Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
111
4.3 out of 5 stars
Size: F/S|Change
Price:£8.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2012
There's nothing exceptional about this, but it's almost the cheapest one I could find (once you add in P+P, which is very high for some of the others on here), and it's solid enough. It comes without instructions, but look up 'Ab Wheel' on YouTube and you can find some good demonstration videos (the one by cassiusclaynyc is particularly good, as it tells you how to avoid hurting your back doing this exercise).

This wheel comes in 3 pieces (wheel, handle+grip, other grip) which assemble extremely easily, and it feels fairly solid with my weight on it (70kg). If you're a lot heavier you might want to look for one of the ones with double-thickness wheels, as this one might wobble a bit, but generally I think this one would be okay for anyone who isn't seriously overweight.

Doing the exercise feels a bit silly, but at least that makes it fun, and when performed correctly as per the videos on YouTube you can definitely feel it in your abs. This item won't make you fit overnight, and remember that your abs won't show up unless you get your body-fat percentage low enough, but at the price this is a good addition to your range of exercises and it will help with core strength if not necessarily with visual appearance.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2015
Perfect for working the core. The narrow width of the wheel helps increase the use of obliques due to it being unstable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2017
Simple but effective exercise wheel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 June 2011
In regards to the reviewer who said this product is unstable - yes, it is. That is part of the point. Using something naturally unstable, i.e. a roller with a single wheel puts considerably more stress on your abs, and engages far more muscles in order to keep you balanced. This is a very good thing! In much the same way as doing free weights in the gym will give you a much better workout, and engage a great deal more tiny stabiliser muscles than opposed to using a machine, with only one possible plane of motion - so this roller will hit your entire core much harder than using a roller with more wheels to keep you balanced.

This is a very challenging exercise to do, even for those who are reasonably fit, so take things slow, as always, and build up over time. Starting on your knees is obviously the way to go, to do a full extension and return from your toes will require some super-human conditioning!

This roller isn't made to last very long, but it does the job well, and doesn't cost the earth.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
My advice would be that if you haven't used an exercise wheel before then take your time and get used to it. I've used a wheel for years and the York is just the latest in a long line. It's nice and strong but lightweight and does the job. Just don't try to do too many at the beginning. Once you're used to it though it's great for your core muscles.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2009
I purchased this item to use in conjunction with a sports trampoline - not at the same time!! - I find it extremely effective for tightening my ab muscles - I have only used it for 3 weeks & wouldn't be without it - such a simple piece of equipment but very very good - do mind though if you have back problems although I have minor back problems & I've been fine - I would recommend using the ab wheel kneeling on the floor not standing up as this would put too much pressure on a back that had problems - enjoy your ab-wheels
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
This Ab Wheel is fantastic for those who wish to develop their core strength and abdominal muscles in the gym, at home or whilst away from both! It is light-weight and is easy to collapse into two parts for easy transport.
As stated in several other reviews this is not a piece of equipment that should be launched straight into; basics should be applied first to ensure good strength and balance of all the muscle involved. Simple exercises like "The Plank" can do this before you progress onto the wheel.
If your body is ready for this then you can't go far wrong - great product, great price!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2008
This is an excellent product if used properly, if you were new to a gym you wouldn't jump straight onto the heavy weights. its the same with this. You should start on you knees with a small motion and then progress.
If used properly it is a wonderful excercise which gives great results. As always talk to your doctor before using.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2008
This wheel is very unstable especially if like me you're on the heavy side, so the two wheeled versions of the ab wheel are much safer to use. Ensure that you round your back and keep your abs tight when rolling out to do the full exercise otherwise you're going to experience some back pain. If you are untrained, very heavy or have a weak core this exercise is going to be difficult, so you can start out by doing the ab wheel roll out on your knees and work up to going on your feet.
44 Comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2009
You want a more challinging workout for your ABS, this wheel will give you a hard time but great ABS. 100% Recommended.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)