Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more



TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 June 2017
Prescient, prophetic or puerile pap? Mike Judge’s brilliant 2005 gross-out brutal satire is all three and more. I absolutely loved this movie. It’s not just a guilty pleasure. It’s an absolute pleasure. In his hilarious 1973 slapstick movie Sleeper after waking up from a cryogenically frozen sleep 200 years in the future Woody Allen’s health food shop owner come jazz musician discovers a United States ruled as a police state. When Luke Wilson’s military librarian wakes up 500 years in this future he finds the United States in a near comatose state due to the out-breeding of the intelligent and educated by the more indolent of the human species. Judge’s future nightmare imagines a world bereft of knowledge, knowing nothing about engineering, agriculture and medicine, limping by thanks to the automation of basic societal functions by more intelligent ancestors. It’s an apocalyptic vision of a world gone dumb that Jonathan Swift would be proud of, a fantastical dystopian future exaggerating the increasingly pervasive intrusion of advertising and commercialism into contemporary life, the dysevolution of the English language into a stunted hip-hop grunting patois and a derisory disdain of anyone suspected of possessing insightful observations. The plot is basic and nonsensical but contains some marvelous moments. The Basil Exposition time-travel monologue is priceless while the Fox newscast seems nauseatingly credible. The imagined conclusion to the existing direction of travel is disturbingly plausible – a celebrity president presiding over a country whose inhabitants crave instant gratification. Already a cult classic, this is definitely a film to seek out.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 May 2015
"Idiocracy" is a fairly entertaining movie about the ghastly dystopian future which might await if the "dumbing down" of society continues.

The premise, and Luke Wilson's acting as the major character, are brilliant, as are some of the parodies of trends in Western society (and US society in particular). However, this is basically a one-joke film which begins to struggle after a while and even at eighty minutes it was running out of steam well before the end.

When I watched this with my family my teenage son loved this, I quite liked it, my wife and teenage daughter found it rather disappointed and only stayed to see the conclusion because they were just interested enough to want to know how it ended. I think that is partly because the vision of a stupid society is partly presented as one which is designed, insofar as it is designed at all, to meet a parody of the interests of teenage boys.

Luke Wilson plays Joe Bauers, who is selected as the male subject for a US Army experiment because he is perfectly average - average IQ of 100, average blood pressure, etc. Maya Rudolph plays Rita, the female subject.

The experiment is a test of suspended animation: Joe and Rita are supposed to be put to sleep for a year. Unfortunately for reasons we need not describe to avoid a spoiler, they end up asleep for much longer than this. Meanwhile as intelligent people decide to bring one or two children into the world, or not to do so at all, stupid people are breeding like the proverbial rabbits and the pretext of the film is that consequently average intelligence collapses, so that when he wakes up Joe's IQ of 100 makes him far and away the most intelligent person in the world.

However, as Arthur C Clarke once said, "It is yet to be proven that intelligence has any survival value ..."

Overall the film makes a few good points about the dangers of undervaluing imagination, creativity and logic and in encouraging people to read and think. However, rather too much of the humour was slapstick and rather "dumbed down" itself.

Somewhere inside "Idiocracy" a much edgier, more scathing and brilliant film was trying to get out.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2016
I'm ashamed to say that I laughed quite a bit during this movie AND I was watching it by myself at the time. It is fundamentally stupid but as a 3-star "time killer/filler" it sure does the job. Nothing in the way of extras except for 5 deleted scenes.. the fourth of which (The Fart Museum) amused me.. yeah, in all my time on this earth I STILL reckon that farts are funny. Luke Wilson is a very likeable "everyman" kind of fellow and the chick who plays the hooker isn't your usual annoying American bint with attitude so I wasn't bugged by the lead characters for a change. This movie reminded me a little of those irreverent 1980s comedies like "Wacko", "Get Crazy", "Mortuary Academy", etc.. that is, I was expecting to see Paul Bartel and Mary Woronov pop up at any minute. Maybe sometime in the future I may watch it again... oh, it's about an army guy of average intelligence and a prostitute who are involved in a top secret government experiment and wake up 500 years into the future to a totally dumbed-down world of crass commercialism and moronic television programming. Sound familiar.??
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2015
I bought this based on the premise and some of the quotes I found on IMDB. The story was entertaining up to a point but the whole premise soon became unworkable for me.

Basically, the film depicts a future in which the world has "devolved" and everyone is incredibly stupid. Luke Wilson's character travels through time and arrives in this future as the smartest man on the planet. This is all good and well, except for the fact that the future still has a fully-functioning infrastructure. We see technically advanced machinery being operated by people who can barely count to ten. So, if people are too stupid to use the equipment, who is maintaining and/or building it?

Perhaps I missed the part where someone explains that robots handle the infrastructure. I assumed this but it eventually got to a point where the whole thing seemed too contrived.

Fun up to a point, but I eventually lost interest.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 June 2015
Idiocracy is very funny and great entertainment with a serious message. It could be seen as a parody of modern life in the developed and developing world of fast food nations, as well as a warning of what's round the corner if we don't start thinking for ourselves and taking responsibility.

This is not just a warning about mass intellectual decline, but about the way that a dumbed-down population could be putty in the hands of a totalitarian state of the kind that the "Average Joe" hero of the film wakes up in after having been cryogenically frozen for 500 years. A world where you get jailed for not having a barcode branded on your wrist and where gladiatorial combat is used as a form of punishment. This depressing message is put across not with deep, dark monologues, but with madcap fun and laughs.

The beginning of the film has been criticised because it appears to suggest that this dystopian scenario comes about because intelligent, middle class people from stable backgrounds are not having as many children as lower class dysfunctional families. I agree that this is a major flaw in the film - the story could have been put across in the same way without such a controversial opening episode which - no doubt unintentionally - appears to advocate eugenics. However the whole film revolves around exaggerated characters and situations, so I personally would advise not letting this one opening sequence ruin your enjoyment of the rest of Idiocracy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 September 2017
Love it. Saw it years ago & insisted friend saw it. Wasn't disappointed. Sadly it hasn't dated at all...in fact it seems more on the nail satirically then ever. The commentary at the Rehabilitation had all the flair of a Trump rally - same limited
vocabulary. Second time around time to notice minutiae in design. Love it. Should be compulsory at Primary schools...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 October 2016
A brilliant film outlining a scary future. Having been following the US elections recently I feel the story of this film is becoming more and more of a reality. I think people need to watch this so we can stop it from happening!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2017
Truth in plain sight - crop failure & famine, everyone tracked wherever they go, police state, UN run everything, major corporations own everything, society degraded & dumb just living an existence of crap tv, sex and rubbish food, garbage mountains, even the Mark of the Beast (tattoo on the forearm). Dressed up as comedy of course but for those with eyes to see, a picture of our future world.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 July 2011
Fox didn't distribute this film properly, that's the only reason more people haven't heard of it. Apparently Mike Judge included too many negative product placements - see if you can spot any ;-)
On the surface the central idea is "dumbing-down" - what will the future be like if people kept getting dumber? The answer - monster trucks, people wearing tracksuits, and out of town shopping centres the size of... whatever. Obviously that is like many places today, so this movie now has a premise to take the rise out of whatever it chooses. In a dumb future... they'd probably appoint a wrestler/porn star as president, because wrestling and porn are dumb. They'd talk in rapper slang because rapper slang is dumb. Then it gets political - they wouldn't be able to look after their garbage disposal, they would eat too much fast food, dumb stuff that we all do (occasionally).
So it's pretty good satire, and it's fun to spot "dumb" things in real life afterwards, like people who lower their cars to look cool, then get stuck on speed-bumps.

The movie is okay, a bit cheap-looking in the effects department, but it suits the cut-price lowest-common denominator future. Luke WIlson pulls some good "aghast" faces as the only man with 100 IQ and the jokes are funny.

It isn't really likely that the human race are getting dumber, but I think we are accepting less responsibility for our actions - this is really what the movie is about, so, make sure you turn off Jackass, have salad for dinner and put your rubbish in the recycling otherwise...
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
Sometimes a bit heavy handed but a lot of laughs and something to say too. Some have criticised it for blaming the poor for the dumbing down of our society but I don't think that's fair. The film is just commenting on reality even if it does fail to latch onto the causes behind that reality. Anyhow, there aren't many comedies that also raise genuine issues. See it yourself to discuss or just have a laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here