Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
10
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.23+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 April 2007
Sometimes you come to write about something, be it a CD or a book for example, and words fail you.

This is one of those occasions for me! An absolutely brillant album, buy it, listen to it, enjoy it! It's been a very long time since music like this was around. Gillan at their very best!

The second disc is humourous in places (music aside) and definitely for Gillan Fans Only, but to be honest, at this price, you would pay twice the price for disc one alone! Glory Road is THE Gillan album - if you don't buy any of the others, do yourself a favour and buy this one.

I've given five stars only because Amazon won't let me give it ten!
11 Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2007
I've been waiting a long, long tIme for this to become available on CD again having missed out on the CD issue first time around (which promptly disappeared soon after). This in my humble opinion is the Gillan to own - the Man's voice is in top form, brilliant guitar playing from Bernie Torme and not a dud song in sight! And it comes complete with the original For Gillan Fans Only album (plus 2 tracks). At this price an absolute steal! Treat yourself to some classic 80's Ian Gillan!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2010
the best gillan album by miles.they sound like they were having a riot of a time while recording it.amazing guitar from mr torme a very under-estimated axeman.well worth purchasing.in my case, i think this may be the third format i`ve bought this album in.still sounds good after all these years.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2017
Ian Gillan has one of the best voices in rock and in his early to mid career a pleasure to listen to. The Gillan Band were heavy and a little raw in there sound and attitude which for me was a change to the direction that a lot of rock bands were heading. Hearing Glory Road brought back some happy memories of a smoke filled Manchester Apollo in the early 80s with a hairy Ian Gillan singing like only he could and backed by a talented hard rocking band. Of course this is my opinion and I would always suggest listen to a sample where possible before buying and if you like this there are as good or better Ian Gillan albums out there. But please not the Ian Gillan Band [ please note the difference ] who were a dfferent band completely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2012
had album years ago, loaned it out to so called friend-he never returned it, the dirtbag. Anyhow now got it cd, good album,"unchain your brain" high tempo opener. Classics like "nervous","running white faced city boy","on the rocks" never disappoint. 4star marking due to disc not mastered sharp enough could of been a bit cleaner clarity wise.Nevertheless a good album ,good extras (for gillan fans only cd & factual booklet) well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
It' was one of the first hard-rock records I bought when I was young.
I'm glad I could find at Amazon this record on CD.
All the tracks put me back when I was young and I could remember every song.
So far as I know, It was the first solo-album of Ian Gillan afther the end of Deep Purple.
The songs are amazing, nice composed and demand your attention from the first guitar-stroke to the last.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2007
I can vividly remember playing the original vinyl version of this superb album and it encouraged me to buy many more of his excellent albums especially Clear Air Turbulance which has that rich Deep Purple influence melody to it.

Strangely enough this syle of music has a seventies feel to it but feels contemporary.

Until you listen to this highly accomplished album you willnot realise how good the songs and melodies are.Its a difficult album to describe but if you like Deep Purple with a folk ballad type heavy rock then you will understand how good the album is.

The track Glory Road is a superb one but prabably the song Gillan was remembered for was the commercial track New Orleans which was released as a single when vinyl was still King.

Of all Gillans albums this is his best and this is a double disc album with a lot more excellent songs.

I have not listened to any of my Gillan albums for many years but his voice is so distinctive you know instantly who it is and what a fine voice especially when he fronted Deep Purple.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
This CD along with Mr Universe is all you need to know about Ian Gillan.
Bought this to replace my original vinyl record.
"no easy way" and "on the rocks" are the stand -out tracks.
Well packaged product ordered via Rarewaves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
Went to see Gillan on this tour at the "Hammy Odeon" back in the day. I still have the LP but nothing to play it on.
This is a great Album, great to hear it again.
get it and "Unchain your Brain"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
Replaces the old vinyl copy in the attic - the studiop versions are slightly slower than the live maniac paced versions - good fun to hear this again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here