Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
58
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.21+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 February 2012
excellent dvd. my granddaughter aged 10 loves this. excellent value. shes watched it over and over again. will definetly buy more from amazon.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
Am a longtime Dr Who fan and David Tennant is one of my favourites. There's a lovely chemistry with Catherine Tate
and I thoroughly enjoyed the tongue-in-cheek humour.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2013
Good fun and the chemistry between Catherine Tate (Donna) and David Tennant (The Doctor) is great. I enjoyed Tate's all too brief incarnation as the Doctor's assistant, it was a refreshing change from the love struck Rose. The story is good and the giant Spider a scream!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2011
Well, I love nothing more than good old British Doctor Who, so of course I recommend this!!!
GET IT IF YOU LOVE CHRISTMAS WEDDINGS WITH CATHERINE TATE!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
It is a DVD no complex issues or problems at all. the episode itself is a good episode although I think donna's character would act a little differently after suddenly being plunged into a TARDIS on her wedding day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
I ordered this because I love me some Donna Noble and I hadn't yet ordered the season 3 box set. A few weeks later when I could afford it, I happily ordered the season 3 set only to find out this DVD was already included in it. Oops. Should have waited, as the box set only costs a little more than this special by itself.

The Runaway Bride is still a fantastic special though! Gotta love Donna, as well as a pained Doctor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 March 2007
In fact, now that I think about it, I can't remember ever seeing Catherine Tate not shouting. It's like all memory of an appearance by her, in anything, is overwritten with the indelible image of her hawking up a few lines, very loudly, from the back of her throat. Once or twice, it's annoying, but as the episode goes one, there's more shouting. And more. Until, by the end, you just want David Tennant to give her a little nudge, with his elbow, and watch her fall into that chasm full of spiders. However, as an episode of British TV, it has a couple of decent special effects: the TARDIS chasing a cab along a busy road doesn't look half bad. And Tennant is always worth watching. That said, this really is a cheeky release. One episode, and a bit of Extra filler, does not a decent DVD make. It will probably be in the Season 3 Box Set anyway...
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
Great story, getaway to the subsequent entry of Catherine Tate in the series (as Donna Noble). Particularly fun the special content on the great Doctor Who show (Music and Monsters) that was held in a Whesh theatre in 2006-7.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
I found this episode ok, but liked all the Rose Tyler references.
You get to see how the Doctor copes just after losing the woman he loved.

But sadly, the story was disappointing.
They used the santas from the 2005 Christmas special (which was way better) and Catherine Tate's character 'Donna' isn't very likeable at all in this episode!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2007
Firstly, I would like to point out that this volume is not called Series 3 Volume 1, but The Runaway Bride, cos that is the only episode on the disc. The actual Series 3 Volume 1 comes out on 7 May (containing Smith And Jones, The Shakespeare Code and the as-yet-untitled episode 3).

Basically, the Doctor (David Tennant) has just lost Rose and seconds after saying goodbye, Donna (Catherine Tate) shows up inside the Tardis, moments before she's about to get married. As the Doctor races to get Donna to the church on time, the Empress Of The Racnoss watches inside her spaceship. Why is Donna the key to an ancient plot to destroy the Earth? Can the Doctor get over losing Rose? And can he stop the Empress and her army of Robot Santas?

This will easily be a great DVD.

And, Amazon?

Make sure you change the title of this to Doctor Who: The Runaway Bride to avoid confusion.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse