Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Pre-order now Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2007
This is a superb live album, recorded in San Quentin prison in front of an enthusiastic crowd of criminal inmates (now that's what you call a tough crowd !!).The songs are just brilliant & Cash's banter is almost worth the price of the CD itself.
Johnny Cash plays the crowd like he plays the guitar, one minute whipping them into a near frenzy with songs like the fantastic title track , the next calming them down with some reflective melodies.
I only fairly recently bought the two Johnny Cash "prison" albums , on the strength of having seen his performance of this particular concert on TV - unfortunately, I didn't know this edition of "At San Quentin", complete with DVD, was available (that'll teach me to look more carefully !). The film footage of this concert was excellent, the concert itself is bookended / interspersed by documentary style shots of the prison & its inmates.
Despite already owning this CD,I'm going to see if Santa can get me another copy, complete with DVD !
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
Delighed with DVD and CD indeed most anything to do with this legendary artist. The DVD gives an insight of the prisoners and prison officers views of what this prison is like. It demonstrates the feelings and influence Cash had on the inmates on that particular visit and the atmosphere is captured totally. I enjoyed in particular his performance on the two harmonica's on the song " Orange Blossom Special ". Also the performace of " A Boy Named Sue. " His stage presence is remarkable throughout this archive film also his rapport with the inmates during this live a prison performance. For anyone with a genuine interest in Johnny Cash this is an absolute must have.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2007
This superb and comprehensive edition contains quite number of unreleased performances by
Carl Perkins, Statler Brothers, Carter Sister and also by Man in Black,
and is ultimate release of legendary concert,even without amazing DVD.
Desing and package are top notch.
Audio cd's have very good sound and 3 great solo performances by Perkins (outstanding instrumental 'Outside looking in')
and Statler Brothers with 'Flowers on the wall' and ' Less of me' done great job too,
but Carter Sisters don't sound so good as expected on their solo parts.
If they were nervous because of the audience, wonder!
There are also several unreleased songs by Johnny,
like 'Blistered' or 'Long Black Veil/Give My Love To Rose' medley etc.
This event is represented in chronological order on cd's for the first time.
DVD is absolutely amazing, with Johnny Cash perfomances mixed with prisoner/guard interviews,
you can see expresions of craze & admiration on inmates faces during his performance.
This is not classic concert dvd but original documentary 51 minutes long, as shown on British television,
and is represented here in mono sound and grainy picture,
i guess for 'authentic feel'.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
Anything by Johnny Cash will get a five star rating from me.This is the British t.v documentary about one of the legendary San Quentin prison concerts.The c.d is good but dont expect the dvd to be a concert.It cuts between some great footage of Cash on stage and interviews with the inmates and guards talking about the daily drudge of prison life and in some cases what they did to put them there in the first place.The footage of the prison and the people make this more than just a sing along,this is a slice of social history.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Absolutely brilliant and I was so glad to get hold of a copy of the tv footage from when I was a kid, I loved it then and still do today over 40 years down the line. I can't believe the price I paid as it its a complete bargain.
I still have the Vinyl of the San Quentin album so I can now listen to it up the motorway in the car....Brill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2015
This CD is by that late great country singer Johnny Cash and his late wife June Carter, it is mainly from a concert they put on at Folsom Prison in America, they did a lot of concerts together his musik was very popular up to his death, he was known as the man in black.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
The CD has been a favourite of mine for many years, never entirely enjoyable due to the situation of why the prisoners were locked up, but all the same a triumph of hope over dispair.
The DVD is new to me and it's made a big impact, it's powerful in an understated way, which does not deny the crimes committed, but seeks the human value of the inmates whatever their crimes.
I know of no other artist than Cash who could go into such a place and provide dignity and hope where often fear and hate reigned.
This is a valuable insight into how San Quentin operated at that time, I wonder how much has changed?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2015
This is without doubt a corker of a album! Johnny Cash at his best, singing to a crowd of prisoners at San Quentin. Not only can you hear it, with the extra DVD you can see it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This is a fabulous product by one of the greatest singer/songwriters of all time. Time and time again his music captured the mood of the people and has made him very popular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2015
Great CD and DVD of the San Quentin concert in 1969, DVD has too much footage talking to prison guards and too little of Johnny Cash and June Carter entertaining prisioners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)