Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
27
3.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£18.00+ £1.26 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 March 2007
It has to be said there was too much expectation around this album. But who got the first album the first time they heard it back in the day? It was way ahead of its time back then as is most of iggy's output. OK so the production is a bit ropy but the more you listen to it you find it does actually work and each time it sounds better. Go on give it another try. 'critics aint gonna like this.' Well i do and i dont really care!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2007
I guess i'm just like every other Stooges fan, i couldn't believe it when they reformed and i nearly collapsed when i heard they were recording a new album. Funhouse is without doubt the greatest rock and roll album in the world ever, and like every other fan, i was hoping and praying that this might come close. i was waiting for Iggy and the boys to show the world how it was done.

Okay, so on first listen i coul;dn't believe what i was hearing. The word dull springs to mind, and the production job seems a real hatchet job. The mix is so bad (so Albini) that Mike Watt's bass can hardly be heard. Scotts drums are the major instrument, and Ron's guitar has a habit of washing in and out, a far cry from the minimal, lean sound of yore. And then there's the songs. 1st impressions, not up to scratch. What were we expecting? i don't know, just...more than this. A groove, perhaps. A sense of menace.

But there is an up side. Play this disc in your car at FULL volume and it begins to make sense. Play it so loud that it hurts and Mr Albini doesn't seem to have done such a bad job. Try forgetting about Funhouse and Raw Power et all and judge it on its own terms, as a modern rock album by a bunch of 60 year olds and by christ it rocks. There's some very good stuff on here, it just won't be changing anyones life the way the first three did.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2008
This is an ace CD - The Stooges are back with their own style of guitar sound and I love it. OK, it's not Fun House! Who cares if the lyrics are stupid - it's not that type of album. Turn up the volume and enjoy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2007
I've read all the bad reviews but as someone who's been a disciple for 35 years I think they're wide of the mark. The Ashetons have never sounded better, Iggy's lyrics are just as dumb as when he was 21, the songs rock, the production is good and the music has a live feel. My one criticsm is that Steve Mackay doesn't get to blow on many songs. Its not slick, its not groundbreaking (thousands of bands have been influenced by the Stooges) but its streets ahead of anything else in its genre. The Stooges remain the real deal and the product shows they are growing old disgracefully. Great
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2008
I anticipated this CD with trepidation!!! Don't know what i expected but it's Brutal, it's Dumb to a fault, brilliant stuff. No one could expect the Stooges to sound like they did 30 odd years ago. I've got older,so have they, the world has too. we've all learned new tricks and it's a great album for today. Worthy of the name - Shame it takes old hands to make decent records these days!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2007
To be fair, I mostly agree with Andrew J. Stevenson's review (apart from the number of stars, right). But tell me what other band could reform 34 (I mean, THIRTY-FOUR !!!!) years after its last effort and still find the guts to give it a go. Well, these dudes have, and, in the case of being THAT Iggy Pop and THOSE Asheton Brothers, that's something.

Ok, "The Weirdness" is no "Fun House", nor it is a "Raw Power" Vol.2. But then again, what is ? Nirvana's "Nevermind" ? Well crafted pop songs with volume turned to 11. The White Stripes' "Elephant" ? A white blues tribute to guitar heroes. The Clash's "London Calling" ? A more than fine effort from a (brilliant nevertheless) bunch of American music fans who turn out to be punk's success story all by themselves. Let alone "Never Mind The Bollocks", "Exile On Main St." and (yes) even "Revolver".

Just for tracks like "My Idea Of Fun", "She Took My Money" or "The End Of Christianity", this output is well worth the wait (which is about my age, by the way). So Ok, this release won't change anyone's life the way the first three Stooges LPs did. But I just wish that most current interesting bands (Arcade Fire, TV On The Radio, Little Barrie or The Kills to name a few) could grow up THAT good.

To be honest, I don't believe it at all.

"The Weirdness" is a big slap in the face of formated rock music and a tiny reminder of a spirit gone, bashed by merchandising and customer policies.

Once again, STOOGES FOREVER.

Peace.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
The new Stooges "The Weirdness" album is a real blast. Whilst no classic like the first 3 albums, this is mainly due to age and in particular Iggy's voice which is more a rasp than the young street walking cheetah of yore. Lets face it guys sixty can never be as sexy as twenty except in the mind of the perpetuator in question. However from the opening "Trollin'" to the closer "I'm Fried" this is a surprisingly good. The Asheton brothers sound fantastic, stuck in a time warp of 1973, with great tone and riffs perfectly fitting Iggy's voice and lyrics.....they sound like young men not men fast approaching the pensioner years. The songs are real good, full of dumb lyrics, more cosmopolitan than before, and bring a real smile to the face. "Mexican Guy" especially springs to mind. Even the weaker tracks which are reminiscent of Iggy's solo stuff benefit from the Asheton's touch.....these Detroit guys are perfectly in tune with each other. The sax of Steve Mackay on a few songs also helps lift this album from numbskill metal into free from art jazz territory. The track listing, with nods to all 3 of the original Stooges albums is almost a true follow up to Raw Power, some of it even reminds me of Raw Power or the MC5 albeit with the Ron Asheton sound. Other reference points are the Black Flag tribute album that Henry Rollins released a few years ago and on which Iggy guested, and of course the Sex Pistols particularly in the bass department. I also like Steve Albini's production. Great stuff!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2009
Quite simply the worst album I've ever heard. I wasn't necessarily looking for another great album from these guys. They did, after all, record the holy trinity of pre-punk albums back in the sixties and seventies, but with that in mind you'd expect, if nothing else, something that rocked. This doesn't. The music in uninspired, and whilst unoriginal isn't necessarily a concern, it's painfully formulaic, and that is a concern. No member of the band really offers anything that becomes their musical status, boring guitar and drum work, ordinary sax that may as well not be there, crappy lyrics offered in an unconvincing and uninspiring monotone, and the whole thing helmed by Steve Albini, who should know better, but doesn't, it seems.

I feel justified in saying it's the worst album I've ever heard, because I've never felt such intense dislike for an album recorded in a genre I love by musicians I respect. There are albums in other genres I have no time for, but this offers absolutely nothing. There is nothing new in it worth hearing, and there's nothing in it that's not new that hasn't been done better somewhere else before.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2007
Just buy it , its a million times better than ANYTHING around at present.

Just good old feelgood high energy( 60 years old????) bluesy rock. What more do you want , look at the other CACK is out there , i mean get real . We have to get rid of the other talentless tosh that says its ROCK, so buy this instead OK MAN.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2009
Having been a huge fan of Iggy Pop and The Stooges for over 35 years, I had high hopes of this album, although it was unlikely to ever be as good as their first 3 albums and Metallic KO.

Although it is not as bad as some reviewers have suggested, I really can't justify giving it more than 3 stars, when comparing it to their earlier work, or I would be doing prospective purchasers a disservice.

The reason it lacks the instant appeal of their earlier work is twofold; firstly, because it lacks ambition and tries to recreate the past and secondly, Steve Albini's production job, which is not his best work.

However, it's still worthwhile and compares favourably to many comtemporary albums, but there is a lack of memorable guitar riffs and Iggy's lyrics are unimaginative and repetitive.

I couldn't help feeling that this could have been a much better album, if it had been produced by a more creative producer like Rick Rubin (rejected on grounds of cost and Iggy's impatience about his availability), Brian Eno, or John Cale, to name but a few alternatives.

Albini is first and foremost an engineer, but he is not an ideas man and it shows here, with most tracks being overpowered by Scott Asheton's drums, to the detriment of Ron Asheton's fretwork. Iggy's voice also sounds uncharacteristically thin and strained at times, yet concerts of the same period and later show his voice has lost little of it's power.

If you want to know how good the reformed Stooges are, check out Telluric Chaos, which is a simply fantastic live set and highly recommended.

Although the return of James Williamson, following Ron Asheton's premature death, is potentially good news, I do hope Iggy entrusts him with the production on any future Stooges studio albums, as this record hasn't done their reputation any favours.

The vinyl issue of this title includes 4 additional tracks, all of which are superior to those on this CD (although only the first of these is available on the CD import) O Sole Mio (an original, not the old song), Claustrophobia, I Wanna Be Your Man (Stones' cover version) and Sounds of Leather.

Let us hope that a remaster with James Wiliamson in charge will unlock the potential of this album and include the missing tracks, whose exclusion from the CD is bizarre.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£10.14
£5.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)