Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
23
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£11.53+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 November 2010
this is a great debut album. reminds me of the gloomy batcave period even if I must say that batcave bands could barely play a note: instead of these five gorgeous, gothic and very talented british boys who have written and played a bunch of scratchy, intense and angry gothic-psychobilly classics, put on a record which is a stunning jewel, and they're still on the road, better than ever. hope that their future records will always sound so marvellous (primary colours is already a masterpiece)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2009
So what if they are taking the piss with the black clothes, dyed hair and all that? I bought this album and listened to about 3 songs before putting it in a draw for about a year, like many people will have done, because it sounded really emo-ish to me. About 6 months ago I started listening to it properly, and now Count In Fives and Thunderclaps are two of my favourite songs. A first brilliant album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2007
It is easy to simply trust the musical press when they wheel out their latest style-before-substance punch and judy show.

The NME, who for so long have been propping up talentless bands by pretending that their bad music is good because they have "wacky" haircuts and trendy jeans, claimed that The Horrors will shock and surprise with their great array of tunes and reckless abandon.

Now dont get me wrong. I love wacky haircuts and trendy jeans and reckless abandon is right up my street! Yes-sir! But the sad truth of the matter is that they actually sound like this:

They have a Vox organ with the bass knocked out and a rotating speaker. This is employed in every song so they sound "spooky". Wooo-o0o0o0o0o!

The guitar parts are so simple they are mind numbing and the track melodies so unispiring they could have been written, quite literally, by someone who was picking up a guitar for the very first time. These are, naturally, played through so much distortion the chord changes are barely legible, because that makes them sound tough. Grrrrrrr! Danger!!!

The singer. Oh jeepers creepers, the singer. Despite being a contrived art school mannequin, he seems to believe that rather than actually sing it would be better to let the bottom half of his jaw dangle in the wind while screaming everything in an affected, off-kilter throat wobble like an hysterically bereaved Robert Smith while looking very much like he breathes through his mouth on a permanent basis.

This is, in a way, a revolution; if by revolution you mean something that comes around and around and around ad nauseum. the only good thing is that they will soon revolve off again.

Ok, so they have a "look". So? Is it just me, or did the people with that "look" get bullied at you sixth form college for being miserable whiners who were wasting their perfectly comfortable and good start in life?
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
Now THIS is what I call music! Alt-rock with a sense of humour if it has to be categorised. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2007
I always think that people are over generous with the star rating they give albums on this site! The Horrors album 'strange house' is by no means a classic! What it is however is 12 tracks of 60's garage psych, with a bit of Cramps and Birthday party thrown in for good measure. By no means oringal in its sound, what the horrors do offer however is a break from the everyday Indie band that's around now. It shows allot of b*llocks for a groups of young lads, which in its self deserves respect!
As far as the stand out tracks on the album go, they are 'Count in Fives' an obvious tribute to the 60's band Count Five. 'Gloves' possibly one of the best tracks of the year, a guitar riff that will cure a hangover and amazing Hammond organ by Spider! Excellent Choice (a tribute to the gift by velvet underground) and Death at the Chapel, which is possible as good as Gloves! It does contain a few duffers, the instrumental 'a train roars' is obviously to make up album time and 'thunderclaps' is a bit of filler!
The rest of the album grows you with every listen, tracks such as 'Sheeha is a parasite' She is the new thing' 'Little Victories', are t obviously stand out tracks, but the more you listen the more you'll realise that the lads are a talented group.
If you know your 60's garage bands, you'll know the horrors have been a bit check in ripping off a few obscure tracks!! The Horrors have got allot of potential, 'Strange House' could be the start of something good, or just another flash in the pan. If you wanna know what music played at 100 miles an hour, rammed full of Hammond organ, thunderous riffs and bizarre lyrics sounds like when played by a load of rich kids of Southend.... buy it... its good! If you like this try the 80's Matchbox and Black Wire!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2010
This is a great record. Music this wonderful is hard to find these days. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2015
Fantastic!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2007
I wanted to like this i really did. But its boring and down right dull. Trying too hard to be scary. The whole image and everything is manufactured. Check out some of the talent mentioned in the other reviews!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2007
poor poor album. Havnt given 1 star before but this is tame boring stuff. As stated in the press a much inferior rip off of the great Eighties Matchbox B-line Disaster. Thumbs down!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Perfect
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.77
£11.08

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)