Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
78
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 June 2014
Reigion locked and dont work. wasted money and had to rebuy the same thing just in a standard dvd format
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
On opening the delivery I thought this looks fake, as writing is in English and another language. Then realise once playing it's locked to Region A, so need a multi region player to watch. No extras and no menus, just plays straight away. Seems like this is a fake copy as no official UK or US blu ray has been released. So have just ordered the 2 disc DVD which I would recommend for the special features and two versions of the movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 December 2011
Remakes are never given an easy ride full stop. Remakes of classics are critically doomed before they're even filmed. And prequels to remakes of classics... well, most people wouldn't even go there.

Like it or not, the ultimate shock film of the 1970s aka the Texas Chainsaw Massacre was remade in 2003. And, believe it or not, it did pretty well - to my knowledge, ranking it alongside the 2004 remake of Dawn of the Dead as pretty much the only two good horror remakes ever worth watching. Therefore, a sequel was drawn up, only, if you watched the 2003 version, you probably knew that a sequel was going to be tricky (death of major characters and all that). Therefore, step forward the prequel...

Full marks to the makers for keeping it in the same vein as the 2003 version - they might as well have been filmed at the same time. The story kicks off a few years ago and interweaves two brothers and their girlfriends, travelling through Texas, with the family from hell and how they came to be that way. There's plenty of chainsaw-related gore and if follows the same formula pretty closely. Men all over the world will be sad to hear that - of course - Jessica Biel isn't in the lead role, but Jordana Brewster does her best to fill Jessica's shoes as she runs, bloadsoaked, from Leatherface.

It was never going to be a masterpiece, but it's a good addition to the (modern) Texas Chainsaw myth. The four unfortunate teenagers play their roles as well as any chainsaw-fodder can (and thankfully they don't do too many stupid mistakes which make you WANT them to end up skewered by a rotating blade), Leatherface is still pretty creepy, but, in my opinion R. Lee Ermey steals every scene as the psychotic Patriarch of the family. I wonder how many people have taken him up on an invite to dinner since he made this film?

Unpleasant and disturbing (as it should be).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
This prequel is a well thought-out addition to the TCM 'family'. To help you decide whether my opinion is relevant to your own tastes this is where I stand on the other TCM movies: I am a great fan of the original TCM (one of my favourite horror movies); I thought the sequels were rubbish but I enjoyed the remake.

The movie helps give a context to the TCM by explaining Leatherface's youth and how the Hewitt family evolved into the freaks we were introduced to in the seventies. The script flows well with a good mix of uncomfortable brutality and black humour that we associate with the best of the franchise - look out for the scene with the ladies drinking tea and discussing cakes - trust me, its not as serene as it sounds! Unlike many modern horrors the main characters are likeable and not at all annoying; the acting is of a decent standard.

One of the main strengths of the original movie was its ability to include lots of gore and brutality without loss of suspense (a rare feat in horror movies); this movie comes close to emulating this and you will no doubt find your fists clenched as you yell warnings at the tv and every so often you will need to remind yourself to breathe.

Buy this movie, watch it late, watch it alone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
I'm a fan of horror films, and had it down on my list of 'ones to watch', it certainly didn't dissapoint!

I watched it alone,in the dark and from the first minute it drew me in,
this film had plenty of moments where you didn't want to watch but you find yourself watching it and it had me shouting at the TV, due to some of the characters being a bit to caring towards there friends!! ¬_¬

Overall I rate this film 5*, although im not usually one for 'torture' this one actually had a story and excitment in it, It's worth the money!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
It is an amazing horror, I watched it with my dad who usualy lauths at the chessy jump scenes in most common horrors, but not a grin was broken. You can take it very seriously and I cant wait to watch it again with my girlfreind :)
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2008
THE MOVIE

THE TEXAS CHAINSAW MASSACRE: THE BEGINNING is far superior to 2003 remake. My personal favorite in the series as it doesn't hold back.
R. Lee Ermey is the highlight in this picture, giving a brilliant performance as Sheriff Hoyt.
Director Jonathan Liebesman, doing a far better job than his predecessor Marcus Nispel, did well in maintaining the remake's style and color scheme. It does feel like these two movies belong together that way. Unlike the rather tame remake, the prequel packs a punch and this sure is no R rated teen movie.
TCM: THE BEGINNING does not reinvent the wheel, it pretty much offers the same as the previous TCM movies (a group of teens get trapped at a Texas farmhouse and are sawed down one by one).
Andrew Bryniarski (Leatherface) is the best Leatherface since Gunnar Hanson (sorry can't beat the original Leatherface!), displaying physical presence and raw brutality. Also fantastic: Jordana Brewster.
The Canadian Blu-ray contains the uncut, unrated version of the film (region A locked), the US Blu-ray from Warner Bros. only contains the censored R-rated print!
4.5 OUT OF 5.0 STARS.

THE BLU-RAY

Reviewed version: 2010 Alliance Films Canadian Blu-ray
Feature running time: 96 mins. (uncut)
Rating: Unrated (MPAA) / 18 (BBFC)
Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 / 16:9
Audio: English DTS 5.1, English 5.1, French 5.1
Subtitles: NONE
Chapters: 16 (no menu)
Extras: Unrated version
Region: A (locked)

Picture quality: A
Audio quality: A
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 April 2007
If you reading this then you obviously have a good idea of what the film is about. As far as horror films go, this one is a treat.

The film is sold as being "an origin story" but it is really just another excuse to see who can come up with the most twisted and disturbing way of killing someone. This film scores highly on that front, especially with one of the characters death towards the end, which is as sick as anything I have seen on film before.

The film is shot in the same way as the chainsaw remake a couple of years ago in a very stylish fashion. There are lots of long sweeping shots which give the film a sense of scale. It looks fantastic and once the action moves to "that" house the atmosphere becomes very chilling and claustrophobic.

The film is a must see for horror fans. Whilst not exactly re-inventing the wheel, it does take a fresh look at a very old character. This film does exactly what it was intended to do, provide numerous scares, all soaked in a copious amount of blood and gore.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
Big fan of the texas chainsaw massacre films and loved the remake, great performance from legendary R. Lee Ermey as the evil Sheriff Hoyt. The film explains very well of the texas chainsaw origins and shows more of an insight to the story. bloody, gory and truly terrifying, the way a slasher film should be...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2007
I loved the remake though it couldnt touch the original and this prequel does it justice as Tobe Hooper shared some involvment in the making, the back story is creepy and Leatherface hasnt lost the edge. This is a great installment to the series. Now lets hope New Line churns out the rumored Elm Street Prequel or The Elm Street Murders.
11 Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)