Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



on 23 December 2015
This is brilliant to me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2016
Brilliant.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2007
I just dont get why other reveiwers are knocking off stars because its another Jethro Tull compilation and not new material. A jethro Tull compilation does remind people that Tull are still around and after 39 years on the road thats something to be thankful for. There is talk that a new album will be around at the end of this year, so for now, this will keep us going.

Tull have always been an interesting and complex band, some people are totally into their music and some just dont get it. Probably because in general, to listen to Tull, takes a great deal of concentration and at times patience. This works well as a fantastic introduction to Tull, or for someone like me, who has every album released, an excellent collection of the softer side of their music.

The collection has most of the more familiar pieces of acoustic work, with a couple of poorly edited segments of Thick As a Brick and Cold Wind to Vallhala, but i would rather they were on the CD, than not. I do agree that this could have been released as a double CD, as plenty of excellent pieces of work, are missing. But this is a great album with a fine body of work, classic songs such as Wond'ring Aloud, Cheap Day Return and Dun Ringill, sit well with Jack a Lynn and a couple of Ian Andersons solo tracks, Rupis Dance and The Water Carrier. Two exclusive tracks only found on this album, means that Tull completist's will have to shell out again to get them. A rather pointless re-recording of One Brown Mouse, and a live track recorded in Denamark "Pastime with Good Company".

In short, if you like acoustic music and are new to Tull, this is a great start. Anyone wanting to hear Jethro Tull with the amps turned up could do worse than purchase Bursting Out, a live record from 1978 and provides a snapshot of Tull in their prime.

If you are a die hard like me, stop moaning,you have the choice to buy it, or leave it alone. Its an excellent piece of work, I for one, have been waiting for a best of acoustic Tull album, for twenty odd years.

Now come on Ian, lets have a new album please...........
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 February 2012
A pleasant little mix of Tull's work. Nice to have in the car, no surprises on the CD, just an assortment of easyb to listen to tracks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2007
As a serious fan and a completist collector of Tull I picked up this compilation as a matter of course. However , it strikes me that this particular compilation is the perfect selection for those who only know Jethro Tull for Aqualung or Locomotive Breath, who think that band leader Ian Anderson is really named Jethro Tull or who haven't listened to Tull since the seventies. Tull, at full force, is not an easy listen for the uninitiated and some of the rock bluster could put new listeners off.

This acoustic set, however, perfectly captures the delicate, disciplined music majesty of Tull and includes songs from across the nearly 40 years of their existence, including all the various genres that Tull dabbled with. The playing order is in chronological order so it offers a virtual walk through of the band's history from the early days (Fat Man etc),the heights of Mother Goose (off Aqualung)and Thick as a Brick from their commercial peak, Dun Ringill and Jack Frost from the "rural/folk-rock" period, Under Wraps from the (brief) dalliance with electronica and Water Carrier from the more recent world-music influences on Ian's solo album Secret Language of Birds (which is highly recommended). An eclectic journey indeed but all underlining the brilliance of the musicians making the journey!

Most of the classic acoustic numbers are here but inevitably my selection would have been slightly different. Missing (for me) is an acoustic version of Rocks on the Road from Catfish Rising which remains one of Tull's most special moments (IMHO). But the inclusion of One White Duck, Dun Ringill, Jack Frost and Broadford Bazaar restores one's faith.

The final track Pastime with Good Company is the only song not available elsewhere, and it is worth having, as it demonstrates (again) the Tull's musical palate is so much more extensive than their peer group, as they effortlessly do justice to this Henry VIII composition. Those who own the 20th Anniversary 3CD set will already have the other song from this genre, called King Henry's Madrigal, of which Anderson said "If Henry VIII had a rock band this is what it would sound like..".

For the convenience of having all the "gentler" Tull in one place this compilation is great, and a marvellous way to expose new listeners to the lesser known side of rock's most inventive band. (Not that I'm biased you understand).
33 Comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2015
Everything as expected, Excellent choice, great purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2014
I'm not sure who this is aimed at, but the obvious limitation is the fact a CD only holds 70 minutes or whatever it is of music. When you're talking about a band like Tull who fashioned a 40 minute epic from the incredible acoustic intro to "Thick as a Brick" you know 70 minutes can never be enough! For the newbie to Tull, it seems criminal to hide the rest of TAAB or "Cold Wind to Valhalla" while Ian's strange need to include Christmas songs on every album means something else misses out. The version of "Weathercock" here is also the re-recorded one from the Christmas album which, although alright, isn't a patch on the original so I'm not sure why that was selected for this.
However, overall, what you get is a disc packed full of fantastic classic songs like "Life is a long song", "Skating Away", "Mother Goose" and the hauntingly beautiful "Broadford Bazaar" which almost always brings a tear to my eye even though I was just a tiny nipper in the days of Vivas and Cortinas!
You also get a masterclass in acoustic guitar playing from Ian Anderson who is criminally underrated in this department. Being a lead guitar player myself I know just how hard it is to nail even the opening of "Thick as a Brick" with the timing Ian manages while also singing. The man is a genius, ably backed on these tracks by the rest of the minstrels.
Overall, this album is a great buy for a newbie to Tull who can use these songs to get hooked on music, or for the long-time fan who will appreciate the low price and listen to the CD in the car. Heartily recommended!

Steven A. McKay, author of Wolf's Head (The Forest Lord) and The Wolf and the Raven: 2 (The Forest Lord)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2007
This for me is a distillation of all the best bits of Jethro Tull. My own taste is for the the acoustic,the simple flute and guitar tracks on all the Tull albums have been my favourites.

So if you are a like minded fan of this side of Jethro Tull this album is a must as it puts all your favourites into one package (hurrah).

As a general observation all the songs on this album demonstrate Ian Anderson's skill as a song writer. Very few song writers have his elloquance. Listern particulary to "Broadford Bazaar" or "Jack a Lynn". The former a three verse song that encapsulates the varying fortuners of the Highlands and Islands of Scotland and the latter is a tremendous love song without being sentimental.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2009
This may be another excuse for a collection, but there are no weak tracks. And for a so called acoustic album it still brings that classic Tull rock feel. Great for fans - and could introduce the band to a few new converts.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2007
This latest in a long line of compilations over new material may seem a pointless release to the legions of hard core TULL fans out there, craving a long time coming album of new material.

However, this release serves an important role in showcasing to the "casual" or "non convert" listener the unique and rewarding music Ian Anderson and Jethro Tull have been recording and performing (with varying degrees of success!)over the past almost 40 years.

For anybody who enjoys what in modern times seems to be the forgotten craft of quality song-writing, and who is prepared to judge the music on its own merit, detached from terms like 'prog rock' , then this album will prove to be a rewarding experience......

From 3 proud TULL converts,

Andy Godden, Anthony Watts and Gary "the Rottweiler" Smilie
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here