Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
28
4.6 out of 5 stars
Brahms: Ein Deutsches Requiem
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 15 January 2013
I first heard a track from this particular recording on Classic FM, and it took me ages to track it down. The Berlin Phil and Simon Rattle make this an absolute must have recording of the German Requiem to have in your collection. It's certainly my favourite.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2017
Excellent version. Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 March 2007
I'm not sure I've ever heard the Deutsches Requiem sound more Brahmsian. That may seem an odd remark, but many recordings make of it a sui generis piece, living in a funerary world of its own. But I hear in this performance from Rattle and the Berliners direct lines into the symphonies and the concertos that I'm seldom so conscious of with other performers. It's there in the melodic and rhythmic phrasing, in the orchestral textures, especially of the woodwind, and in the integration of choir and orchestra.

Like his recent Schubert Great C Major, this is in many ways an old fashioned performance. Tempi are broader than we get from more `authentic' modernists like John Eliot Gardiner, Roger Norrington and the like, textures are richer and warmer, it comes through as an altogether grander work. Brahms determined to write a very untraditional Requiem, not just in his choice of texts but in his focus on the bereaved who are left behind rather than the traditional prayers for the dead themselves. It was, after all, written soon after his mother's death and the central movement, `Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit', is a tender and moving memorial to her. Rattle reflects this humanity in his performance: it is perhaps the most humanist German Requiem since Kempe's wonderful performance with the same orchestra.

I don't want to leave the impression that this is an over-sombre, stodgy performance, though. Far from it. Those moments when the clouds clear and the sun comes out and the music starts to stir with life, movement and liveliness suit Rattle's ability to lift and energise a rhythm well. The fourth movement becomes almost a lilting waltz at times, a heavenly dance if you like. The big fugal passages with their strong undertow of typical Brahmsian pedal points have great energy and thrust. Even the imposing, deliberate tread of the `Alles Fleisch' funeral march always retains focus and purpose.

The performers are an impressive lot. The orchestra again shows itself to be in the very front rank, investing textures with colour and shape, phrasing solos with individuality while remaining consistent with the whole. The choir are exceptional: this is glorious, wonderfully disciplined choral singing. Roschmann is an ideally tender soprano soloist in that central, consolatory movement. Quastoff is eloquent as always, but do I detect just the first signs of wear and tear in the voice creeping in? Is there just a tad more spread to the tone when it's put under pressure than there used to be? It is nevertheless a fine performance. Perhaps neither soloist quite lives up to the perfect ethereal beauty of Grummer or the drama of Fischer-Dieskau on the Kempe recording, but they are certainly good enough to see off most of their modern rivals.

As a performance, the Kempe remains something very special. Among modern recordings, this new one is up there with the very best. Gardiner is worth exploring for a refreshingly brisker cleaner view: but for a more traditional take on the work this new Berlin performance is well worth hearing.
0Comment| 73 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Rattle is going back to a very classical ideal in this recording, it's reminding me of the Klemperer recording. In times where the "authentic" sound is the aim in many recordings, this is not aiming for that. Here is a classical balance and a natural flow.

Rundfunkchor Berlin is singing with an outstanding perfection where every syllable is heard. Berliner Philharmoniker is the perfect orchestra for this with it's classical heritage.
Among the soloists I would like to mention Quasthoff, his voice is carrying the message right to the heart.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2012
A truly uplifting recording of one of Brahms' most outstanding compositions. A proper requiem for the comfort of the bereaved, and Rattle does it justice with a terrific ensemble underpinned by some great recording engineering. If you only ever buy one recording of this, this is worth serious consideration.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
Exactly what it says on the tin
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2013
I bought this version after reading lots of reviews. It is a work I love and have sung a number of times. This performance really does the work justice and brings out the profound emotions of the work, both in the quiet sensitive passages and in the powerful climaxes. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 6 November 2009
I was prepared to like this Brahms Requiem but have to part company with the previous Amazon.uk reviewer: "stodgy" is exactly what this version is. It never manages to progress beyond an over-reverential, all-purpose melancholy which fails to acknowledge those moments when Brahms' quiet, dignified expression of grief is transfigured by a grand and noble determination to outface and rise above the debilitating effects of loss. At times the music must pick up and surge forward and I found myself yelling "Get on with it!" when Rattle doggedly sticks to a plodding jog-trot, particularly in the triumphant anthem following the outburst "Aber, des Herrn Wort" and in the great fugue in the penultimate movement. Orchestra and choir are as good as you might expect from Berlin but they are undermined by Rattle's timid literalism, and the soloists are just plain disappointing compared with more illustrious predecessors. I don't know what has happened to the normally impressive Thomas Quasthoff, but here he is definitely either out of sorts or his voice is beginning to evince disturbing signs of premature wear: the vibrato is too wide, production rocky and his tone sometimes blares. Just compare him with José van Dam in Karajan's 1983 account - actually, there is no comparison; van Dam is infinitely more alluring, more moving - and more subtle. Similarly, Dorothea Röschmann's pleasant, slightly thin voice pales into insignificance against the pure, soaring, angelic sopranos of Gundula Janowitz or Barbara Hendricks. There is not enough light and shade in this performance and it remains stubbornly earthbound; for the real deal in great sound seek out any of Karajan's three accounts, particularly that 1983 recording with the Vienna forces in superb form.
1212 Comments| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2014
There's been an unfortunate tendency in recent years to pull Brahms back into the puritanical vacuum of original-instrument 'authenticity'. This does Brahms no favours (as it happens it does Bach no favours either, but I guess that's for another time). What we have here is Brahms as if he were contemporary with Wagner rather than the Witch-finder General. Which he was. Big contrasts, a tendency to blend orchestra and voices in more than a hint of unending melos rather than quasi-symmetrical answering phrases, and a final movement (Selig sind die Toten) which sounds exactly as it should - a prefiguring of the contrapuntal chromatics of Parsifal. Simon Rattle's mid-noughties Brahms symphony cycle with the BPO for EMI was really good; this is even better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2014
Unless you live in the Age of Pericles, Zeitgeist sucks. What does it mean in our current age? Don't exclude anyone - not even Joe Dirt. Keep everything visible and within reach. Don't scare the bejesus out of anyone. Payloads must be immediate and transportable. Spirit is elusive so promote well-being in lieu of it. All the world needs is more education. Virtue is necessarily greater than vice.

These genetically modified chickens come home to roost in Rattle's German Requiem with the Berlin Philharmonic. How nice it is.

Comb though his discography - there's little evidence to suggest that Rattle is a metaphysician. The Divine Comedy, for instance, does not grace his Bruckner. However much of an agnostic Brahms was - and how masterfully tentative he is in Opus 45 - he nevertheless operates in a dynamic where there's a wager on God. I find no recognition of it here in this sleek, leave-your-soul-at-the-door performance. Worse still, scant regard is paid to the Grim Reaper. Oh Death, where is thy sting? It ain't here. Remove the surface gloss of Denn alles Fleisch, es ist wie Gras" and there's no baseline menace. As performed like this, "Ihr habt nun Traurigkeit" - could almost feature as one of the more serious arias from La Finta Giardiniera whereas "Denn wir haben hie keine bleibende Statt" is as scary as the Tooth Fairy.

Of what avail then, are two soloists of distinction?

Attribute part of the failure to the Berlin Philharmonic. A key component of its Klang of yesteryear was the ability to play with tension, ferocity and fearfulness. Its current timbre - how metrosexual it is - precludes metaphysics. Moreover, herein is further evidence of a descent from Karajan to Abbado to Rattle. Compare The Karajan Official Remastered Edition - Choral Music 1972-1976 with Brahms: Ein Deutsches Requiem (A German Requiem),Op.45 and the performance in question. The bigger drop, fear-wise, in the second movement occurs between the first two conductors with the second baton change perpetuating the former.

If you want to be entertained and soothed, purchase this version. If you seek consolation as a mere gnat in the scheme of things, look elsewhere.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)