Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
51
3.7 out of 5 stars
Introducing Joss Stone
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 11 January 2008
Considering how much talent Joss Stone has this album is a bit of a disapointment. The production and the songs don't do her voice justice.
Maybe the next album will crack it for her.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2007
Really enjoyed the Soul Sessions album back a few years ago, and want to like this album...but still have a bitter taste in my mouth after her Pathetic OTT performance on the Brit Awards 2007.

She needs to sack her management team or stop drinking her bath water...she isnt that good..and there are other equal performers...but her attitude that night stunk...pure overhype
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 February 2009
Joss Stone and Vinny Jones: the new Marvin and Tammy everyone. True Soul. For the brain-dead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 October 2010
I have loved this album since i bought it three years ago it was the album with which i fell in love with Miss.Stone and am glad of that fact. This album is less raw than the first album and alot more neo-soul than the second. the use of producers and the more control and free reign that Joss had is evident the writing and feel is spectacular with a varied number of beautiful lush ballads and uptempo groove tastic numbers its a definite different direction and as joss need no introduction i feel its more of a need to assert herself with the use of title and if the songs dont catch your eye or ear even the beautiful bold vibrant and very snazzy cover will most definitely do that. this is a fantastic album that was unrightly slurred an should of done better than it did even if it did do more in america this is a classic of the neo-soul albums and a great great buy :).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2007
I hate to say it, but this album has been a terrible dissapointment. I stopped listening to it the first time I put it on my CD player, I was bored. All songs sound very much the same, and there is no hint of the soul that Ms. Stone put in her two previopus albums. The icing of this distasteful dish was the inclusion of hip-hop tracks, a musical genre I particularly hate. I thought I was buying soul. Soul is Aretha, Marvin, Otis, Percy... and the first two records of Joss Stone. Beautiful voices, songs that thrill. Nothing of that appears here. Tell me 'bout it is a nice video, and made me buy the CD. It's probably the best song in the album. Compare it with the previous Doncha' wanna ride, and you'll see what I mean.

I'm not giving two stars to this CD because I'm in love with Joss Stone, but precisely because of that, the disappointment has been bigger.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2009
what can i saay jos stone 3 album...erm will you like it??depends how much you like soul music!!ifyou like soul music this album is the chips and sauce...she is a real soul singer, she isn't no britney spears or nothing like that..she is a woman who sounds black infact lool..she has got skills and you will notbe dissapointed. she is what i would call neo-soul.....she is good....4 stars. the album isn't perferct for me because i like alot of computer beats which is lacks, but the album is still good
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2007
had joss stone not made a fool of herself at the brits of which i am sure she will have learnt from, then this album would have been getting much better press, how fickle some of us can be .the album is getting much better praise in the states than here and rightly so as the album is much better than some may have you believe. produced by the fantastic raphael saadiq, with guests lauryn hill.this album is one to keep.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2007
Like a lot of people seem to be experiencing I was very disappointed when I first heard this. Then I "switched off me mind" and LISTENED. She's absolutely BRILLIANT! Don't compare this with her other albums - take it for what it is. It's Joss Stone being herself. Definitely 5 stars - but it takes a while to "get into". Ignore the bad reviews.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 March 2007
I do beleive this album and quite possibbly Joss herself is someone you either love or hate! Though this album deserves a chance look beyond the critics!

Vinnie Jones commentary was probably not the best choice, but what he says is very profound and helps to put the album into focus.

The early tracks on this album are a collection of positive, up lifting soul energizing tracks such as " Girl they wont beleive it" which are reminiscent of soul singers like Martha Reeves. Personally i fell in love with this album once i heard "Tell me what were gonna do" which is the perfect Joss blend with a touch of common. "Music" is a stunning song which ofcourse owes alot to the eloquence of Lauryn Hill.

There a couple of songs which it's debatable whether they needed to be including such as "Bad Habit" and "Bruised but not broken". Though the quality is held up towards the end especially with "What were we thinking" which gives another angle of Joss which hasn't been shown before.

To conclude this is another soulful, joyful and deliriously unforgetful album with a new edge. Well worth buying if you love soul, and like an artist which is prepared to dive into the deep end!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

LP1
£6.66

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)