Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
43
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 March 2007
i came by this album as a 14 year old in 1979, it blew my socks off then and it still does now , this album came out 4 to 5 months before the debuts of the clash, the jam, and the stranglers and nearly 10 months before the pistols commited to vinyl, this album ranks alongside the who`s my generation as a blistering debut with a take no prisoners attitude, brian james brilliantly crafted songs and unlike a lot of punk bands, no reggae, no politics, just adrenalised rock n roll, this 3 disc has the original album remasterd, disc 2 demos b sides and peel sessions/in concert. disc 3 is a ragged recording of their 1st gig at the 100 club in front of a small stunned audience, dont mess about this belongs in your collection . get it!
11 comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2007
From the first bass riff on Neat Neat Neat to the explosion of sound at the end of I Feel Alright there can be no doubt that you are listening to the finest album of the punk era.

Although well known for being the first Punk group to release any record, in the form of the New Rose single, the Damned had so much more to offer. They were, and still are, essentially a live band with boundless energy. This album manages to capture all the raw energy of an early live show. With minimal frills and overdubs this album serves as the perfect document of it's time. That said it doesn't actually sound dated even 30 years later.

If you want to know where band like Greenday got their inspiration from look no further than Damned Damned Damned.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2007
Many will argue that Damned, Damned, Damned was the first UK punk album proper and it's hard to disagree with that. Bolting out of the stocks months before the Pistols and the Clash committed to vinyl (remember that?) DDD arrived in the summer of punk as a flash of lightning at the time of "Frampton Comes Alive" and "Wings at the Speed of Sound" and put punk on course for the mainstream.

Three decades on, here's an 3-disc anniversary edition. Disc one is a spruced up and remastered version of the original album - it still sounds astonishing fresh given its shelf-life. Neat, Neat, Neat and New Rose have lasted the course and were always two of the best singles from the era anyway.

Disc 2 is a collection of demos, odds and ends and some classic John Peel sessions while the third is a concert from the 100 Club at breakneck speed in July 1976 (which technically makes it nearly 31 years ago!)

Amazingly, they're still going, and still pretty good. Never very fashionable the Damned, but for those of us who formed a lot of our musical tastes around this time, an absolute steal for the money.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 October 2007
It's funny how the passage of time changes perceptions. During punk rock's brief blaze in the late 1970s, The Damned were, well, damned in the music press as of no worth in any department, had no major hits and seemed to have little public support. After two albums they broke up and, though they reformed, they did so without main songwriter, Brian James. For years now, they seem to have enjoyed a fond remembrance, and fans are quick to praise this debut effort.
I bought this about a year after release, having heard the two exciting singles, 'Neat Neat Neat' and 'New Rose.' Despite being produced by Nick Lowe, who quickly realised the band's musical shortcomings, the record looked and sounded cheap and nasty. It also weighed in at a mere half hour, like most punk albums. Nevertheless, 'Damned Damned Damned' is explosive, exciting and the tracks are remarkably catchy. Only the grisly 'Feel The Pain' is slow. The tactic is otherwise all-out attack, James propelling an inferno of sound from his guitar.
I'm almost tempted to give this full marks, but the band's musical deficiencies, together with some shallow lyrics, prevent me from doing so. It's a high-energy, high-enjoyment album, but 'Stab Yor Back,' for instance, is even too moronic for The Ramones. A minor punk milestone, though.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
what a great album! i love the classic punk bands of the 70s and early 80s, Pistols, Clash, Jam, Stranglers, Buzzcocks, Undertones etc but special word should go to the Damned for this masterpiece. In my view its better than Never Mind the Bollocks,
on par with The Clash and the best of the Damned's recorded output. i must admit to always prefering the first lineup of the group with guitar hero Brian James' songs and riffs at the forefront. here you have the classic New Rose, the fantastic bass driven Neat Neat Neat. But the real jems are the ones not so familiar. Fan Club is full of classic chord changes, Feel the Pain is almost funk punk in the way the guitars jam towards the end and the only song here i would even contemplate skipping is Rat Scabies's (he drums very well by the way) Smash Your Back which could have been done by Sham 69. I've read one review of this album which says it lacks tunes but i think the guy who wrote that must have had Emerson Lake and Palmer on at the time.
Buy it now - its still as exciting 50 listens later.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2004
This is the best work by the first incarnation of the Damned. Brian James was still the main songwriter, and Captain Sensible was still waiting to fill his shoes as guitarist whilst playing the bass. It sounds like it was recorded in someone's shed with everything turned up to 11, and there is little evidence that they were careful with tuning their instruments, but none of that matters.
What matters is that this is probably the most true to the roots of American punk album that came out of the British punk scene. It's all MC5, Stooges and New York Dolls rather than the Pistols/Clash type of punk. It's the real amateur stuff, but it's TALENTED amateur stuff!
The first British punk single is here, the fantastic 'New Rose' (Is she really going out with him?), and it's full of great numbers that once heard are never forgotten. It's only half an hour long, but there is a lot crammed into that short space of time. Mostly Brian James penned songs, with a Rat Scabies number and a Stooges number thrown it, it just makes you want to move some part of your body in time with it.
Cool album by one of the coolest bands.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
well, what can i say, over the past 15 years or so they have re packaged this classic album a few times most recently back in 2005 with the great play it at your sister box set, i have this lp on 3 different color viynls, the original japan press lp, a uk reissue, original japan cd, the japan papersleeve from 2007 with all the bonus tracks and the original uk, i dont know how many more reissues i can buy of this but what got me on this one was the 100 club gig opening for the sex pistols, the last box (play it at your sister) had the classic 77 french show, of the 3 different box set versions of this i think this is the nicest one with the packaging and all, as for the music ive had it all for years in one format or another, needless to say this was about the best punk rock album in late 1976 to come out of the uk, i feel this record was even stronger then never mind the bollocks or the first clash album, damned damned damned WAS THE BEGINNING OF PUNK next to eddie and the hot rods teenage depression lp ( however the hot rods also had a bit of a pub rock feel to them) this will always be a five star album and all the bonus goodies make this that much better, that is why THIS SUCKER HERE IN NEW YORK keeps buying it in one format or another, last thing i will say is i had the opportunity to see this line up live here in new york in july 1989 ( wow 24 years already) and it was on a scoldering hot night and it was one of the best shows i have ever seen in my 33 years of going to shows, i think rat scabies must have smoked a whole pack of cigs during this gig while whaling away on his kit and it was pretty memorable when the show ended, the captain dropped his draws and walked off the stage bare assed, lot of great memories, great times and the best music ever comes from this era and this was without a doubt THE RECORD THAT KICKED OFF THE UK 77 PUNK EXPLOSION play loud and enjoy the goodies this box comes with!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Damned's undirected blast of energy screamed the virtues of mindlessness and paradoxically provided belief. Rumbling into view in 77, indecipherable lyrics, intense guitar energy, burning a deep hole in any 16 year old groove. A gang of special Bash St kids, dosed on dexies, handed a road map for personal anarchy. Or was that us?

The Dammed were hated by the press, too unruly, with nothing to say about the states of the world. All they communicated was a state of mind. Nihilism induced by a high energy sugar rush. The constant gigging brought their virus to the backwaters and so they infected the shires beyond the London shrines; Vortex, 100 Club, Hope and Anchor, Marquee.

Incorporating Stooges, bits of Stones, a large slice of Pistols, Ramones, MC5 and of course themselves. First wave was always more aware of the outside musical world. Only aferwards the corridors became narrower and narrower.

For the firstly annnoited before it all became formula, the Damned were catalysts for something new; kicking open doors, ushering in a period of intensity, blinding flares exploding into a deserted musical sky, the signal for change. These tracks, album and demos; are the starting pistol for change rather than the Sex Pistols quivering anger.This did not make the foundations of everything held dear shiver and shake.

Providing a space for like minded to meet each other in pre facebook times; swop addresses, sleep on floors, exchange body fluids, memories, beers and anything else illicit. Across the UK and Europe a friendly damned fan equals a night of excess.

Just remember, people still clung onto other forms of music whilst punk swept the nation, sad, very sad. What do they tell their kids?

This CD package incorporates the first incarceration with Brian James' bending guitar shapes. The second album, produced by Nick "Ferrari" Mason, generally perceived as naff, a relic for the hardcore fan had some highlights. MFP, misnamed, as it was never a treat is generally as bad as it ever was. The Damned embraced Prog. They misjudged the barometer, lost their fans and broke into pieces.

This wraps the speed rush of the 1st with a cull of the best of the 2nd; stretcher case, problem child, don't cry wolf. The other bits are demos but the groove was already cut into the debut.

The 3CD's are historical documents but they don't beat the battered vinyl copy of the 30 year old album.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2007
The Damned were right at the cutting edge of UK punk in 1977, and to 16 year olds just getting into the music, this album was one of the classics. I'd never heard any US punk like Iggy or MC5, but now looking back you can tell what Brian James must have liked. The original and best Damned line up. This album is the Damned's best to, it's so raw. I used to go to a pub where New Rose got put on the juke box. In the end they took it off, as too many people kept coming in and putting it on over and over again. You've got to remember punk really hadn't caught on, particularly in the provinces. Hell, people still wore flares in my town in 1977. One of UK punks seminal moments.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 March 2007
Is it just me, or is there something just wrong with the whole concept of a 3CD 30th anniversary expanded edition? First of all, it can't be thirty years since the first punk record appeared. And secondly, isn't it a bit prog? Ah well, Captain Sensible is a self confessed Soft Machine fan, so it's probably OK.

What you're basically getting is everything the Damned recorded in their original incarnation, which lasted about a year. So disc one is the original album, disc two rounds up their demos, B-sides and radio sessions, with disc three a bootleg of their first ever gig.

I'm going to be fairly contentious and say that I've never rated Nick Lowes production on this album and would point to the BBC sessions on disc 2 as evidence, m'lud. Some of those tracks and some of the In Concert material is garage rock, par excellence. However, disc three should only ever be played after you've gone deaf.

As an archive release, this is nigh on faultless. The Damned made better records later, post Brian Jamed and his Chuck Berry lite, but were never this visceral again.
11 comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)