Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

  • Epica
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16
Epica
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 March 2003
Epica, Kamelot's latest album, may also arguably be their best one. While it does not outshine the brilliance of The Fourth Legacy nor Karma, it certainly continues the distinct sound forward on to this new album.
The album starts off with a characteristic Kamelot instrumental, although this beginning (Prologue) isn't as musical as those from their last two albums and indeed sets the dark tone that the album is to follow. The next track, however, is undoubtedly the best of the album and leads straight from the prologue. "Center of the Universe" is a melodic metal masterpiece ranking with the likes of Kamelot's "Wings of Despair", "Forever" and "The Fourth Legacy".
The rest of the tracks, however, are a little different, perhaps being a blend of "Nights of Arabia" and "The Spell" style of music, a mystical atmosphere being created by the album, which is a very flowing, very fluid continuing piece of music that leaves you hooked from the offset.
The most exciting part of this album, perhaps, is the fact that it is a concept album telling one whole story through the lyrical genius of Khan/Youngblood partnership. It is based on Goethe's Frost and follows the story of Ariel, someone who is searching for the ultimate answers in life. The songs each tell a part of the story, which turns out to be quite tragic, Ariel being lured by the devil (Mephisto) to sign away his soul, and then prompting his former love, Helena, to commit suicide.
This amazing album tells a story through Kamelot's unique style of music and also grips you in anticipation for their next concept album which will conclude the tale. If anyone is a fan of Kamelot, get this album. If anyone is a fan of Faust, get this album. If anyone is a fan of metal, get this album. If anyone can empathise with a fallen hero who has been betrayed by that which he believes can help him, get this album.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 August 2017
another fantastic album by an awesome band.another added to my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 July 2017
just good music,like always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 August 2008
In terms of production, arrangement and structure this is a most impressive album. The most impressive part for me is Kahn's absolutely amazing singing voice. He is not a traditional metal singer, he sounds almost like a Broadway musical singer, an excellent one too, and his words are very clear.

The style of the music is very flamboyant and emotional. The musicianship is absolutely top-notch and combined with the vocals has some real goosebump moments.

The album kicks off with a 'Prologue' which is an instrumental with strange vocal noises and a ticking Grandfather clock. It is a warm up which flows seamlessly into 'Centre of the Universe' in the best progressive tradition. Centre of the Universe is symphonic and upbeat and one of the heavier songs on the album. It has some nice extras, such as nice flute and piano parts.

My favourite part of the album is the Gregorian style chanting of 'Interlude one' and the way it flows seemlessly from the chanting into strong riffs of 'The Edge of Paradise'.

The album uses four interlude songs with good affect to give a Progressive feel to the arrangement of the album. The interludes alway form interesting little intros for the next song and they always flow seemlessly into the following song.

'Wander' is a slower paced track which really shows Kahn's magnificent vocal range. The piano and violin accompaniment fits the vocals perfectly.

Another high point (there are too many for a short review) is 'Helena's Theme'. It starts with tweeting birds and then some beautiful female vocals take over which is accompanied by swirling violins and crashing cymbals. The track wouldn't sound out of place in a Tim Burton film. The track is very short and I like the the use of Interlude IV to move back into the heavier riffs of 'The Mouring After'.

So who would I recommend this to.... well a friend and not an enemy for a start. But anyone that appreciates fantastic musicians, operatic vocals and lots of 'hidden extras', such as pianos, flutes and orchestral production.

If you like Progressive Metal, Power Metal, Symphonic Metal, Goth or even classical Broadway stuff (i.e. Phantom of the Opera) this is well worth a flutter.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 May 2007
Ahhh Kamelot, where do I start? These Floridian power masters are yet to release a bad album, and Epica counts as one of their best.

Based on Goethe's "Faust", this album depicts the first half of the story in which the main character (Ariel) leaves all he knew and sells his soul to Mephisto, and the consequences that ensue. Musically, this album is very well made and well produced, with the foreshadowings of their symphonic and progressive touches that would later reach their full potential on "The Black Halo" The album starts well with the memorable "Center of the Universe" and moves onto the solid-sounding "Farewell" as well as other great tracks such as "The Edge of Paradise" and "Descent of the Archangel". A particular highlight for me is "Lost and Damned", using an unusual keyboard part and spectacular rhythm and melodies. One should purchase this along with "The Black Halo" not only because they form two halves of the story but also because they go so damn well together. However, this album gets a 4* from me as "The Black Halo" is even more amazing in comparison.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 January 2003
This is my first review, but if I was to start my reviewing with any album, then this one would be a perfect choice. Epica, Kamelot's latest album, may also arguably be their best one. While it does not outshine the brilliance of The Fourth Legacy nor Karma, it certainly continues the distinct sound forward on to this new album.
The album starts off with a characteristic Kamelot instrumental, although this beginning (Prologue) isn't as musical as those from their last two albums and indeed sets the dark tone that the album is to follow. The next track, however, is undoubtedly the best of the album and leads straight from the prologue. "Center of the Universe" is a melodic metal masterpiece ranking with the likes of Kamelot's "Wings of Despair", "Forever" and "The Fourth Legacy".
The rest of the tracks, however, are a little different, perhaps being a blend of "Nights of Arabia" and "The Spell" style of music, a mystical atmosphere being created by the album, which is a very flowing, very fluid continuing piece of music that leaves you hooked from the offset.
The most exciting part of this album, perhaps, is the fact that it is a concept album telling one whole story through the lyrical genius of Khan/Youngblood partnership. It is based on Goethe's Frost and follows the story of Ariel, someone who is searching for the ultimate answers in life. The songs each tell a part of the story, which turns out to be quite tragic, Ariel being lured by the devil (Mephisto) to sign away his soul, and then prompting his former love, Helena, to commit suicide.
This amazing album tells a story through Kamelot's unique style of music and also grips you in anticipation for their next concept album which will conclude the tale. If anyone is a fan of Kamelot, get this album. If anyone is a fan of Faust, get this album. If anyone is a fan of metal, get this album. If anyone can empathise with a fallen hero who has been betrayed by that which he believes can help him, get this album.
LIMITED EDITION: The limited edition album contains a bonus track titled "Snow" which is quite good, but not as good as the rest of the album, it's worth getting because it's quite moving. In addition to this, the limited edition comes with a Kamelot tattoo transfer (which can be used to enter the kamelot.com competition) and it also includes a visually stunning multimedia presentation that "takes inside Castle Kamelot" and contains the very essence of Kamelot and it's music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2007
Kamelot are fast becoming my favourite band in the power-metal genre. All their albums are great but Epica has been getting most of my time recently. I honestly don't think there's a bad track on this album. If you are a particular fan of the soaring, epic, orchestral sound you will not be disappointed.

As I've said on other reviews this music should be heard by a much wider audience - essentially it's classic rock for the 2000's. If you are a fan of Genesis or Marillion you will find this very accessible and come away moved and satisfied.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2004
This album has recieved high acclaim from many of the best metal reviewers. Well i'm no expert and i only recently got into Kamelot but after hearing a few songs i bought this album and it is truly fantastic. Its so refreshing to hear this kind of gothic sound without the appaling vocals that plagues most modern metal bands. If you like any of Kamelot's songs then you'll probably like this. Truly worth of the title - this album is epic.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2004
This album has recieved high acclaim from many of the best metal reviewers. Well i'm no expert and i only recently got into Kamelot but after hearing a few songs i bought this album and it is truly fantastic. Its so refreshing to hear this kind of gothic sound without the appaling vocals that plagues most modern metal bands. If you like any of Kamelot's songs then you'll probably like this. Truly worthy of the title - this album is epic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2004
This album has recieved high acclaim from many of the best metal reviewers. Well i'm no expert and i only recently got into Kamelot but after hearing a few songs i bought this album and it is truly fantastic. Its so refreshing to hear this kind of gothic sound without the appaling vocals that plagues most modern metal bands. If you like any of Kamelot's songs then you'll probably like this. Truly worthy of the title - this album is epic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)