Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
12
Grand National (U.S. Version)
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£7.36+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 March 2017
Another artist that I had not heard much about, but have now added to my collection of favourites. His style is very interesting, and one worthy of a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2007
I can't quite work this album out. In essence, it's similar to Sunrise Over Sea, with the same mix of rock/folk/blues/reggae. But for some reason it's nowhere near as good as that album.

This seems like John Butler Lite to me, even though it's overproduced compared to previous efforts. The faster songs lack energy, the slower numbers lack beauty. The vocal melodies and choruses are weak compared to SOS. Funky Tonight is probably the only track here that would have made it on to that album if it had been written then.

The long track, Gov Did Nothing, is forgettable and has none of the excitement of the longer stuff on Three, and some of the lyrics on other tracks are verging on the embarrassing - "beautiful woman, so sexy"!

It's not a bad album at all, and newcomers to JBT will probably like it, but unless you're into mainstream stuff then make sure you have the first three albums and the live ones, which are life-enhancing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 2007
This album is really great but, as most people have already said, is not a good follow-up to the amazing Sunrise Over Sea. If I heard this album BEFORE S.O.S. then there's no way that I would've got into the band as massively as I have! BUT, I did hear S.O.S first and I AM a massive fan of this band! I think JB is the greatest acoustic guitarist in the world and it is a travesty that he isn't more successful.
I think the reason that people aren't loving this album as much as Sunrise is that they aren't willing to allow JB to grow as a musician and human being. As he is a writer who unashamedly writes from personal experience you've GOT to accept that he's a much happier bunny than he was fiveish years ago. He's found success, a loving wife and TWO children! That kinda stuff is gonna make you focus on the smaller things in life instead of the BIG political issues.
I still love this album and, if you're a fan, you should love it too. If it is your first foray into the world of JB than, before leaving, you owe it to yourself to hear Sunrise Over Sea and then give Grand National a second chance!
Last note- all tracks here are improved LIVE and I really hope a live album (that is better than St Gallen!!!!) comes out sooooooooooooon!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 July 2014
Great cd and service
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2007
A great follow up to the fantastic Sunrise over Sea album. This outing is more produced without taking away from the rawness of their sound.

John Butler's guitar riffs strike a punch from your speakers.The band's musicianship and ability to get you dancing are captured brilliantly.

There is a mixture of influences from the reggae of Groovin' Slowly, acoustic folk of Losing You, a great political rock song Gov Did Nothin', and grunge flavoured Devil Running.

Buy this Cd, play it loud and dance!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 September 2007
John Butler is a great musician and this is another great album. He shows great reange and variety with funky and sexy songs (like Daniella, Funky Tonight, Groovin Slowly), softer songs (like Losing You), songs with very serious topics (Gov Did Nothing, Thou Shalt Not Steal, Fire In the Sky), folk songs with cool stories (Nowhere Man), songs with a didgeridoo (like Devil Running) and then the regular crowd pleasers (Better Than).

A 'Must Buy' - he has a lot to say on this album, it's unique, creative, fun to listen to - and they are GREAT live...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2014
Excellent album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2016
Enjoyable
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 April 2011
The CD arrived in good time, no damage to the disk, and was exactly what I'd ordered, however there was a crack in the CD case. I don't know if this is a mishap with the postage or with the seller, but it was very annoying as I'd ordered it as a gift.
Don't be put off buying it because I'd assume it was a one-time thing, but be warned!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 January 2013
Good Cd with all great songs!
Recommend this to everyone!
nice
cool
guitar owner
why
ten
more
words?
i just like it..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sunrise Over Sea
£7.81
Flesh & Blood
£12.34
April Uprising
£11.42
Three
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)