Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2017
This is a new take of the original with Charlton Heston.
The beginning was the reverse with the ape not the usual astronaut landing on earth this time. Different and compelling watching to see how it ended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2017
To add to my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2017
not bad
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2017
Good dvd happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2014
this is real cool great performance from mark wahlberg. cant wait to see dawn of the apes ......... 9/10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
brilliant for my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2016
After all these years I watched this awful film again because it came with the 8 Blu Ray primal collection box. I hated it when watching it in the cinema at the time. The costumes of the apes are grotesque and make them look like Japanese samurai warriors. The chimps wear lipstick and eyeshadow and look like Michael Jackson. They simply look stupid and not like in the original films. This could have been a great film but thanks to Tim Burton it's a complete failure. Like many others I liked the story and especially the ending. Sorry about the horrible looking apes.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2012
There was such a hype about this film coming out but overall it's a stereotypical Tim Burton film; great looking but that's about it!

There are many great things about this film; the actors that play the apes are superb, most notably Tim Roth, Helena Bonham-Carter, Michael Clarke Duncan, Paul Giamatti and Charlton Heston who all give superb and memorable performances, while the ape make-up is outstanding. Burton should be very proud of those little scenes showing ape life.

Unfortunately the film fails because of an average story and the utter miscasting of the human characters.

It starts well enough; a space station, a lost chimp in space and it's failed rescue by Mark Wahlberg leading to his capture on an ape planet. It all goes boringly wrong from there and ends purely with an escape, chase and battle with a couple of twists at the end which fail to save the film.

Much worse is the miscasting of the human characters. Mark Wahlberg is wholly unsuitable for such a lead role; he is now a selfish astronaut from da Chicago hood! You have no sympathy for him or the indigenous humans on the planet lead by Kris Kristofferson and Estella Warren who give no screen presence whatsoever.

The storyline should have had more turns, while Burton should have developed the human characters more and took more time to cast them!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2012
Now I'm not going to get into my opinions of the movie, as if you are looking to buy it you've either seen it or a big fan of the franchise so like myself probably gonna buy it.
My issue with this release is the lack of extras on it. I bought this as an upgrade to my DVD and was dissapointed to find the only "extra" it has is Tim Burton's commentary. This is a shame as the DVD release had some rather interesting documentaries on it about how they filmed it, discussing all the make up and the movement tests etc.
Ok the release is quite cheap and for the film i'm happy with the price, but why do the studios keep releasing these older films on blu ray and giving us a limited release with no additional extras or features. If blu ray is supposed to be the best next generation platform why in someways are we getting less than before.
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
It ok bit rubbish disappointed no where near as good as the next two
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse