Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
58
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.54+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 September 2012
no where near as funny as the first series,for me it had very few laughs,unlike the first series that kept me laughing all the wat through.did not like the sitcom sketchs and did not think some of the stars were ridiculed enough.all in all a much poorer format that did not do it for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2015
Bought after watching The Office. It is well written and funny. You'll either love it or hate. I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2007
This isn't as good as series one. It's very funny in places and without giving any spoilers the `Vaseline' joke in the Sir Ian McKellen episode is priceless and made me laugh out loud. Lots of other good bits come your way too, not least the comedy within a comedy "When the Whistle Blows" which is funny in a mindless way (and funnier than long periods of the `real' show.)

What goes wrong for me is that the whole idea has become more than a bit formulaic and repetitive. Megastatically, hyperphrastically famous name actor does a grotesque cameo and Andy Millman (who tends back towards David Brent in some episodes) is left speechless as he cannot comment in the presence of such a STAR. Also painfully awkward situations about physically disadvantaged/ill people are revisited here in this series in three episodes. They're not bad, just too frequent.

Personally, I couldn't stand the extras (helpfully provided here on a whole DVD to themselves) where the comedy of awkwardness so often well done in the shows by Ricky Gervais crops up in the interviews with him and Stephen Merchant together. I found it uncomfortable not knowing whether the many barbed comments they make about each other were for real or made just to be witty/funny. Sorry to bang on about this extras DVD but also you have Ricky with his deeply sincere voice telling you that Robert de Niro is the greatest actor on the planet and what a genius David Bowie is. I hope you're getting the picture.

Oh my God, reading this back, this review kills the series dead. I didn't mean to. No, it's better than that and it has some funny moments...but not enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
I loved the first series of extras and only caught some of the second series when it was on TV so bought the DVD. It's quite good very funny in places but not as good as the first series. Still not put me off buying the special DVD to complete my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
"Are you avin a laugh" YOU WILL WHEN YOU WATCH THIS DVD, EXCELLENT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Absolutely brilliant but watch Extras one first or it does not make sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2007
Extras series 2 has a little more fluidity than the first season. Giving Andy Millman a break in his own sitcom adds some consistency to the storyline. The undoubted star of the second season however is Darren Lamb the agent who is jaw achingly funny. There's some great set pieces, and a running theme of un pc humour like making inappropriate comments about the handicapped or different ethnic groups. By the end of the season they had squeezed every last drop out of the formula so it's a wise move not to make a 3rd season. This is probably the best Brit sitcom since The Office.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2014
Great series. Would recommend if you enjoyed The Office.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
delivered following day, as good as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2007
I thoroughly enjoyed the first series of Extras, and this series continues to make me laugh. Absolutely hilarious, so many good scenes, Bowie's song, the awards ceremony, the gay play, just to name a few. It's always hard to follow a high quality first series, and peple will always find negative things to say, but for me it is as good, if not better than the first series. Fantastic, can't wait to buy the DVD.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse