is absolutely fantastic, and never has Stone sounded so sexy and convincing. Arms of My Baby is ok too. But thats where nicely different ends, halfway through the album. After that the tracks are just totally forgettable, and don't really inspire, excite or move you in any way. I think the problem is that Stone has tried to become more mainstream. The vintage soul has been largely ditched, replaced by more pop and R&B style tracks. Apart from the tracks mentioned above , nothing seems original or genuine.Bad Habit has potential, but for some reason it just sounds dated, like something done by a Beyonce wannabe back in the early 2000s.

I would recommend you buy this album, if only for the first 5 or 6 tracks. The rest arne't bad, but they are just very forgettable and been there seen it done it. Hopefully her fourth attempt will be back to classic Stone.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2007
Now I'm the type of person who won't judge singers on their public image, behaviour, activities, etc. So whatever Miss Stone has done in the recent months has nothing to do with this review. Let me review her, by the merits (or lack) of this album and of her music.

There is absolutely no doubt that this young lady can sing. A remarkable voice with a myriad of untapped potential. The problem is-how come I'm not feeling any kind of internal emotion or artistic originality?!

It all boils down to the simple fact that Introducing Joss Stone's content is just flat, clichéd, uninspired and forced. Soul music is supposed to make you feel something, an experience which can hopefully help the listener to empathise with what is being sung. All I was feeling was a great sense of apathy and indifference. The unquestionable crowning piece of this album is Raphael Saadiq's shimmering production, which salvages it from becoming a full on travesty. Shame he doesn't have a more original artist to work with!

I know I'll probably be labelled as a 'hater' or words to that effect, but you know what? I have listened to Soul music long enough to know who's at the top of the pecking order and who's just a clone. Stone seriously needs to reconsider her future in this business. Take some time off and explore and research what Soul is, and hopefully she won't come back with another formulaic, R&B-Pop record.

For anyone wanting to hear some actual UK Soul, I'd recommend two artists, who are hugely ignored by music fans. Terri Walker's "I Am" and Floetry's "Floetic". They will probably instill a bit of real and valuable knowledge into the mindsets of some.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2007
I absolutely love Joss' older stuff, but this just doesn't quite match up to their standard. It's not a bad album, it does contain some good songs, and Joss' voice is gorgeous as ever. But i found it more hit and miss than the other two albums, when i bought Soul Sessions and Mind, Body & Soul i instantly loved every track on both. With this one there a handful of tracks that I do really like, but the others are just ok in comparison.

Tell Me Bout It is a catchy single, but its not the best song on here. The second half of the album is definitely closer to the Joss Stone stuff we know and love, Bruised But Not Broken and What Were We Thinking wouldn't sound out of place on the other albums.

If you're a Joss Stone fan, I don't think you'll love this the same way you did the others, but its not a complete waste of money (unless you're after something exactly the same as the first two).
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 March 2007
You could forgive an artist's 3rd album being called "Introducing" if what was delivered was something special.

You could forgive an artist from making a fool of herself at the Brits if her new album proved to be something worth listening to.

You could forgive the "this is who I am as an artist" advertisements if the subsequent album showed any real signs of originality.

You could even, at a push, forgive the laughable, lamentable Vinnie Jones spoken word intro, as pathetically embarrassing as it is, if what followed it was anything even approaching decent.

As you might have guessed though, I'm not in a forgiving mood.

Let's be clear about one thing; Joss Stone can sing. That's not in doubt. And there is also no doubt that she's a good enough singer to save this album from being the absolute disaster it would be in less capable hands. But not even her superb voice can save songs as dull and as identikit as these.

And lyrically the situation is as bad. Much has been made (by the lady herself I might add) that this marks the first time that Stone has written most of her own lyrics and if we're being unfair you can tell. Yes she's still only 19 and there is nothing wrong with her writing from that level as such, but she's merely full of cliche's that would have been better off left unsaid.

Rapheal Saadiq is the main collaborator on the album and at times it seems like a shrewd move. Put Your Hands On Me is probably the highlight of the album, mixing, as it does, modern beats with a decidedly retro sound. Sadly most of his other production on the album seems intent on watering Miss Stone down to the lowest common denominator.

Which is a shame. There are enough numbers to get your toes dancing, but little that will stick in the memory once the CD is taken out of the machine and put back on the shelf. And that in itself is a huge sense of disappointment. Whilst her first two albums were hardly all-time-classics they showcased a great singer who would surely improve with age. Introducing seems to suggest that she's actually getting worse with age.

Joss Stone seems to be coming in for quite a bit of stick these days, at least some of which is undeserved. Sadly I can't see this dog of an album helping matters any. Perhaps that "classic" album which I once felt confident she could deliver isn't coming after all.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2015
In the music industry, more so now than ever before, marketing is more important than actual talent in attracting the attention of record companies and sales. This is how the Cheeky Girls were able to get a record deal and how every X Factor winner manages to top the charts with their debut singles, before generally vanishing into obscurity before they can release their second album or, in some cases, a second single.

In the lead up to the release of "Introducing…" it appears that Joss Stone forgot this. An appearance at the Brit Awards where she spoke with an American accent caused the tabloid press to come out against her and turning up late for a concert in London upset her fans. Making disparaging remarks about her two earlier albums was not a wise idea either and she left herself with a mountain to climb to win back press and public affection and so "Introducing Joss Stone" needs to be a great album to turn things around.

This is an OK album, but that's all it is. There are some great songs that remind you why Stone's first two albums sold more than a million copies and reached the Top 5 in the UK alone. However, after losing the marketing battle, this needed to be superior to both those albums to succeed and it simply isn't that good.

If you're a Joss Stone fan, this is worth picking up for the good moments, as maybe half of the albums 12 track and 40 minute running time will appeal to the existing Joss Stone fan. If you're new to Joss Stone, one of her earlier albums is a better place to start, as despite the title, this isn't the best introduction to her work by a long shot.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of www.ciao.co.uk, www.thebookbag.co.uk, www.goodreads.com, www.amazon.co.uk and www.dooyoo.co.uk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2007
I have always been interested in Joss Stone, her previous album attempts have pleased me but left me skipping tracks to get to the good ones. This album on the other hand will not disappoint. I have listened to it a few times now and my initial impression is that is an excellent soul/rnb album.

The album bursts into life with a Basement Jaxx-esque "Girl They Won't Believe" a brilliant opener, it then goes from strength to strength. It eventually slows down on track nine "Bad Habbit". However, i enjoyed every track and i am sure it will become one of my favourite albums in my collection.

A great effort, it is funky (god i hate that word), fresh, soulful and in places bitter sweet. Considering she is only 19 years old i am positive she has a remarkable future ahead of her. I would recommend this album to you if you enjoy old soul and motown such as the Supremes, Lauryn Hill and Marvin Gaye.

Peace
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

LP1
£6.66

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)