Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more


on 5 January 2017
bought this for nostalgic purposes...watched a few episodes. I did enjoy it but couldn't watch the hole box set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 December 2010
Got these cartoons for a friend's birthday. He is a cartoon-a-holic and says these are excellent.
Even though He-Man is known around the world as being a huge cheese icon, and futuristic version of Prince Valiant these cartoons are still rather apealing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 March 2011
This box set takes me back to when I was my little boy's age and watching the best cartoon/ spin off figures in the 1980s. There is a huge volume of episodes on here, though slightly dated now, worth every penny of the special offer I purchased it for. Now my kids are enjoying them too and I even forgot there was a little moral at the end of every episode for them to take on board!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2010
I bought this as a fun Christmas gift for my 29 year old son. He thoroughly enjoyed a blast from the past and I thought it was great value with lots of episodes.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2010
I bought this dvd set to relive some of my youth watching these 80s cartoons and i have a load more thundercats, dungeons and dragons etc also showing my 8 yr old son what mummy used to watch lol Its been great and he loves them would recommend for any other 80s children out there!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 April 2012
HeMan is well superb so had to get the boxset alot as i love the series. Would say people who love the heman franchise and fan of the series to get it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2009
haven't seen this since i was a kid,it was as good as i remember looking forward to more old cartoons coming out on dvd
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 1 June 2016
This is the whole of Season 1 of "He-Man and the Masters of the Universe" from the 1980's - an animated classic! It contains 10 DVD's (with region 2 playability), and consists of 65 episodes.

This show, which ran from 1983 to 1985, is fantastic! But, perhaps, you had to be there - as a child of the 80's - to appreciate this cartoon. While the animation itself has stood the test of time, aspects of the storytelling (e.g. the moral epilogues) may appear dated to some viewers. As an adult, I can identify that this was a show of its time: with two super-powers at loggerheads, one considered an evil empire and the other as a bastion of freedom. And so the USSR vs the USA becomes Skeletor vs He-Man ... But, of course, as a child such global politics was beyond me!

This cartoon is all about fun, fantasy and action. The world of Eternia and its fantastic environments, coupled with the colourful and amazing characters, is so appealing that it easily captures the imagination. He-Man is a great super-hero, and Skeletor is such an enticing villain. The episodes of this show tend to focus on the battles between these enemies ... but there are plenty of other bad guys who try to give He-Man a challenge.

The show has no real continuity. Some episodes are poorer than others. But the best of this animated series is terrific. It defined the mid-1980's in terms of children's entertainment, and promoted a $billion toy industry ... the figures were the stuff of dreams!

I've recently re-visited this series, and watched all of these episodes. Today, I think they'll appeal to both the original fans (who are probably in their 40's) and to young kids (aged 4 to 8) ... There's still a lot of fun to be had with "Masters of the Universe".

Just to say, there is no Season 2 accompanying set (on region 2 DVD). Also, this item is quite pricy. There is a complete edition of the show (with all 130 episodes), for a much lower price - simply search on Amazon. It's a German release (but with English audio), and will play on British machines.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 November 2007
He-Man from the 80's is back and as mighty as ever holding his Sword aloft and calling out By The Power of Grayskull.

This show dominated the 80's for kids it mixed adventure and advice in a way kids found acceptable.

Each show had some sort of advice message at the end (As did She-Ra) He-Man gained a cult following throught the 80's and this set has some of the best I would say buy this now for your kids in will make one super gift and keep them transfixed for hours if not days. Ten DVD's I would recomend a break during disc 7, 8, and 9 as they seem to pack more on to them.

There are triple boxset out there but this is Season 1 Compelte all 62 shows and uncut like many where when originally broadcast in the UK.

Don't miss this chance your kids have been subjected to the sub-standard re-creation of He-Man it's time to show them the real He-Man and get the standard back up.

80's He-Man will help Chirstmas and New Year pass more smoothly and keep the kids busy of most of the days before school starts.

Even if you have the first two triple set I would recommend getting this but if you alreadly own all 9 volumes stick with them as you don't get anything else.

Good Chirstmas Buy
1111 Comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 June 2009
If you were a kid of the 80s like i was your TV experience is dominated by the likes of Tony Hart & Morph, Grange Hill, Dangermouse, Jigsaw... and Masters of the Universe!
It was one of those cartoons that seemed to run forever but strangely has never been repeated to this day and that's a shame, I haven't seen this since the 80s so buying this boxset thanks to an overwhelming blast of nostalgia (and thanks to Amazons cut price deal!) I was pleasantly surprised to find the memory did not cheat. From the moment the opening sequence starts up it all came flooding back and if this isn't one of the finest opening sequences for a cartoon ever it's bit of a crime, many modern toons just throw you straight into a confusing setup and premise and leave you to sink or swim but 'Masters' spells out the characters and setup right there in the opening and then gets into the action, it still feels feels remarkable vibrant.
The animation is reasonable though occasionally it does show its age, there is a sometimes uneven mix in the design that can clash as certain guest characters seem to have wandered in off a completely different toon!
But to this day the design of Castle Grayskull is still an amazing piece of work, incredibly sinister and ancient it looks like it could be a million years old, it seems almost as if the planet was absorbing it or vise-versa... it should be skeletors home by all rights yet ironically it is actually the base & focus of the forces of good! It's a simple but clever contrast.

At 10 discs it's way too long a commitment frankly and i only made it to disc four i think, each episode is roughly 20 or so minutes long though so the chances of a story outstaying its welcome is quite slim. There are a number of special features on each disc and i thought that was a very welcome and appreciated effort by the sets organisers as it really is rare to get anything with sets of this nature and vintage.
From character bios to animation storyboards there is a pleasing amount of information and input for the armchair fan. The format could however have been better for these as text is miniscule and the navigation (on disc 1 particularly) is near impossible, though perhaps it's my player to blame?
Each of the ten discs comes with TWO commentaries on select episodes from a pair of enthusiastic but interesting fans of the series who really do know too much about He-Man and the series than is healthy ;)
Some of what they're saying will lose you as it's too technical but they are very interesting to follow and add a welcome accesability to the series for newcomers.

In summary I can certainly reccomend. Heck I remember
Orko being seriously annoying but in this post Jar-Jar Binks era he's actually quite a smart & important character for the series!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here