Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
107
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 July 2005
Never one to dissapoint, Jared Leto is back with the follow up to their fantastic debut album, and its just as good, if not better than the first. Big production, huge melodies, futuristic electronics and imaginative lyrics, anyone who likes any kind of rock/metal music should check this out, its that good.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2005
"A beautiful lie", the second masterpiece of ThirtySecondsToMars is absolutely good. They seemed to move on in a new direction, different from the first self titled album. I truly like all the tracks, my favorite one is "the fantasy". With "A Beautiful Lie" you can feel for the second time the rhythm and the sound of another far planet, with the impressive voice of Jared Leto and the sound of his mates.Every song has meaning and depth to it, lyrically and musically. There are two tracks that you must listen to: "Hunter" a cover of Bjork song and "The Battle of One" that in my opinion is a bridge that connect this new album to the first one. This is their growth, thier consacration.
My suggestion is "Go and buy it".Those 4 guys worked hard on this new release and they deserve to be listened and appreciated by all and in many countries.BUY AND ENJOY A BEAUTIFUL LIE-IN STORES FROM AUGUST 30TH.
RedScarlett
[Echelon]
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2007
at last 30 seconds to mars have hit the uk with an official release of the album. the songs are good, and catchy, and the band are strong, lead by Jared Leto, who is joined by his brother shanon, and mates tomo and matt (though matt has now left the band) it is a good album and well worth a listen, not the type of music i would buy normally (i bought it as i was a jared leto fan initially) but it is now always played on my ipod and the cd is never out of the cd player. the band are fantastic live too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2007
When I bought "A beautiful lie" I thought I would get a couple of singles and some mediocre songs in between, but I was pleasantly surprised.

"A beautiful lie" is a musical piece to be heard and enjoyed from end to end, not just an album of songs. And then it all just comes together as an intoxicating masterpiece. The lyrics, the guitar riffs, the music, and the vision.

Louise
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2007
I am a long (very!!) term rock and guitar misic fan. I have seen and heard many bands and albums over the years. This album has left me sure of the tradition contuinuing with the newer generations. I agree with all that has been written apart from the reviewer who wrote that 'Hunter' was the weakest song and a 'filler'.

Hunter is a cover of the brilliant and enigmatic Bjork song. If anything, it is stunning in it's ability to match the tension and individuality of the original. To cover a Bjork creation is very courageous, to do it as well as this deserves credit.

Here's to the next one guys.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2008
The album is all my favourite songs bundled into one package. Ive been listening to 30STM for ages now but this is th 1st time I've owned a hard copy of their music. The combination of striking guitar, drums and the amazing voice of Jared Leto make for some pretty decent listening!
The bonus is getting the 2nd cd filled with extras: music videos, Making-Of's, MTV selections. . . totally worth the extra money, even if you were only looking for the album in the first place!
An essential for any 30 Seconds To Mars fan!!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2005
Jared Leto and co have done it again.
A Beautiful Lie is an amazing album filled with tracks as complex and wonderful as their debut.
They've changed their style ever so slightly but the art doesn't suffer because of it. The sound is much cleaner and Jared Leto has really found his voice on this album. If you liked the first, you will adore this.
"From Yesterday" in particular is a stand-out track as well as the title track.
Another masterpiece. Boys done good!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2007
Jared Leto must have been into music before movies because this is a quality album usualy i think actor turned musician = making a fool of yourself this is not the case here.

this is the 1st 30 seconds cd i have ever heard and i cant rate it highly enough its great the music is strong and powerfull and jared's singing is way better than his acting.

i realy hope that's the end of the films and this band are around for a while.

if your into i hate saying EMO then its up your street i call it good rock music.

now im going to buy there other material you should start here.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 1 November 2007
I bought this album on the back of the song "The Kill", following frequent airplay on Radio One recently, and all I can say is this album doesn't dissapoint. Jared Leto has a great voice - I do think without the quality of his vocals this would be a pretty average album. Technically the music isn't particularly the most jaw-dropping I have ever heard but there is angst and passion in spades here. Some of the songs have a distinct Deftones vibe to them (even to the point that Jared's voice sounds very similar to that of Chino Moreno) but with more melody - I think if Deftones were to ever release a mainstream album it would sound like this.

I really like A Beautiful Lie, there are some very good tracks on here. I'd say the best is possibly "The Kill" but other note-worthy tracks are "Attack" (the opener), "From Yesterday", "The Story" and "A Modern Myth", which are all pretty much on par with "The Kill". I also really like one of the untitled hidden tracks - track 11 on the album (there are two tracks not listed on the album cover). This song is possibly the heaviest song on here with Jared providing us with some well placed screams towards the end of the track.

The other hidden track (track 12) is pretty dull and definitely bares a strong resemblance to the Deftones (White Pony era) - in other words, it's a very abstract track with curious vocals and sounds. Jared sounds just like Chino throughout the track - you could easily confuse it for a track off Deftone's White Pony.

Overall, this is a very good album. Since buying it I haven't been able it remove it from my stereo. It has an epic feel to it, great vocals and plenty of passion in the songs. It has some minor faults but compared to releases from other actor-turned-singer types this is about as good as it gets..... and it is surprisingly good. It's very easy to forget Jared's main pursuit is his acting career, such is the quality of this album. Recommended - 4/5.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
I love 30 seconds to mars and have done for 2/3 years now. This was my first album of theirs and I love it. me and brother love to rock out to this album in the car, especially attack, from yesterday and the kill.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.80
£5.75
£3.79
£35.99

Need customer service? Click here