Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
22
Contact
Format: Audio CD|Change

on 15 March 2008
After listening to the first Thirteen Senses album i always wondered how their second would compare. Middle of the road as a lot are, fade into obscurity?...

The answer is no, the second album is every bit as good as, if not better than the first. Whether you are a fan of soft rock, melodic pop or simple chill out songs this album is for you. Each song is ripe with emotion and a dark, chilling soul waiting to be let out. Soft rock fans will enjoy the similarities to Coldplay though with a better vocal presence and all should enjoy the simple yet well-layered rhythms of the music as a whole.

How this band can have stayed under the radar for so long is a mystery as less talented bands have risen and fallen around them. Anyone thinking of buying this album should do so with no worries about any kind of let down at all. A 5-star album all around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 January 2007
I often wondered how the lads from Cornwall would follow up on their brilliant debut, 'The Invitation'. Well just in case any anybody is in doubt about whether they could or not, I can say they most certainly have and with some style. 'Contact' sees the band evolve, however still maintaining that unmistakable sound and vocals which is now their trademark. Every track is well written and executed and gets better with each listen. It is a great shame that this band have lived in the shadow of bands such as Coldplay and Keane. While they might share the same badge, they are quite unique in their approach and writing, worthy of much bigger things. A great second CD, highly recommended.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 May 2007
BUY IT NOW. If you just heard about this band and you are a fan of Britpop such as Coldplay,Keane,Travis,Embrace or Snow Patrol. This is not just a band who follow the footstep of above list, they have very much of their own fanstastic talent (much more than some bands i've mentioned). After you've purchased and loved it then please go forward to their 1st album 'the invitation'.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 May 2007
I was impressed by Thirteen Senses first album, but there follow up is superb! They have gone for a completely different sound with their new album. Some tracks to listen out for are All The Love In Your Hands, which is the most up beat song on the album, it's one of those songs you have to have loud to appreciate it to it's full extent. The drums are awsome. Opening track aswell, is so different to what you usually hear from the band. For me though the stand out track on the album is "Follow Me" an absoloute master peice, you have to listen to it!

Buy this album, it was truly worth the wait!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 April 2007
I've been a fan of the band ever since I bought an early copy of 'The Invitation'. An outstanding album which was always going to be difficult to top. However, they have done it with the amazing 'Contact'. I heard a few of the new tracks at The Luminaire in London late last year and knew the album would be something special. More power, more passion but un-mistakably TS. This will hopefully give the band the recognition they deserve. I cannot pick-out an outstanding track because this album needs to be listened in its entirety. Every one a stand-out track. Completely awesome.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 April 2007
I loved their first album and saw them play a great live gig. This second album is everything I'd hoped it would be and they deserve to make a bigger and better impression in the charts with it this time around. I really do hope this album sells well and the guys in this band get the positive recognision they warrant. If you own their first album or if you don't I thoroughly recommend you buy this one!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2011
If you liked early Keane you will LOVE this, Thirteen senses are amazing.. please please just buy it,you won't be disappointed. A fantastic cd, some top top tunes...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 March 2007
We saw them at the Oxford Zodiac last Thrusday where they played a lot of the new songs from this album, which were in our minds some of the best songs we've heard in a long while (circa Oasis when they started out). Follow me and spirals are excellent, as is contact. I'd love to see these guys get propelled into the big-time by this album, if you haven't heard any of theier stuff then pop over to 'utube' and have a listen, then order this and The Invitation. Many people have said that they are the new snow patrol which is about right but Thirteen Senses have much more energy and are a lot fresher. Try and see them live too!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 March 2007
There is such a degree of beauty in this record, that words cannot explain it or do it justice. I am in love with every aspect of this album, including, but not limited to, the following: The quality of the unforgettable melodies; the idea of raising the guitars in the mix; the intelligence from all who conceived this masterpiece in utilizing common sense for each note played on the album; the grace and innocence of the vocals; the production; did I mention THE MELODIES that will endure for generations to come?! - Please reward yourself and those you love with a few copies of this album. If you get a chance to either see the band in concert at a club or to meet the band, do so quickly because I'm predicting that Coldplay will be opening for Thirteen Senses in the not-so-distant-future. On a serious note, this really is grace, beauty, and quality. I am not going to review each track individually because it is one of those rare albums that is great from start to finish. Run to buy this NOW and enjoy!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2007
Thirteen Senses who? is the standard reaction i get from people who simply can't understand why i was so excited to get this album. Its everything i had hoped it would be, sharp, emotionally charged, great lyrics and AMAZING sound. Simply amazing, the best band in the world GET IT NOW!!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Customers also viewed these items

The Invitation
£5.97

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)