Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 July 2017
Side splitting and really enjoyable and a great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2017
A lovely film - well acted and most enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2015
Enjoyed the film - big fan of Helena Bonham Carter in particular.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
was a good film worth a watch if ur into the football game of 1966 if we ever needed reminding of it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
This is a brilliant film! Can't understand why I hadn't heard about it years ago. I've bought several copies and passed them on to friends and family and loaned our copy out! Enjoy every minute of it. Second to none casting! Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2007
For anyone who was around in the 1960's, they will really get the feeling of the time. The movie has a real 60's feel about it.
As one of the other reviewers has already said, this is more a British (English?) film than a Jewish one.
Apart from being SO funny and sad, it's also a demonstration of how an ethnic/religous minority can become totally integrated into British society and yet maintain its own traditions. Other minorities should take note.
A great film, with bits of the 1966 World cup cleverly woven into the story.
Buy and enjoy.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2007
I watched this because I work as a speechwriter, I'm not Jewish, but I get asked to write lots of bat mitzvah speeches. It provided a good insight into how important the ceremony is to a small Jewish boy. But this was more a British film, than a Jewish film.

There was lots of observant comedy of what it was like to live in London in the 1960s: the rise of the supermarkets, the drab meals and the tinny old cars.

I'm not sure if the film was a big success, it has all the ingredients of something like East is East. The football and bat mitzvah plotlines don't quite join seamlessly.

It's fun, watchable and the ending has a bit of wisdom to it. A family film.
11 Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
A charming, funny and heartwarming story about a working class Jewish family in 1966 England. Bernie Rubens (Gregg Sulkin) looks forward to his bar mitzvah being a big success remembering how he was upstaged by the bar mitzvah of his older brother. but potential financial ruin, a house fire and the injury of his uncle preoccupy Bernies parents played by Helena Bonham Carter, who carries off the role as Bernies mother with quirky charm (her usual splendid self) and Eddie Marsan.
Most significantly Bernies' bar mitzvah coincides with the day of the world cup final and Bernie knows if England makes it to the final his Bar mitzvah will be ruined. sure enough England does make it and relatives and friends call in one after the other feigning all sorts of excuses, and it look really bleak for Bernie, but it will end in an upbeat note which I wont reveal so as not to spoil the ending.
Quirky, humorous, avoids stereotypes, shows how Jews can be ordinary working class people in Britain, to the film's credit and also will appeal to people of any background as well as Jewish people. Based on the actual coinciding of the director's Bar Mitzvah with England's stunning 1966 world cup victory, and a highly recommended coming of age comedy.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2013
Bernie Reuben (Gregg Sulkin) is ignored and picked on. He is "not very good at breathing." His father Manny (Eddie Marsan) is not very assertive and is an embarrassment. Bernie recalls the wonderful Bar Mitzvah his brother had and relishes the day when he has his celebration, a day that will belong to him. As that day approaches, his family undergoes various hardships, downsizing his celebration. To make matters worse, his barmitzvah is scheduled the same day as the World Cup Final, July 30, 1966. Bernie realizes as his native England is in the tournament, they need to lose for him to have a large turnout.

The film is a comedy-drama. Some of the jokes are quick visuals such as a card that reads "Kimmel Kosher Katering." The soundtrack include tunes from the era.

No f-bombs, brief implied sex, male rear nudity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2007
This is the best film i've seen this year,if you were a child growing up in the 60s....this is a film for you,the acting is top notch by all invovled,the clothes, the vechiles and old style shops brought back my childhood.It's a film that'll make you laugh and cry,it's a wonderful film.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)