Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2017
Teen likes this game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
gift
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2014
This game is all about doing little tasks. Primarily hauling unconcious soliders half way across the level to you truck so you can build up an army. You will do this over and over again. Other tasks include sneaking into a base to get...some antibiotics.

Also the game lacks speech. Not a true Metal Gear game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2011
OK lets start with the 4 main things you look for in a game:
1. Graphics- about average for a psp game, good.
2. Story- As it is part of the Metal Gear Solid storyline you would expect it to be amazing, clever, a few jokes, but very serious and cool. It will not dissapoint. It is based 2nd in the overall story and is more gripping than I expected. If you are one of these people like me, who had played MGS4 and things going to this is a step down it is not as you will see when you purchase this.
3.Gameplay and controls- Good, it is fun to go around capturing people and building your own army, and the controls are easy to use so don't worry.
4.Replay value- As like all MGS's fun to play again, in a speed run or just to build your army bigger for the next time you play.

Great game, I really recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2007
It does take getting into, but it's just such a brilliant game!

Where the other metal gear games have been difficult to really see your surroundings, the new controls for the camera on the PSP completely revolutionizes the experience. The plot is fantastic, and it fills in a huge gap in the series.

I never really liked MGS3 because of the depressing storyline and the fact that it was Big Boss, not our favourite Solid Snake, rather like the way having to use Raiden through most of MGS2 annoyed people. However, I absolutely love this game!

As you go through the single player, you'll love the plot, and then, if you have fast access to the Internet, you'll discover the multiplayer, and will never want to play anything else again! No, seriously - my brother bought this game, we both completed it, and then we discovered multiplayer and went out and bought another one just for the multiplayer!

You don't even have to be a real fan of the other metal gear games, but I suppose it helps, as it fits nicely into the storyline.

As long as you don't mind the online multiplayer being a little laggy, I'd recommend this game to anyone, and even if you don't have the internet on your PSP, the single player's excellent anyway, so get it!

Trust me, it'll be 20 odd quid from Argos, and it'll be really well spent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2007
As a fairly long time Metal Gear fan I was skeptical about picking this title up for my PSP since the last 2 games had been only card based so I totally ignored them. But this game is awesome. It takes the best bits of MGS3 and puts them into this awesome PSP game. This game is well up there in the ranks with the rest of the games as it is literally the same engine as PS2.

Some things have changed though. As you run around as Snake (Big Boss) not only is your goal to complete the objective of each mission but also to capture enemy soldiers and get them on your team! This adds a WHOLE lot more depth to the game which used to get fairly tedious in past titles. Also the addition of Short missions and variety of Locations for each mission makes this game completely worthwhile.

This cinematics have been removed and replaced with (if anyone has purchased it) MGS Digital Graphic Novel style cuts, with full voice acting by original cast members where necessary - David Hayter is especially top notch as always!

The controls were hard to get used to at first and for those of you who haven't played Subsistence with the new camera angle that can also be a bit difficult to get used to.

Overall defintely worth 5 out of 5. Kojima strikes again with his brilliance fully in tact. Also with possibility of sequels and rumoured interactivity with the PS3 and the Godly MGS4...theres no reason NOT to get this if you own a PSP.

P.S. Review based on US version, only changes being made to EU version are apparently 12 EXTRA characters to acheive in some way or other, and more missions!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
OK this game is actually the best game ever!!
i love it the whole recruiting system and managing your team with all these cool weapons, gadgets, explosives all kinda stuff like that.
its really interactive , its got really good graphics(best ive seen so far for the psp)and the multiplayer rocks!!
its just so addictive i advise any1 to buy it but the only problem with this game is the controls.dont get put off by them though coz once you got the hang of it then you can enjoy the full experiance of MGSPO!!
wot i luv doing as soon as ive loaded it up and get my team ready and go to this cool patrol base for fun and shoot 1 of the gaurds on the head with a tranquiliser dart, then climb up this ladder to a platform where i radomly shoot something with an RPG and all the gaurds come rushing to you and then you shoot there heads of with a heavy arms machine gun
all i can say is that this is the best game ever for PSP!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2008
This is the first MGS game I've played since the original, and I bought it on the strength of the reviews I read. This turned out to be a brilliant move.
I'll get straight to the point, this game is totally brilliant. It's clever, its deep, it requires careful thought as well as skill and the graphics are brilliant.
Also, the online mode is brilliant. I've had little experience of gaming online, so I was stunned at how easy it was to log in and be playing with other people in a minute or two.
One great feature is how you have to build yourself an army of soldiers, spies, doctors and technicians by capturing enemies.
Also, the non-linear-ness is brilliant. You work through the game in the order that you want, and you can travel to any zone at any point.
This game is highly reccommended to everyone, especially if you've been a fan of previous games.
I can't wait to get playing again!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2011
I have never played MGS3 but i remember my brother playing and i followed it . I found it very fun to play it was a true sequel and explained how liquid and solid and solidus were born.I would recommend this to over 12s cos otherwise it is not fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2007
When i first heard that there was going to be an ACTUAL MGS game for the PSP, (Acid isn't included), i couldnt wait to play it. I knew that the next installment had to be awesome. I got home, tried to play it, realised i couldn't do it. i just couldn't. i had no idea why. then i remembered that this was no shoot 'em up, this is a stealth game. And then everything made sense...

The recruiting system is astounding. Hard to grasp at first, trying to manage 50 or so soldiers into a coherent fighting unit, but stupidly effective once mastered.

Wireless Access Points... Fantastic to use when travelling on an urban bus, many prizes to be found.

The gameplay, once the controls are mastered, is almost flawless.

The thing with this game is, you need to put a fair bit of time at the start getting used to it. once you have, this is the easiest game to play.

Storyline is gripping, right from the first character you meet, you can see how it'll intertwine with the other games.

Please, if you're a MGS fan, or if you've got a psp and want something incredible, buy this game.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here