Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Learn more

Strange House
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 April 2018
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 August 2015
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2013
Now THIS is what I call music! Alt-rock with a sense of humour if it has to be categorised. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 January 2015
Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2017
Why has it taken me so long to hear this album! ?Have I been in a coma? Grrrr for wasted time! It's brilliant! Do you remember the Scottish band, Scars? Did you love their Horror Show single, and wish they'd done a few more in the same vein before they slightly altered course? Author Author is still good,so buy that if you haven't got it already...Then this album by The Horrors ( wonder if that name is connected in some way to Horror Show!?) will really please you... It sounds to me just like early Scars, the way they'd have continued if they'd stayed on the Fast label. There are also hints of Gang of Four,too,and Psychedelic Furs at times. It's a phenomenal album, and has been on repeat for ages. Amazing song structure and production and execution... Buy it right now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 February 2008
this is a fantastic album.
after the first listen you may dissmiss it as a gothic mess, but after a couple of listens and closer inspection of the lyrics you'll find that even the most fickle indie or pop purists will find somethind appealing in the cackling guitars or stabbed organ.

a great fun album.

not genius, but if you thought it would be you're looking at the wrong band altogther
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2007
I always think that people are over generous with the star rating they give albums on this site! The Horrors album 'strange house' is by no means a classic! What it is however is 12 tracks of 60's garage psych, with a bit of Cramps and Birthday party thrown in for good measure. By no means oringal in its sound, what the horrors do offer however is a break from the everyday Indie band that's around now. It shows allot of b*llocks for a groups of young lads, which in its self deserves respect!
As far as the stand out tracks on the album go, they are 'Count in Fives' an obvious tribute to the 60's band Count Five. 'Gloves' possibly one of the best tracks of the year, a guitar riff that will cure a hangover and amazing Hammond organ by Spider! Excellent Choice (a tribute to the gift by velvet underground) and Death at the Chapel, which is possible as good as Gloves! It does contain a few duffers, the instrumental 'a train roars' is obviously to make up album time and 'thunderclaps' is a bit of filler!
The rest of the album grows you with every listen, tracks such as 'Sheeha is a parasite' She is the new thing' 'Little Victories', are t obviously stand out tracks, but the more you listen the more you'll realise that the lads are a talented group.
If you know your 60's garage bands, you'll know the horrors have been a bit check in ripping off a few obscure tracks!! The Horrors have got allot of potential, 'Strange House' could be the start of something good, or just another flash in the pan. If you wanna know what music played at 100 miles an hour, rammed full of Hammond organ, thunderous riffs and bizarre lyrics sounds like when played by a load of rich kids of Southend.... buy it... its good! If you like this try the 80's Matchbox and Black Wire!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 November 2010
this is a great debut album. reminds me of the gloomy batcave period even if I must say that batcave bands could barely play a note: instead of these five gorgeous, gothic and very talented british boys who have written and played a bunch of scratchy, intense and angry gothic-psychobilly classics, put on a record which is a stunning jewel, and they're still on the road, better than ever. hope that their future records will always sound so marvellous (primary colours is already a masterpiece)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 May 2009
So what if they are taking the piss with the black clothes, dyed hair and all that? I bought this album and listened to about 3 songs before putting it in a draw for about a year, like many people will have done, because it sounded really emo-ish to me. About 6 months ago I started listening to it properly, and now Count In Fives and Thunderclaps are two of my favourite songs. A first brilliant album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 March 2007
Dirty rotten speed addled pop tones that need a different vocal style to make them as truly great as the 60's garage pysche bands they look up to. I bought this the second day after it's release after much deliberation. It's definately a kick in the teeth to all things safe and indie these days - bloc party dullards and all that - and the music does sound good, all nerve shredding psychotic guitar and organ, rumbling bass and manic drumming but then the singer pops up and does his thing all over it. Live I can imagine it makes more sense whereas on record you long for a cooler yet still reckless voice like Jeffrey Lee Pierce of the Gun Club or like Nick Cave. Really grates after a while and I had unwanted images of the Damned popping up. As a debut album from a much hyped fashionista band (the seeds sown at Southends very own Junk club where you could spot many a pretentious fashion victim prancing like a self conscious thing) it's not half bad and I was expecting it to be a lot worse. Count In Fives appears to be the best track as well as the slower She Is The New Thing. Good sounds on A Train Roars and nice nod to VU's The Gift on Excellent Choice. There's a lull towards the end what with the too long Gil Sleeping (he must've been as someone forgot to halt it just after the 2 min mark)and goth by numbers Thunderclaps. It'll be interesting to see where they go from here - cult obscurity or bigger things.

Damn shame it came out the same day as the far superior Grinderman album. Well past middle aged men showing the skinny boys how it should be done. You gotta be more sexy and primal with your scuzzy grooves!

6 out of 10.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

V
£7.99
Skying
£7.99
Luminous
£7.99
The Horrors
£12.50

Need customer service? Click here