Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
34
3.9 out of 5 stars
The Best Of The Ruth Rendell Mysteries [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£23.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon 25 September 2017
Having run out of "Midsummer Murders" and the Adam Dalgliesh series, we turned to Wexford. Its my own fault for not reading the reviews that I didn't realise that very few of the stories in this collection are Wexford ones. In fact the whole set is very entertaining and its nice to see some of today's big stars at the start of their careers. However, the big drawback is that there are no subtitles.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2017
Great wish there were more
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2014
We have had Rendell-periods, as well as Frost-seasons and Poirot-times.
A Rendell Mystery is sure to be entertaining, and not completely braindead.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2017
Nice to see again. Well made, deep, intriguing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2009
9 Discs, 17 programmes, and ALL thought provoking, absorbing stories. In truth I bought this set just for the 3 Inspector Wexford shows as we enjoy these, as we do Morse, Frost etc. However, some of the other stories are NOT 'police' related and have come to us as outstanding finds. You may need to stay focussed, not leaving the room to make a 'cuppa' during the shows as the camera direction, editing etc (a 'look' here, a sigh there) give additional clues or aspects to the stories. Brilliant casting, acting, camera work and scripts!
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2007
Unfortunately, of the 17 episodes presented in this boxed set, only three are "Wexford Mysteries" starring George Baker :- Simisola, Road Rage and Harm Done.

The other episodes contained in the set are:-

Master of the Moor, You Can't Be Too Careful, Vanity Dies Hard, The Orchard Walls, The Fallen Curtain, The Sacred House of Death, A Case of Coincidence, The Double, A Dark Blue Perfume, Bribery and Corruption, May and June, Front Seat, Going Wrong, and Lake of Darkness.
55 Comments| 160 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
It did not contain the episodes I required
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Set of DVD's, Rendell mystery stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 February 2008
Disc 1: Master of the Moor; You Can't Be Too Careful
Disc 2: Vanity Dies Hard; The Orchard Walls
Disc 3: Simisola; The Fallen Curtain
Disc 4: The Secret House of Death; A Case of Coincidence
Disc 5: The Double; A Dark Blue Perfume; Bribery and Corruption
Disc 6: May and June; Front Seat
Disc 7: Going Wrong
Disc 8: Road Rage
Disc 9: Lake of Darkness; Harm Done
11 Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
This Ruth Rendell collection is a real mixed bag with a surprising variety of stories, both in the quality of the tale and with the level of acting. In the poorest examples, some of the acting was 'wooden' with story lines that were hard to take seriously. In complete contrast, some stories were good with acting to match and in this category, I would mention in particular 'Vanity Dies Hard' with a fine cameo from Leslie Phillips; 'The Secret House of Death' in which Amanda Redman was particularly good; 'May and June' with Phoebe Nicholls giving a convincing lead; 'A Dark Blue Perfume' with Susannah York and David Ryall both excellent; and 'Harm Done' in which Clare Holman (best known for 'Lewis')is very good indeed in spite of the fact that she is not even mentioned on the DVD sleeve. In the same story, I recognised a talented young man, Nick Robinson, who was so good in 'Goodnight Mister Tom' and although this is a much smaller role, he still gave a good performance. This collection is worth buying for the really good stuff on it, and as for the rest, I leave you to judge for yourself.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)