Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
9
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£24.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
The first season can be seen to follow the story in some degree to the British version. But in the second season the characters become much more real and you forget or cant compare the two. i loved it as i did all the seasons 1-5. While it can be a bit contrived at times and the acting sometimes a bit poor it starts to cover all the issues that gay people have and that is its power i fully recommend it and all the others esp if you've been trying to get hold of a decent gay movie to watch without cringing and dying of boredom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
if u like the first season youll love this its a great series with a great cast and i love it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
Excellent item =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2014
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2009
The title says all I need to, I guess. It's great, especially with the German dubbing:)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 August 2011
Season Two of the US adaptation of the ground-breaking Channel4 show "Queer as Folk" takes this brilliant show to a whole new level, moving on from the adaptation of the British storylines and focusing on plot and character development, resulting in a highly addictive and utterly brilliant season.

The US version is bigger, bolder and sexier, the sex scenes are more graphic, the storylines more carefully written and played out. Not one of the actors on this show does a bad job- not even the more slapstick characters such as Debbie are badly played, as it would be easy to do. The result is brilliance within television- this show breaks boundaries and is a highly addictive show.

The season focuses more on the characters as individuals- Michael is developed excellently in this season with a more central role and with storylines more thought provoking, Mel and Lindsay and their lives as same-sex parents is wonderful to watch, and Emmett's character becomes less stereotyped in this season and becomes a force of his own- some truly excellent moments and his character as a result becomes a firm favourite of mine.

Some say the show is too "in your face" but I think it does a favour to the gay community by doing so, and I feel like this programme finally makes some realistic connections to the gay community- in particular without being too politically correct, which is refreshing to view- most gay characters seen within soaps and various long-running television dramas, although carried out well and with good intentions, seem a bit too prescriptive and necessary. This show doesn't try to do things right- it just gets on with it, which is completely the right things to do.

I have completely fallen in love with the US adaptation of this show- and this season has taken this love to a whole new level- I completely and utterly recommend this box set without reserve- it makes for wonderful, touching and funny viewing, with characters who are impossible not to love.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2010
I find that this series is a great way to escape from my everyday life. The characters over the series have become almost friends. Highly recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2007
Having seen the first series accidently on E4 late at nite, Took the leep and got this on import and is well worth the money!!!!

As the season progresses the characters get more complex and all the acting is spot on, Especially Sharon Gless and her extensive offencive t-shirts (worth it just for them)Not only is it funny but also inparts emotional and touching, So lets all dance the night to the fast and furious neverending "thump-a-thump-a"
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse