Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
Brianstorm [10" VINYL]
Format: Vinyl|Change
Price:£16.82+ Free shipping

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 May 2015
The raucous rock'n'roll track 'Brianstorm' was the first single released from the Artic Monkeys' second album 'Favourite Worst Nightmare', and is one of the best songs on there. Very fast, full of energy, with smart lyrics and excellent vocal delivery from Alex Turner, and first class drumming from Matt Helders. This song raced to no.2 in the UK charts in 2007, and was also a hit the world over.

Now, I admit that I'm more than a little bit of a fan boy of these guys, and always buy the singles along with the albums, and it's worth it readers. Whereas some bands have B sides that are worth hearing maybe a few times over, these boys almost always have some real gems as theirs.

'If You Found This It's Probably Too Late' is a great slice of punk-rock, with an interesting and unexpected intro. 'Temptation Greets You Like Your Naughty Friend' is excellent, and my favourite song here, and the beautiful 'What If You Were Right The First Time?' is another stunner, with a delicious riff in the middle.

4 songs that grabbed me on first listen, 11 minutes of sheer pleasure, and another excellent single from the Arctic Monkeys. If you're an avid fan, you'll want to have 'Brianstorm' especially for the last two tracks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 April 2007
"You are the un-forecasted storm"

Did anybody really predict this?

Did anybody really expect the Arctic Monkeys to return with a single to stand up proud along with the likes of those on their debut album?

Really?

After they gained the biggest reputation a band has ever gained after the release of one album, they were under more pressure than they would have expected prior to the release of "Whatever...".

Could they handle that kind of pressure? Could any band handle that kind of pressure?

They handled it suspiciously well.

To say that "Brianstorm" is just a return to form would be like saying that Steven Gerrard's just a decent footballer.

It probably is just a very good song, not excellent, definitely not perfection, but what makes this treat even sweeter is the fact that it's the Arctic Monkeys, showing the world that they are one very special band, ready for anything.

The most pleasing element is the music that is played by the four-piece, not the vocals. Going at what seems like 1000BPM, the guitar pushes its way into the front and dominates the proceedings.

As for the vocals provided by Alex Turner, they are more laid back than previous material, more relaxed, but certainly not bone idle. "Top marks for not trying" are words that are spoken by the musician, but they're an antonym to how much the Arctic Monkeys have tried to top what they've already produced, to come out with a song that will hush all the critics who wanted them to slip up in the slippery puddle of stardom.

But they haven't failed, quite the opposite.

Expect to see the word "Brianstorm" in your Oxford Dictionaries come next year.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2007
This is worth it for "Temptation" alone. Why is it that other band's lyrics just pass me by, while the Arctics' words just grab me by the lapel and make me listen? When Dizzee Rascal pops up at the end of "Temptation" and lets rip over the oh-so-tight punk/funk rhythm, it just makes perfect sense... Absolutely brilliant.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2007
I must hold my hands up and confess, when I first heard this on the radio, I was disappointed, I thought the Monkey's had lost their touch, I was all but ready to sell my tickets to see them in Manchester in July. This wasn't up there with the classic first album, heck, it wasn't even up there with the recent single, Leave Before The Lights Come On.

I was wrong.

Upon a few listens, it's a great song. Typical Monkey's sound, and lyrics sharp as ever. It's not as instantly catchy and memorable as the likes of WHen The Sun Goes Down, but then, what is, it's a grower, and if the rest of the new album is this good we're all in for a treat!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
...is just about the only word that sums up 'Brianstorm'. The Arctic Monkeys are officially back, and don't we love it?

I think there was a serious amount of pressure on the follow up track, after the ground breaking debut album "Whatever people say I am..."(I know they released 'Leave before the lights...' subsequently, but you get my dift), but the lads have succeeded with style. I for one am please to see the Monkeys revert back to the sort of raucous rock'n'roll that they do best at. 'Brianstorm' is the perfect return for the perfect band.

As usual the lyrics are flawless, packed with satirical brilliance and the sort of lines that make them the band they are. "We can't take our eyes off the t-shirts and ties combination, well see you later innovater!" - GENIUS. It seems so simple, but it works so well. Every detail, down to the title is simply awesome!!

I cannot wait for the album, but 'Brianstorm' will more than do for the time being.

YES!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Great single from FWN. Took a while to come but well worth the wait. B sides by Arctic Monkeys are always a pleasure and this was no different!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2007
If you have the album buy this!!!!!!!!!!!

You must because one of the best songs yet, what if you were right the first time is on this.

Add to this the other two top songs and this is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2007
I heard this track a few days back and it rekindled my love for the monkeys! Their first album came out in January 2006 and it blew me away but a lot of time has passed since then. However, this single marks a stomping return for the band and it should be a favourite among many by the time it is released. The song has a brilliant structure and a really catchy guitar riff. Alex Turner's vocals are even better than before!

This is another great song by the Arctic Monkeys and the album won't be that bad either!

Buy this, you won't regret it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2007
yes the arctic monkeys are back and from what i herd oin this song there louder and faster than ever before

this is a brilliant son although im not sure it is up 2 the standard of the debut album but then again not alot is

in this song the vocals have been produced diffently in a way similar to the strokes album is this is

still a brillaint song so buy it u wont regret it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)