Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
97
4.2 out of 5 stars
Yours Truly, Angry Mob [CD & DVD]
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.44+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 October 2017
Product & service excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 August 2017
good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2016
very good item arrived on time by kaiser chiefs called yours truly angry mob
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 14 December 2016
After the huge success of Leeds formed indie rock band Kaiser Chiefs' debut album Employment (and the first four singles, which were equally as successful, and soon became anthems for the new generation of indie lovers), these five man followed it up in 2007 with a superior second. 'Yours Truly, Angry Mob' is lyrically darker, and maturer in the song's lyrics, which deal with the gritty topics of street crime, violence, fame, and tabloid inaccuracies. It's also a much more guitar-driven album, and once more, virtually every track on it holds up. It is still perhaps the best introduction (if it's a studio album you prefer over the hits retrospective Souvenir: The Singles 2004-2012) to the Kaiser Chiefs, if you're still a novice.

These men are responsible for a string toe-tappingly catchy, radio-friendly anthems, and although things open with the infectious number one hit 'Ruby', a simply great pop-rock song, don't judge this album solely on the strength of that, because there is still much more to enjoy, and that isn't even the best track. Further singles like 'The Angry Mob', and 'Everything Is Average Nowadays' added on to their already impressive list of hits, and 'Love's Not a Competition (But I'm Winning)' is another stand out, which should have done much better than did in the charts. There are some more apparent Britpop influences on here, especially with the album-only songs 'I Can Do Without You', and the Blur-esque 'Try Your Best', which is one of the record's few mellower moments.

This is still one of my favourite albums of it's time, the songs on 'Yours Truly, Angry Mob' rarely seem to get boring after a while (unlike their debut), and this aggressive, unmistakably British record still holds up. If you enjoyed the Kaiser Chiefs' first album, then I think it's highly unlikely that you won't like this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 17 July 2009
I got this album when it was on a special, as I had heard of all the good things about this group. This album is a good compilation of tracks and songs. I know the group from the song Ruby and it is still as catchy now as when I first heard it a long time ago. From the excellent Ruby to the slower Boxing Champ, good album worthy of any collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2017
Very pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2007
I wasn't really sure what to expect from the Chiefs' second album. Their first album was a successful hit, and I wasn't sure they could improve on it. I was proved wrong.

'Yours Truly, Angry Mob', is a more guitar-driven affair, with catchy hooks and superb vocals. KC maintain their radio-friendly image but they also add a more rocking sound to their already accomplished sound.

'Ruby' was the first single to be released and it's not difficult to see why. Shot straight to number one in the singles charts and has a great chorus mixed with brilliant guitar riffs. Ricky Wilson's vocals are improved on 2004's 'Employment', and his vocals have always been strong. An excellent opener. 10/10.

'The Angry Mob' is another anthem, and a typical KC song. Catchy, memorable and brilliant. The part where Wilson begins to sing 'We are the angry mob, we read the papers every day....' is sure to be a highlight around stadiums wherever they go. Superb. 9/10.

'Heat Dies Down' is track three, and it maintains the intensity and purpose of the previous two tracks. This is more in the vein of 'Ruby' than 'The Angry Mob' to be honest. Excellent riffs, and an infectious chorus, coupled with superb, witty, sharp songwriting. This song is the Chiefs at their very best. 10/10.

Track four is 'Highroyds', which harks back to the band's youth. Wilson sings sharply about their teenage years. 'No need for ID with those dresses...' is one witty line among many. The 'woo's' are catchy and the riffs are equally as rememberable. The song finishes with Wilson singing about an ex asking for a song to be written about her...'I don't think so!' is Wilson's emphatic answer to that. Excellent. 9/10.

Track five slows proceedings down, and possibly the slowest track the CHiefs have produced since 2004's 'The Modern Way', off their previous album, 'Employment'. A combination of acoustic guitar, marching-style, 'Welcome To The Black Parade' drums, maybe, occasionally, make for a hazy, dreamy ballad . 'I won't be the one to disappoint you....anymore', Wilson sings. The track, incidentally, is called 'Love's Not A Competition (But I'm Winning)'. 8/10.

Track six, 'Thank You Very Much', harks back to the harder, driven guitars and the catchy pop-rock hooks that KC are renowned for. This is the Chiefs' producing their best style of music. 9/10.

Track seven, 'I Can Do It Without You', is a slightly slower affair, but still a guitar-based one, and still catchy at that. 8/10.

Track eight, 'My Kind Of Guy' is a great tune. Not as good as the earlier tracks on the album, but the lyrics are still as witty and funny. 'You're my kind of guy, 'cause I like your style and you sound as horrible as me,' Wilson sings. Very good. 8/10.

Track nine, 'Everything Is Average Nowadays' is another catchy number. The guitaring is excellent, and the chorus is the pinnacle of the song, as it is with most of their other songs. The songwriting again is super, and the song is short and sweet. 9/10.

Track ten, 'Boxing Champ', is unlike anything the Kaisers have done before. A piano/keyboard piece, lasting only 91 seconds, it could be dismissed as filler, however I see this song as a story and it has somehow affected Wilson for the better. Therefore it's got a purpose and the words are excellent. 8/10.

Track eleven, 'Learnt My Lesson Well', goes back to the usual rocking style of most of the songs heard so far. A simple guitar riff coupled with sharp drums and great rhythms and vocals make for a great song. This might be the strongest song on the album since 'Heat Dies Down', most certainly for its all-round combination of everything- lyrics, vocals, music and rhythm. 10.10.

Track twelve, 'Try Your Best', starts very slowly, but you can hear the anthemic guile within it right from the beginning. It moves along quite slowly but it has a purpose in its sound and the final 30 seconds or so has a tinge of 'Ruby' in it, which can only be a good thing. 9/10.

Track thirteen, and the final track, 'Retirement' is a more up-beat number. The lyrics are as witty as ever and it's about Wilson talking about creating an invention and retiring early. Quite funny, actually, but from a musical perspective, it's also very good, if only a bit repetitive, and makes for the album's weakest track. 7/10.

So, what do I make of 'Yours Truly, Angry Mob'?

I bought this the day it was released and have taken until npw to write a review to try and get into it as much as I could. And I took to it straight away. It's a great album, not quite the finished article, but it nearly is. It's an improvement on 'Employment', but it isn't quite 5-star material just yet. 2007 has been a good year so far for albums, here's hoping the standard continues.

Ricky and the boys get a 9/10. Excellent. Highly recommended for fans of indie rock and supporters of Brit-Pop revival!
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 28 September 2007
I'm surprised to read the negative reviews here, Unimaginative, and uninspiring are just some of the terms I've read that have surprised me. 'Rock' never used to be my thing, the kaiser chiefs among some others have changed my mind on that. This is a brilliant second album. Of note of course is the brilliant 'Ruby'. 'Everything is average nowadays?' not with this album my dears.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2008
Yours Truly, Angry Mob surprised to see this is selling for £5 on amazon because this is a superb 2nd album from the Kaisers with the hit singles Ruby,Angry Mob and my personal favourite Love Is Not A Competition (But I'm Winning]. High energy Brit pop on steroids.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)