Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
8
4.8 out of 5 stars
Weapons Of Grass Destruction
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 10 April 2017
More fun from Hayseed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 April 2007
Another great mix of rock (and now disco) covers and original songs all in the unique Hayseed Dixie style.

If you've ever been kept awake wondering how the Scissor Sisters or the Sex Pistols would sound if they'd be born a bunch of no-good, drinking, fighting, mountain dwelling moonshiners armed with banjos, mandolins and fiddles then this is the album that can give you the answer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2013
Essentially, Hayseed Dixie are a novelty/covers band, but hell, they do it well. Take a mixture of well know songs- pop, rock, heavy metal and add violins, banjos and a country twang. And it works! The singer, I think, is exaggerating the accent a bit, but that is cool- it adds to the style. The bajo is lively - banjos seem en vouge at the moment- thanks Mumford and Sons!

The tracks are, I think, a split between covers of well know songs (Paint it Black, Poison, Devil Woman, Breaking the law) and some they wrote themselves- "Skinny when I met her" is a novelty/fun song and Rider Song (abou the band on tour) are originals, I think.

I doesn't always work- Strawberry Fields sounds odd. Moreoever, this will not go down as an all time classic, the appeal fades after a few listens. But hell, its funny- I enjoyed it! 4 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2012
Fill me with moonshine, put this on the deck and kick back with my Dawg. Loved it. Pass me a large gun and fries partner.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2011
As discussed by the previous reviewer, this is a great album of covers in Hayceed Dixie's country style.

Note however that the UK version does not include track 15 - I Got Erection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
Great covers from this amazing band, there best album yet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2014
as described, love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2015
5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)