Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars


VINE VOICEon 22 April 2009
The sheer amount of music on this mega 5 CD compliation will please even the most discerning 80s music fan. Tracks such as 'Hey You - The Rocksteady Crew' are most welcome as I haven't seen that particular single available on any other CD set. There are a few duds, but they don't really detract from a great CD - it's well worth the investment and perfect for your iPod.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2017
Was a great CD back to my going out days was a blast
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 April 2007
Containing so many songs, this is without doubt a very good value buy. If you loved the 80's then there are sure to be a plethora of your particular favourites here. The only snag for me with this collection being that, as a big 80's fan, I have most of these tracks multiple times over on other compilations. It's a pity there are no minor 80's hits on this collection to 'freshen up the tried and tested tracks and evoke memories of the era once again' either. I'm sure a lot of people out there would love a decent compilation like this that also included some rather less obvious selections by some of the acts to give them something really special to buy this for. Stuff like 'Space Age Lovesong' by A Flock Of Seagulls or 'Europe After The Rain' by John Foxx are not unobtainable on CD but never seem to crop up on these kind of compilations. Seeing as an 80's no 40 hit probably out sold a noughties number one, a lot of the tracks that didn't hit the top ten in those days were still extremely popular and it would be nice to have them in amongst the obvious stuff once in a while. This said I'm sure a lot of people will be over the moon with this collection and I must admit it is difficult to ever tire of hearing such classics as 'Vienna' by Ultravox, 'Ashes To Ashes' by Bowie and era defining records like 'Baggy Trousers' by Madness...aaahhh those nutty boys eh?
22 Comments| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 26 May 2008
In terms for value, with 101 tracks, this five CD boxset deserves the full five stars without a doubt, but I am rating it a four simply because of the lack of variety, most of the songs from this electric musical decade here are out-and-out pop, and very little of any other genre. If you're looking for a massive collection of pop tunes though, by all means buy this.

Personal favourites of mine that I spread around these discs are Queen's 'I Want to Break Free' (these men always seem to be chosen to open up a compilation that they are featured on), 'Only You' by Yazoo, T'Pau's beautiful 'China in Your Head', Morrissey's depressing but soothing masterpiece 'Everyday Is Like Sunday', 'Rio' by Duran Duran, and Baltimora's infectious hit 'Tarzan Boy'.

Lots of memories will be awoken once your start working your way through this huge collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
First of all it has to be said that `101 Hits of the Eighties' is outstanding value for money. You get 101 tracks, across 5 discs at what is usually a very low price, not too bad at all. Considering the songs and artists included you soon realise how good this pack is, Spandau Ballet, Duran Duran, Culture Club, Erasure, The Waterboys, Yazoo, Queen, Huey Lewis and the News, Madness, Blondie, David Bowie...the list goes on and on. Some compilations I've bought in the past have included lots of tracks that aren't that well known and from minor labels, but this selection includes all the songs you remember from the era and from major labels as well. There is something about 80's music that has a feel good factor about it and when I played this at work recently all my colleagues kept saying `I LOVE this song', or `wow, I used to play this all the time' or things like that. You can't beat this type of music for that nostalgic hit. For me the first disc is the best with some great songs on it and it is the disc I play the most, but hidden away on the other discs are some other real gems. Whilst you may not like every single track on these discs, it is a sure bet you will enjoy the vast majority. This is great to put on at a party and everyone will be singing along in no time and if you want that quick pick-me-up then put this on and see how quick it lifts your spirits. All in all if you are looking for an eighties compilation then check this out and put in on a very short short-list, highly recommended.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2007
Although I have a lot of 80s albums and records, this one has a lot I do not own and compared to a lot of other 80s compilations there were plenty of different records for me to add to my archive. I particulary liked the 2 tone selection and despite some of the obvious cringe records... Kylie, Limahl, Kjagoogoo, this album represented good value for money. If you do not own any 80s music this will be a good start!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2007
If you loved 80's music this is a must for your collection it is the best 80's compilation that i own. Out of 101 tracks there are about 2 i don't like.

Finally someone somewhere has put together a fantastic compilation album with songs that everybody will know and love. What more can i say about A++++++
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2010
As far as compilation albums go specific to decades or genres, not everyone will agree that the track list is perfect. I'm sure there are plenty of other great 80s hits that could have made this album in place of the lesser known songs and make it even better, but also a good mix between the pop songs, a few rock songs and other songs that were really only around at the time in this case is a strong mix. This is easily one of the best 80s compilation albums out there.

The first disc is full of songs everyone will know; opening with "I Want To Break Free", "Heaven Is A Place On Earth" and "Walking On Sunshine" sets the 80s mood straight away, along with classic acts of the decade such as Spandau Ballet, Duran Duran and Ultravox to follow. After the first disc, it dies down a little, with the odd chart-topper here and there, but is still riddled with 80s classics such as "Our House" by Madness, "Ghost Town" by The Specials and "Karma Chameleon" by Culture Club and is simply great value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
A very good compilation from 2007 it features 101 classic songs from the 80s as obvious by the the title 101 80s Hits. It features classics such as... Queen (I Want To Break Free [Album Version]), Belinda Carlisle (Heaven Is A Place On Earth), Yazoo (Don't Go), Ultravox (Vienna), OMD (Enola Gay), Blondie (The Tide Is High), Inner City (Good Life), Ashford & Simpson (Solid), UB40 ( Red Red Wine), Kajagoogoo (Too Shy) and other classics, but also has some rarities such as... The Vapors (Turning Japanese), Maria Vidal (Body Rock), Sydney Youngblood (If Only I Could), Culture Club (The Church of he Poison Mind) and Dusty Springfield (Nothing Has Been Proved). A MUST HAVE for 80s lovers (like me!!!)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
for all of us out there going back to our youth will love this cd some a bit cheesy but that is what will happen in all eras great for the 80s parties and reliving all those memories!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

101 80s Hits
£5.00
101 70s Hits
£4.96
100 Hits: 80s
£17.13

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)