Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Steps Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
317
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 8 September 2006
A tale of two friendships, one which existed several decades ago and another in the present day. Evelyn Couch (Kathy Bates) is a middle aged woman who has seen a son off to college and now finds herself trying to get her husbands attention again. One day while visiting a relative in a home she meets Mrs Threadgoode (Jessica Tandy) who begins to tell her the story of two old friends, Ruth and Idgie. Evelyn's visits become a regular occurrence as Mrs Threadgoode continues her story and the two women become good friends which helps Evelyn come to terms with her life and mid-life crisis.

At the same time we are treated to the story of Ruth and Idgie. Ruth has been asked by Idgie's mother to help tame her wild daughter and the pair form a strong bond which gets tested several times over the years by racism, an abusive husband and illness.

This is a beautiful movie about the wonders friendship. I've watched it many times and still love it. Several `laugh out loud' moments but also those which will bring a tear to your eye no matter how many times you watch it.

A must see for everyone.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2006
Fried green tomatoes is one of those return again and again to films,the more you watch it the more you like it.It tells the story of an old friendship within the story of the start of a new friendship. The acting is superb,the storyline poignant . It will touch your heart and also make you smile.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 February 2008
This film has it all what it takes to make a really great movie. It is well done, an impressive cast, deep emotions, drama, deep friendship, laughter and never in a tacky, unrealistic way. One can relate to these characters very easily. The switch between past and present works great. I was hooked from the very first moment. I share the previous reviewer's view that one can see it several times and not getting bored rather seeing different aspect of this excellent movie more clearly. This is "toowanda"... see the movie and you will understand what it means. For now 5 stars would actually not enough to give to this movie. Just see it!!! You really must!!
0Comment| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
You could, possibly, categorise this as a chick-flick.
But if you do, do not dismiss it as such.
One of my all-time favourite movies along with The Godfather 1&2; Pulp Fiction; and Betty Blue, to name but a few (for reference).

A middle-aged woman (Kathy Bates) finds herself becoming lost in a mid-life crisis.
Taking pity on an old lady (Jessica Tandy) in a nursing home, she is told the story of 'Idgie Threadgood' (Mary Stuart Masterson).
The two quickly become friends and news of Idgie's alter-ego T'Wanda becomes an inspiration for Bates' character and who begins to assume some of her strength and spirit when faced with 'modern-day' challenges.

Two touching and charming stories told simultaneously but set in two ages, generations apart.
Provides amusement, dismay, and excitement, all the way to the end.

Guy Warning:-
I'm a big bloke and I've watched this a dozen times or more.
Cry every time.
If watching with your lady have some Kleenex hidden a safe distance away to avoid embarrassment.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2005
Fried Green Tomatoes is a great film, most of us already know this, just as we know that the only thing it lacks is for the romantic relationship between Idgy and Ruth to be realised on screen. Do not expect this from the extended version, the only hint of mysterious deleted scenes is at the end of a special feature documentary; while the credits roll - Ruth and Idgy are lying on a blanket (during their honey excursion). I'm surprised it didn't make the cut of the extended version. However, the documentary is good and the extended scenes, in the film, add a little more depth to the emotional ties between the characters.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2002
I saw the film soon after it first came out some ten years ago and have been looking forward to acquire it on DVD. My disappointment was therefore rather big when I discovered that some scenes have been cut out of the original version on this DVD edition. The fact that the love making between the main characters (Ruth and Idgie) in this edition is not present stinks of political uptightness. It is similar to portraying the 1940's as a period when no one smoked cigarettes as was done in the recent Pearl Habour movie.
The gravity the missing scenes has on the film is severe because it is impossible to understand the close bonding between Idgie and Ruth if sexual desire is absent in their relationship. The editiors of this DVD version attempts to sell a story about a life long friendship between two women. But having stripped this version for the original scenes unfortunately renders the main characters pretty lame and pointless in their quest. Why would two people choose to hang out with each other for a life time if there wasn't any sex involved?
Perhaps this DVD edition sells better to middle-america, perhaps we are all left more stupid because it causes less controversy.
Hopefully the original version will be available one day as the present version is not worth seeing.
11 Comment| 84 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2007
This is a womens film has all the things we woman love best love, comedy, drama what a beautiful film put together so well and has you glued to your seat at all times, one to pass onto your daughter, best friends, mother. I have watched this film at least 10 times over the 3 years i have had it, buy this film you will enjoy every moment.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Every time I watch this wonderful film, I see something new.

It begins with Evelyn Couch (Kathy Bates), an unhappy housewife - trampled on by almost everyone she meets - going to visit her husband's aunt in a nursing home. We don't meet the aunt, but the impression given is that to call the aunt "cantankerous" is to put it mildly. And she doesn't like Evelyn. While waiting for her husband, Evelyn meets Ninny Threadgoode (Jessica Tandy), who - over the course of several meetings - tells Evelyn the story of the hamlet of Whistle Stop, now a ghost-town, and the people who lived there.

The main story Ninny shares with Evelyn centres around tomboy Idgie Threadgoode (Mary Stuart Masterson), and Ruth Jamison (Mary Louise Parker), and their relationship and the complications that follow. Meanwhile, learning of Ruth and Idgie encourages the repressed Evelyn to take charge of her own life in ways that vary from the small, to the sublime, to the side-splittingly funny.

The performances are wonderfully strong, bringing each character to three-dimensional life. Jessica Tandy as Ninny is the kind of grandmother-figure we'd all want: spry, with a twinkle in her eye and a story to tell. Kathy Bates as Evelyn begins as a pitiable woman but - after passing through a wild phase, "Towanda!" (it'll make sense once you've seen the film!) - she grows into a more mature, stronger woman. Mary Stuart Masterson portrays Idgie as a free-spirit who grows into responsibility. Mary Louise Parker plays Ruth with quiet strength and dignity. And we can't forget Cicely Tyson's turn as Sipsey, the wry cook at the Whistle Stop Café.

At it's heart, this is a story about life, and about the small triumphs and tragedies that befall us. It's a story of friendship, and love, and family.

That may sound clichéd, but "Fried Green Tomatoes" is not a clichéd film. It's one of those rare films that manages to walk the fine line between drama and comedy, laughter and tears, and makes the audience connect with and feel for the characters without over-egging the pathos-pudding. It's a film that can make you cry watching a scene between Ruth and Idgie, only minutes before Evelyn does something in her bid for emancipation from boredom, and you're laughing again.

This film can be enjoyed by people all ages, whether male or female.

The film's rated PG, and there are dark themes consistent with the period of the 1920s-1930s, the setting of rural Alabama, and (sadly) with life in general, for example spousal abuse, racism, and death.

I'd give it 5-Stars, for a film that draws you into the entirely realistic world it creates, touches all emotions deeply, and refuses to be forgotten.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2000
This film is a real tear gerker. From the very beinging it has you in its story telling grip! Kathy is a bored and lonely housewife trying to sprose up her marriage. On a trip to the nursing home (to see a relative) she happens upon an old woman with a story to tell. The story she tells is one which will have you grabbing for the hankies to wipe away the tears. This powerful and moving film is a classic in its own righ and you should watch it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
The most beautiful film that I have ever seen. Top marks! Wish I could give it thrice as many stars. If you've never seen this movie before, please make sure that you do. It's definitely a 'must see'! It's about friendship, love and compassion. It does have it's sad moments, however, I feel that it ends on a hopeful note. All the laughs in between are worth everything. This stopped being a movie and became a work of art by the end. Loved every moment of it! Delivery was speedy and the DVD is in perfect condition. Thank you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)