Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
76
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.45+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2014
Well what can you say about this marvellous series. It's simply great. Wonderful actors. Do buy. It's well worth it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2008
Everyone involved with Duty Free deserves credit. We have to start with writers Eric Chappell and his secretary Jean Warr. The regular cast - Keith Barron, Gwen Taylor, Joanna Van Gyseghem, Neil Stacy and Carlos Douglas were beyond brilliant. I got the feeling they each added their own thing to make a funny script even funnier.

*** Behind the scenes spoiler about the Christmas episode ***
Please don't read this until you've seen the episode.

A Duty Free Christmas was mostly filmed at an actual hotel in Spain. This was because some Duty Free fans thought the regular hotel actually existed and they felt let down to find the limit of its existence was a set at Yorkshire TV studios. The hotel (Don Carlos) still exists but was refurbished around the year 2000.

Ok so now onto the spoiler. Gwen Taylor couldn't fly out to Spain due to other commitments so all her scenes were filmed in and near a particular London hotel. Huge credit to the person in charge of continuity. So many things to take into consideration. Gwen's presence in Spain was so convincing. Look closely at the windows in the lobby scenes though and you'll see what I mean. The windows were carefully masked. Nevertheless it still worked. It's worth remembering that the cast didn't want to do the Christmas special at first. Since the special wasn't shown in front of a live studio audience prior to release there was no laughter track.

As a huge fan though I'm extremely grateful that Duty Free (including the special) was made.
11 Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2012
A fantastic series, full of laughs. I watched the complete series in a week and was sad when it finished. An easy to watch series, great for chilling and having some time to.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
It is lovely to be able to see this great TV prog. again ( and again ) when I want. I did not see them all of them first time around as I did not have a video at the time. Would recomend this to anyone who enjoyed the show. Ir is much better than the so called comedy that is shown on the TV today. Wish we could get a refund on the TV licence for every DVD of classic shows bought !
11 Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Excellent comedy from yesteryear!
Dated in parts but still very funny! Star if the show is 'Amy' With some very comical lines! This box set is amazing value for money especially for anyone fancying a trip down sitcom lane! Very nostalgic
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2016
Fast delivery and looked good on arrival, brought as a gift and it didnt work in there dvd player so tried it in another and it did, not sure if its a problem with the dvd or the player but other dvds work in the player
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2010
We saw a review of Duty Free on a TV documentary. I had completely forgotten this show. The script, especially Amy's lines are a hoot. I was surprised that this actress is now an old woman in Emmerdale?? Couldn't recognise her as this young wife in Duty Free. Anyway, if you want a real laugh and a look at the 80s again, Duty Free is your one. Apparently, there is some difference in the DVD presentations. I think the one I got by Network has all of the footage, the other has bits missing according to what I read. Anyway, laugh and enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Brilliant. How did they make so many fabulous when the location and cast never varied? I'll tell you, the scripts were ace anbd the cast cou;ld not have been betered.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
I watched this years ago and then again a few months ago it is still very entertaining it us one of those series you can keep watching every few months [very funny]
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
I had totally forgot just how good this 80's comedy was.
Loved watching every episode.
Would love them to make a new series all these years later.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)