Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
37
4.6 out of 5 stars
Arrested Development - Season 3 [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 30 September 2013
This series is so off the wall ! I normally enjoy rather the british production but there is always one of two american sitcoms that break the mould and this is one of the best. Love the story line and the weirdness of it all. Also the casting has been done superbly. I real gem in my collection. Overjoyed that they made now a season 4 !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2008
I have recently purchased all three seasons of Arrested Development on dvd and to my mind this has to be without question one of best and slickest tv comedies of all time.Great writing and great performances by all concerned.Highly recommended.I can only agree with the very commendable reviews of the previous contributors.In fact I never wanted it to end.How this fantastic piece of television came to be cancelled by so called TV moguls must remain one of the greatest mystery's and biggest blunders of all time.If there is any justice in this world.............bring it back !
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 April 2011
Always amusing, and often brilliantly funny, inventive, surreal series about a rich family gone terribly wrong, and the one
sane one trying to hold things together.

Sort of what you might have gotten if George Bernard Shaw, Kaufman and Hart and Monty Python had teamed up to do
a spin on a traditional sitcom.

The acting is terrific, from top to bottom. Even producer Ron Howard's narration is great.

Not every joke works, but as it gets weirder and weirder (and funnier and funnier), all I could think is "how the hell did
they ever get this on network TV? And thank god they did!"

The third season is truly insane (occasionally over-the-top,
but usually successfully), with the addition of elements like
Scott Baio's Bob Lawbla character, and self-referential episodes
like `Save Our Bluths' slyly commenting on the series' coming
cancellation - one of the worst mistakes in the history
of television
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 March 2007
Arrested Development's third and final season could have been doomed by the fact that, halfway through filming of the series, Fox cut the amount of episodes ordered from 22 to 13. In the hands of other programme makers, this could have been the death knell for the series. However, series creator Mitch Hurwitz and his talented cast and crew managed to keep the show afloat, and arguably funnier than ever before, for its remaining episodes. To be able to tie up the many dangling plot threads in such a limited time can't have been an easy feat, but it is managed brilliantly, as you will see when watching the DVD.

There are appearances from a host of popular recurring characters (Barry, Kitty, Oscar, Franklin etc) and famous faces, the stand out being Charlize Theron, who appears in 5 episodes as the mysterious (and hilarious) British babe Rita. The story-arch involving Rita gives the producers several opportunities to spoof the James Bond films, and the surprise culmination, in which we learn the truth about Rita, has to be seen to be believed! Another standout episode is S.O.B.s, which was filmed after the news that the show had been cancelled. S.O.B.s has thinly-veiled attacks on Fox, not to mention those TV programmes that go to extremes to increase viewers (such as killing a character, a live episode or celebrity cameos). It is a brilliant example of why 'Arrested' became a standout critical hit in its first season.

This DVD package contains 13 episodes over 2 discs, with standout extras including several commentaries (featuring cast and crew); 19 deleted and extended scenes; and a featurette which deals with the last day of location filming for the show.

The episodes in this final season are:

1. The Cabin Show

2. For British Eyes Only

3. Forget Me Now

4. Notapussy

5. Mr.F

6. The Ocean Walker

7. Prison Break In

8. Making A Stand

9. S.O.B.s

10. Fakin' It

11. Family Ties

12. Exit Strategy

13. Development Arrested
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2012
For the people stating Fox tv network made the wrong decision in cancelling this amazing show-if no on watches what can they do?
It is crazy to think that a show that is as as funny as frasier or friends didn't get to continue but Fox did try measures to get people to watch-i'm sure they started a site where people pledged they would watch ect,but ultimately they didn't get the viewing figures they needed.
Anyway ignore that sad fact and concentrate on enjoying the most enjoyable comedy that is arrested development(prob best to start with season 1 though to get the nuances of each character).5 stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Arrested Development's genius is that unlike conventional sitcoms, the events and jokes of one episode carry over into subsequent episodes. Situations and plot develop but the characters remain in `arrested development'. I started with Season 3 and have found myself working my way backwards. Season 3 can be enjoyed without having watched prior seasons; after two seasons the characters are firmly established and the opening credits tell you who is who. There are however nuances that will only emerge having watched the previous seasons.

There are a smaller amount of episodes here- only thirteen- but a lot is packed into them. There is a plot that runs over five episodes; the family patriarch George Bluth Sr. (Jeffrey Tambor) insists that he was set up by the Brits, so good son Michael (Jason Bateman) goes to investigate. He falls in love with an eccentric British woman called Rita (Charlize Theron), oblivious to the fact that there may be much more- or less- to her. I found this arc hilarious- it is worth watching the five episodes as a marathon, as it makes most sense as a `long' episode. Other gems include Scott Baio in a cameo as lawyer Bob Loblaw and the search for `N. Bluth'.

I disagree that Season 3 is disappointing. For some, it may be that they feel that the in-jokes and allusions to previous seasons feel tired third time around, and perhaps as I finish Seasons 1 and 2 I might feel that also. However to me, it feels as if they have distilled the characters and plots. George Michael's (Michael Cera) crush on his cousin Maeby (Alia Shawkat) becomes more and more obsessive; Tobias' (David Cross) obliviousness to his latent homosexuality becomes more comic as he betrays his desire for men in increasingly obvious ways. Whilst being darkly comic in places and the characters being more inappropriate, apart from the matriarch and partriarch, the characters are innocently oblivious so are somehow likeable.

The truth behind George Bluth Sr's crime is finally revealed and there is a final plot twist that rocks the family. Season 3 rounds the show up nicely although; I have not seen Season 4 yet but the show would have to shift from the in-jokes that have now worked themselves out. It's no bad thing to end on a high; completely different show but This Life is a great example of a show that went out with a bang, without the opportunity to become stale.

Product-wise, I would recommend getting a Season 1-3 boxset and watching in order. You could skip to your favourite episodes but the show works best when enjoyed in order as a marathon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2007
"I have made a huge mistake" should be gratified onto the office door of the Fox Executives that cancelled one of the greatest comedies of all time. Arrested Development is/was original, relevant and extremely funny. It is a show that anyone and everyone can escape to and find something to laugh about in. Full of fantastic comic performances and scripts even more intricate than the first two series of this is my favourite tv show. The jokes come thick and fast and knowledge of the first two series is essential to get proper enjoyment from the complex self referential humor. The episodes are also better on second viewing as you spot the more subtle jokes that litter each one.

One of the joys of Arrested Development are the grand narrative jokes, that you sense building up over an entire series and in this shorter series there are two fantastically worked plot twists. Arrested Development makes fantastic use of music, visual and physical comedy but its true heart lies in its characters. If you have the first two series you simply have to get this series to complete the set. Uncle Gob, Uncle Tobias and Uncle Buster are waiting for you. "Come On!"

And if you haven't seen any Arrested Development (so jealous, you have so much goodness to come) buy the first series now!

Joshua Davidson
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2011
It was a huge shame this got cancelled. The last season is not the best, and its only on the third watching I really appreciate the subtleties of Charlize Theron and her character's input, I wasn't such a fan to start with. I think Buster and Tobias make the third season truely hilarious, I think these characters really get a chance to shine! This is a hugely funny end to the series, I am only keeping fingers-crossed for the film!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2012
If you know and love (and love to hate) the Bluth family, you will love the third season. The formula remains the same (and sometimes similar gags from previous seasons get a little boring), but this also means guaranteed laughs. There are some good extras on the DVD, like the blooper reel, that nicely complement this edition. Too bad there are only 13 episodes in this last season!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Fantastic and hilarious comedy about a dysfunctional family. The cast is brilliant and the writing is superb. Although this season isn't quite as good as the two previous ones, it is still worth watching and there are plenty of laugh-out-loud funny moments. It was a huge mistake to cancel this excellent series!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)