Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
301
3.7 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard|Format: Box|Change
Price:£13.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 May 2017
broke after a week
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2009
I can't really expand on what has been said before, essentially this is a combination of Mirror's edge and Tenchu, freerunning combined with stealth. Although repetitive, I found the game very compelling, the storyline is rather detailed, maybe too much so, and not allowing you to skip over dialogue is tedious at times. The game is also very, very, very annoying. The character you control will get stuck on small boxes, react strangely, and jump in odd directions. The AI can be awful, they seem to see through walls sometimes and can be very hard to escape. When trying to use stealth by walking slowly past guards, you'll probably be attacked time and again by a drunk or loony, which for some inexplicable reason causes the guards to attack you; very frustrating.

But there are good points; the game is rewarding, the storyline unfolds and is quite deep, this is probably better for adults, but paradoxically, for adults with a lot of time on their hands. I finished the storyline 100% in a little over two days, but if I had to spread this over several weeks I'd have got bored a lot quicker. The achievements are extremely rewarding and just the right level of difficulty, bear in mind you have to collect around 500 different flags from around the various parts of the kingdom to get 1000G in this game, also don't forget to talk to lucy after every single level for one of the achievements. The levels are constructed to allow you to bounce from beam to wall to roof in fluid motions, although you're always guaranteed to fall off eventually it's a lot of fun escaping guards in this manner.

If you like 'hidden package' type games (although most games are these days), deep storylines, a reasonable challenge and gamerscore then I would recommend this.

It's funny how many people moan about repetition when the majority of gamers these days spend 100's of hours on games like Halo 3, Call of Duty and Gears of War, all of which invlove shooting people over and over on the same maps, with the same weapons, with no storyline whatsoever.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2015
Positives:

Good graphics.
Realistic sceneries.
Plenty of opportunities to explore open sectors.
Mini games such as assassinating Templars and collecting flags for Player Achievements.

Negatives:

Combat is a nuisance as the guards break guard which is indefensible and they also have a nasty habit of attacking from the rear. Altair (the Playable Character) uses his fists more than his sword, making the combat sequence unnecessarily lengthy and frustratingly disadvantageous. Additionally, the PC is indefensible against most attacks until he gains 'ranks' which teaches additional skills, meaning until that skill is taught, expect to be tossed about like a rag doll (literally).
Free-roam guards constantly compromise non critical missions (Interrogation, Assassinations, Pick Pocket, Eaves dropping, etc), causing them to fail instantly.
The colour contrast is dreadful. Get used to having to fiddle with the brightness adjustment setting in the options menu. You'll be needing it a lot as environments are either too dark or too bright.
PC functionality is slow and jerky. Half the time the PC leaps off buildings unexpectedly or refuses to climb higher even when there are things to allow for progression up a structure.
Don't expect to be making a great deal of stealth kills as non free -roam mission guards always spot you and from impossible angles. Also, to stealth kill you have to be right behind the target. There are no air assassinations or wall assassinations, poison or pistols.
The PC cannot pick up or remove bodies and the bodies naturally attract unwanted attention from guards, but the guards don't leave the scene, making an altercation inevitable.
The story itself is confusing. Unless you go straight to the Assassins Bureau at the very start of each city, expect to thrown into an event that makes no sense.
The harassers are okay in small quantities (that being one every other street) but not five to a single courtyard or six to a street. It's OTT by miles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
This game is a all in all a pretty uninteresting far from amazing game, lacking character and emotion. I would start with the second
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2007
Ubisoft seem to have promoted Assassin's Creed as a stealth game, which would make a lot of sense seeing as the main character is a medieval assassin but let's get this straight, the stealth elements are underwhelming and what you have instead is a beautiful, quirky action/platform game with a compelling story.

The majority of assassin's Creed puts you in control of Altair, moody badass and Hashshashin extraordinaire. Altair fumbles an important job for the guild and is stripped of his rank/ability faster than you can say `Super Metroid' and from there on must prove his worth by assassinating nine of the key figures responsible for prolonging the crusades. Controlling Altair is pretty intuitive and it only takes a few minutes to get to grips with the controls. Expect to have as much fun climbing up buildings as in `Crackdown', running across rooftops is very rewarding and gives an impressive feeling of speed and Fighting plays a lot like a rhythm-action mini game.

Each assassination is made up of a few steps, first you must travel to the city on horseback. These over-world sections feel a little bit under developed and whereas the horse riding mechanics are fun, they don't really add much to the game. It would have been nice to see a few secrets around the map but as they are these sections resemble those in `Shadow of the Colossus' or `Gun' more than they do `The Legend of Zelda'. Once you arrive at the city you will have a few tasks to complete, firstly you need to seek out tall structures, ascend them and survey the land. This will allow you to see more of the map and cause side missions to show up on you HUD. The side missions are undertaken in order to gain information about your mark and in some cases to make the job easier.

These side missions take the form of assassinating guards, eavesdropping, pick pocketing, rescuing citizens from guard brutality and oddly, hopping above the city in timed flag collecting races. They seem to have come under a lot of fire from reviewers but the repetition didn't really bother me a lot. I'll be honest, this isn't `Oblivion', you can expect to hear the same lines over and over again and the challenge or variety never really increases as the game progresses. It would have been nice to see some real depth and variety here but they are what they are and most have some aspect which is fun. My favourite were probably the flag races which reminded me of Ubisoft's other Fall platformer `Naruto: Rise of a Ninja'. There are precious few of these races, largely due to the problems of implementing them into the game narrative. There are only a few times that you can use `Erm... I lost a bunch of flags, can you get them for me before... a generic event happens'.

I found the actual assassinations to be a lot of fun, most only really involve going to point A, watching a cut-scene, running up and putting a blade through the target's face then legging it back to the Assassin's Bureau. This will obviously annoy those anticipating a more cerebral take on killing. I'm sure that it's possible to put more thought into the kills but the game doesn't really encourage or reward it and `Hitman' it aint.

Graphically the game looks amazing; it renders huge densely populated areas without really struggling. Just climb to the top of one of the towers and you'll feel overwhelmed by what the developers have managed to pull off. I noticed a handful of small glitches as I played such as texture pop-in, and screen ripping but nothing that hindered my enjoyment of the game. Similarly I experienced a couple of stutters while loading areas but I can count the number of times on one hand.

The voice work was largely professional, Altair sounds a bit too much like Troy McLure and a few of the NPCs are a tad on the `wacky' side but it's entertaining rather than aggravating. There was music there but I can't really remember it which is usually a good thing in soundtracks. Presumably it supported the action rather than intrude upon it. All in all the sound was adequately done with a couple of stellar moments such as Kirsten Bell's performance as Lucy.

Without spoiling what is an admittedly poorly kept secret there are some small adventure chapters that link the sections of the main game and add a twist to the story. I strongly advise players to make the most of these sections as they provide likeable rounded characters, an interesting mystery and hint at the direction of future installments of the franchise. Depending on how much work you put in these sections will either be slow paced and boring or fascinating and you can't skip them so it's up to you to make the most of them. Explore the rooms, use the computers and rummage through emails, I think that fans of TV shows like `Lost' will be well pleased with the overall direction of the story.

Overall Assassin's Creed is a solid action-platformer with next-gen looks and last-gen gameplay. I personally enjoyed it a lot but it doesn't really bring anything new to the table and reminds me of a number of existing games. It also leans a little bit to the easy side and offers little immediate replay value. There are numerous flags to collect but Ubisoft have taken the cheap option and bagging each set will only unlock an achievement. Gamers expecting a world changing experience will be disappointed but I suggest that anybody interested in the genre, setting or those frustrated by a lack of complexity in Video Game narrative pick this one up.

7/10
11 Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Bad game the case tastes funky and is plastic that's not on
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2007
I have just completed `Assassin's Creed' on the 360 and it has taken me about 15-20 hours. In modern game terms this is a good length, but there is a sting in the tale.

'Assassin's Creed' is an open world 3rd person action game set in the time of the Crusades. You play an assassin who is ordered by your leader to kill 9 people who bring war to the world. There are three cities to explore including Ancient Jerusalem and in this world you must partake in tasks to gain enough information about your target. When you have the required the correct amount of information you can strike at your target and then escape to safety.

This game has a great concept and is in a setting that is rarely seen in console gaming. However, it fails to be more than a set of mini actions rather than a coherent game. You repeat the same few tasks over and over again with little difference. You will climb 10s of towers as well as save 10s of people's lives. The free running aspect of the game is fun, but the enemy AI means that escaping is no chore. If you wanted to you could complete this game in 10 hours, however, if you wish to unlock all the achievements you will need to complete all the side aspects as well.

Is this game worth buying? The graphics are lush, but even so I think this is more a weekend rental or £20 buy in the future.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2008
I had trouble thinking of how I could word this review as there's not an awful lot I can write. I suppose I could start with the obvious appeal of the game and its basic plot.

You play Altair, an assassin in the Holy Land in the medieval period. Your job (cutting out a lot of cut scene action) is to assassinate a certain number of people, each time reporting back to the assassins bereau. That's about it. Doesn't sound that exciting but what is remarkable about this game is the sheer size of these medieval cities and the AI of the people inside the cities.

The cities are absolutely huge, and accurately depicted accordingly to the game's developers. Unlike the likes of the first Grand Theft Auto where the buildings are rendered quite basically, AC allows you to climb all these buildings (each of which have remarkable detail) to get a bird's eye view of the city. The feeling of power when you climb to the top of one of the look out points and scan the city is something else. The detail, as has been mentioned, is absolutely incredible.

What I found really fun (and this may just be due to my fear of heights) was the Leap of Faith. Climbing these huge structures takes time, but the fall is worth it. Watching Altair leap from these buildings in a flying motion makes my stomach leap. It's so realistic and on a big TV, heart stopping. The Leap of Faith is very nicely illustrated not by some random icon, but by looking for where pigeons are perched on top of buildings. I love escpaing from guards only to see pigeons then launching myself off buildings like an eagle straight into a hiding spot.

Altair's ability to climb and navigate gaps in roof tops is also quite fun to do. Basing his movements around Free Running, there are few buildings that Altair can't tackle but rest assured, 99% of the landscape can be used to make your escape easier. Having said that, it does take quite a bit of getting used to. Altair moves very quickly and for me anyway, sometimes just jumps straight off buildings that have too large a gap before I have the chance to get my bearings.

The animation in this really is second to none. Between Altair's walking and sprinting, to his horse's movements, there's been a lot of time spent making this game as realisitic as possible and this effort should be commended.

On the other side of the coin, this game had some seriously irritating aspects that put me off it for a good long while. It's also the reason why the novelty of the above good points wears off so quickly.

The plot can be quite dull and samey. You go to a city, evesdrop, pickpocket and then commit the assasination, then go back to Mysaf (your base) for the next mission. And it will be identical to the last one. Altair needs to gather information before commiting the assassination but instead of being quite involved in it, all you do to pickpocket is lockon and press a button. You don't see what you've taken. When you visit the Assassin's Bureau to relay your finidings, you'll find that Altair has gathered an awful lot of information about the target and you don't feel like you've actually done anything to get this information. It's a bit boring to be honest.

The "Blend" option drove me insane. I could be (genuinly) innocently strolling past a group of guards, without having commited any offence in a town and they would have a go at me. This was also the case when on my horse in the countryside. Pressing blend stops this for a short period of time, but Altair or the horse will then stroll so slowly that my patience would wear thin (espcially between cities where terrain is huge and there are various small towns and checkpoints to navigate). Sometimes even blend doesn't work and you're attacked for no reason.

The weapon system too takes a bit of time to get used to. Altiar has a small dagged fixed to his hand, several throwing daggers and a sword. Combat can be monotonos, however, it is realistic. You can only take on one guard at a time and frequently that guard's colleagues will stab you in the back while you fight the other. The best way to deal with this though is to take advantage of arena time at the fortress and learn counter moves. If you get them right, the effect is realistic and brutal.

My biggest gripe though is along the lines of many review magazines. Assassins Creed is trying to be too clever. The "modern" part of the game where you are in a lab is completely pointless and boring. Unfortunately you can't skip these cut scenes. Your character can do nothin except walk around at a very slow pace with the doctor chats away to you about his experiments. I found this frustrating, off putting and unnecessary. The medieval aspect of Assassins Creed is done so well, they shoulnd't have bothered with this "modern" feel.

In short there are a lot of very nice touches here which will no doubt find their way into the next Prince of Persia.

I guess in summary my final paragraph would say that I watched the promo vids of this game, read the magazine articles and drooled over the game in store. I got it, ripped it open and was quickly put off by its irritating Blend function. All in all though, its a visually stunning game, and should definately feature in your collection.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2008
Let me start with a simple statement: Assassin's Creed does not live up to the hype. Promises of dynamic stealth and a multitude of ways to approach each mission are unfounded. Some ideas are downright dumb.

But Assassin's Creed was also the most entertaining game I played all year.

To begin with, the freerunning - a key portion of the game - is brilliant. Breathtaking, exciting and fluid, it is the most natural execution of the concept ever seen in gaming. Leaping around the various cities (which are, sadly, very much alike) is an absolute joy.

Combat is also enjoyable, with a surprising amount of depth coming from using just two buttons; this also leads to the appropriate rise in difficult as more enemies emerge. Two guards can be taken down swiftly. Fifteen? You'll need patience and a good sense of timing. Just as it should be.

The assassinations themselves, despite being satisfying and exciting, also carry with them a sense of disappointment. Although it feels rewarding to take out a key character, if you were hoping to try numerous different approaches to assassinations, sorry but no way. It's nigh on impossible to sneak up on the target with attracting the attention of the guards, and so every assassination compromises of fighting past the guards before killing the target himself.

Furthermore, the prepatory work which has to be done before each hit is, although fun, completely pointless, serving no purpose but to extend the length of the game. Information garnered could perhaps be used to make assassinations easier, but I never once needed to look at what I'd discovered in order to finish a tricky mission.

This review seems to comprise almost entirely of flaws, but it musn't be forgotten that the core of the game - the parkour and fighting - is such a sheer pleasure that most of the time I overlooked the other problems.

And a final word of advice: don't try to blast through the game in a weekend, because that'll only accentuate the feeling of repetition. Play it in short bursts of an hour, with a nice gap in between. You don't have to do it like that, but I honestly believe that it makes the game far more enjoyable (as well as extending it's lifespan!).

Assassin's Creed - flawed, yes absolutely, but also a lot of fun!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 December 2007
Assassin's Creed is an odd one. On the one hand you have this visual feast of a game with a seemingly enormous game world to explore and a riveting storyline pushing you to play on, and on the other you have a limited game that becomes insanely repetitive after the first couple of hours with annoying stealth mechanics, random combat that doesn't seem to factor in skill at all and frustrating AI. It sounds bad, but somehow it managed to be fun in spite of some really ruinous sounding flaws.

Firstly, I hated the 'blending' in the game the most personally. In order to avoid detection in the crowds, you have to move so slow it would take an hour to get from one part of the city to another? That can't be right. It was easier on most occasions to just kill all the guards and run to where I was going, killing guards as they appeared, which seems to render the stupidly stiff and slow stealth part of the gameplay pointless in my eyes. Games don't always need to move at a lightning pace, but give better alternatives than 'walk at a quarter speed to avoid fighting' a bit more often. Blending sucks, and ruins the flow of the game.

Next up, combat. Good lord, is there anything to this? It seemed to be completely random. You basically either attack constantly until your opponent decides not to block anymore, or you counterattack constantly until Altair decides to MAYBE counter with an attack that will kill your attacker(It happens less than you might expect). It feels way too dependent on chance and out of your control and can be very frustrating in scenes where you are ambushed by large groups of enemies(With one scene in particular near the end preceding a boss fight being just terribly frustrating to the point I wondered if it was worth trying to even finish the game).

Lastly, yes, the game is every bit as repetitive as you've heard. You repeat the same handful of tasks constantly throughout the game, to the point you'll often be desperate for the assassination part of the game to actually kick in. The sub quests are so cheap and unrewarding they add nothing to the game either by the way. Collect flags? What do I get out of it?

In spite of this though, it really is quite joyous at times to just run(and free run) around the cities and towns in the game just admiring the gorgeous visuals, and the assassinations in the game are often quite fun, despite the annoying hoops you have to jump through to get to them.

It IS a fun game basically, but only some of the time, the rest it's an exercise in patience and endurance, and no game should feel like that.

Not crap, but a long way from brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)