Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Tom Chaplin Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Nightmoves
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 18 May 2007
Kurt Elling's new CD Nightmoves, while still awaiting UK release, has been available from the US since early April. With pianist/arranger Laurence Hopgood on board again, it's another triumph, consolidating and building upon 2003's magical Man in the Air. The choice of material is varied from Ellington to bossa nova to Sinatra to The Guess Who (a 60's rock band)- but all made uniquely Elling's own - plus vocalese with Kurt's own lyrics. The result is inspired.

The basic trio is supplemented with appearances, for example, from Christian McBride, Bob Mintzer and strings, all adding dynamics and colour without compromise. Kurt's voice is also deeper in tone somehow and for me has, if possible, improved.

It's hard to see how he could top this. Very nearly 5 stars.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2008
The thing I love about Jules Holland is that he showcases artists you would normally never give a second look.. that is until you hear them live. Step forward Kurt Elling.

Let me be clear. I don't DO jazz. But this guy's vocals are so amazing that I found myself completely sucked in.

Vocally he has to be one of the best singers I've ever heard. And that's saying something for someone who doesn't normally listen to this genre.

This album is perfect for relaxing at the end of the day with a glass of wine (or 2).
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
Kurt Elling was a chance discovery for me a few days ago after receiving a newsletter from michael valentine studio website. Since then this CD is not too far from the CD player. This man's voice is magical. His musicians compliment him perfectly. Elling's exquisite phrasing allows every track to take on a life of its own here. I have been informed that his live performances are not to be missed! Can't wait to explore his earlier recordings.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2010
Prior to hearing Kurt Elling perform live, I had been indifferent to male jazz singers although it was abundantly clear he was the real deal as opposed to the current posse on fakers and Sinatra-wannabes that get plugged as being jazz (or worse, swing) singers these days. On stage, there is no question that Elling pursues a staunchly fundementalist approach to singing jazz as is one of the few singers brave enough to attempt to spontanesously improvise both lyrics and music on stage.

This disc couples the more adventurous side of his work with material that more conservative listeners will find more approachable. Te overall result is nothing shprt of magnificent. Several tracks stand out on this record. Pianist Laurence Hobgood's arrangement of the medley "Chnge partners / If you never come to me" sees the tunes fit together live a glove whilst "Undun" illustrates how a pop tune can be crafted into jazz of high order. Hobgood also hits the jackpot with the arrangement of "Where are you, my love" which combines a transciption of a Dexter Gordon tenor solo with a string quartet. For me, this features Elling's most powerful performance on the Cd, the richness of his voice being soaked up by the strings. Several other tracks are more ambitious in their scope and set poems to music or transform jazz writer by the likes of Keith Jarrett, and Fred Hersch. I am particularly fond of the track "The Waking" where Elling is accompanied on a setting of another poem by Ron Amster's bass which is based upon a motif from Bach's "Sleeper's awake." Not only is this quite an inspired idea but there is a moment where Elling commences a phrase in a lower register which twists and turns into an alto range that generates a staggering amount of excitement. Truly a great moment in jazz! The only downside is the album's closing track where , unusually for Duke Ellington, his little known "I like the sunrise" does not match the quality of the rest of the song writing.

Kurt Elling's "Nightmoves" easily demonstrates that he is an artist that separates the men from the boys. Whilst someone like Jamie Cullum may get the column inches in the popular press, is takes a true jazz musician to create a performance on a track such as "New Body & Soul" where the singer improvises lyrics to another transcribed Dexter Gordon solo. He is almost like a male equivalent of the late, great Betty Carter whose "Tight" gets a brisque workout on this album too. This is nothing short of stupendous and an ideal pointer of where a creative musician is taking jazz vocal.

If you are interested in jazz vocals but want to hear REAL jazz, Kurt Elling is your man!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2010
I have bought everything that Kurt Elling has put out but even so this album- his first for a new label- is astonishing! Without any effort, it flow beautifully from song to song. One or two are standards you will recognize (Change Partners; In the Wee small hours) but its the others that delight. He sets the poet Theodore Roethke's poem Waking to song and it is executed to such perfection!It catches me every time, and even if the poem was new to you-listen and be amazed!
It is a pity that 'jazz vocal' is such a small genre these days, and in stores, if you were not specifcally looking for it you would probably never find it! What a pity- when others who take the 'easy listening route (Michael Buble) have their CD's stocked on supermarket shelves! This is proper grown up music, and will always be 'hip'. I just wish it were better known.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 4 September 2007
Best male jazz vocalist around without a doubt. A little less experimentation on this record than some. If you like Flirting with Moonlight then you'll like this too. Forget the phoneys out there like Jamie Cullum and the rest of the young wannabees and give Kurt Elling a listen.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
This CD was my first introduction to Kurt Elling and I can tell you that I am now hooked. This album show cases his wonderful voice range and although a bit too jazz orientated for many people, my all time favourite track has got to be Leaving Again in full bossa nova mode. Magic! It would be wonderful if he put out an album of brazilian bossa nova. Real dinner jazz stuff. I would be first in line to get a copy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2013
Jazz on 3 played him,then others get to hear.Lawrence Hopgood arrangements great with the huge range vocals,sliding around and pleasing as moods are created and painted out
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
I heard a brief clip on the radio, and thought the voice was extremely fine; somehow the CD was a little disappointing after such high hopes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
This item was a replacement by Amazon for a faulty cd. No charge. No hassle returning faulty goods. What excellent service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)