Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
7
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
2
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 3 December 2008
Until a week ago I didn't even know this existed, being a big Fall fan I can't believe this one got past me. This is terrific, Mark E Smith is on top form (and he sounds like he's having a lot of fun) and so are Mouse on Mars, I've heard some of their earlier albums and liked them but I've not listened to anything by them for about five years. This is as consistent as anything I've heard them do and as good as any electronica you'll find, taking in dance genres and spitting them out with their own unique messed up vision, there's some seriously funky stuff here. Dance music is all about repetition after all, and it just drives Mark E Smith forward beautifully, an inspired collaboration.

I find it hard to believe any Fall fan wouldn't like this, maybe if they hate anything electronic then possibly. Even so, if your one of those people, give this a go and you might change your mind. As good as a great Fall album (of which there are many) and terrific electronic beats. More please.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2008
Decongest your ears with Von Sudenfed. Mark E Smith rants over the German garden hedge - he is the DJ as humour abounds and battles with realism. The surreal music of contemporary Europe and the history of its past.

Dark Windows of Von Sudenfed
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2007
I've been a mouse on mars listener for 10 years now, and it's always a surprise for me listening to a new record by them, but this is really something. I'm so happy of having this album, i am a more happy person since this came out, it's organized chaos, the ghost in the machine, eclectic calculated sounds vs rants and fun fun fun, believe ive listened ALL of the good 07 albums, lcd soundsystem, year zero, amon tobin, battles,arcade fire etc...and this is the best so far...
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2012
Firstly I should make the reader aware that this album was firstly made aware to me from

The combination of (the legendary) Mark E. Smith and Mouse on Mars, to create Von Sudenfed, is exceptionally confident in it's lyricism and bold in its sound. This should be expected when looking at the two entities separately, however, what is not expected from the listener is the sheer force sound and diversification of lyrics combining to constitute a hugely unique album.

I personally am not the largest fan of electronic music, however this has paved a way for numerous other electronic-based albums which have made their way into my music collection hosting an array of genres. Thumping electronic beats and masterly crafted lyrics & vocals lend a hand to a wonderful wall of sound. It is quite remarkable how Mr Smiths voice blends perfectly with the well-crafted electronic beats. There are two 'types' of Mark E. Smith vocals on this album. Firstly there are the vocals which are focused (it seems) solely on the sound and less on the lyricism (as evident on Serious Brainskin) and there are those which are drawn towards Mr Smiths trademark, master-crafted, lyrics (as is evident in That Sound Wiped).

It is further evident that the inspired collaboration had fun with the creation of the album with rants & raves blending with the well-produced beats, this is particularly evident in the track 'Chicken Yiamas', one of the most hilarious tracks I've heard in a long long time.

Personal stand-out tracks are:

Fledermaus Can't Get It
Rhinohead
Serious Brainskin
That Sound Wiped (possibly the album at its prime, the mixture of a funky electronic beat and Mark's wonderful lyrics, very reminiscent of a electronically produced 'Blindness').
Dearest Friends

I'd highly recommend this album to Fall fans, general electronic fans and those looking to diversify their music collection. Tromatic Reflexxions is yet another example of how 'mainstream' music does not constitute quality music.

4* album **** .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2012
Mark E. Smith in dance mode. With bits of comedy. Thought provoking lyrics as usual. Never listened to Mouse On Mars before but I will be checking them out in the future. Is it me or does Mr Smith get better with age?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
Not 'alf bad, & definitely a whole lot better than anything The Fall have coughed up in the couple of decades.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2015
Ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here