Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Price:£4.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 September 2008
Whatever comes along from the JS stable we have to treasure as she was an incredible performer for such a long time. It is unfortunate we don't have many DVD's of her work in the 60's & 70's when she was obviously at her very peak but glimpses of anything are better than nothing. Careers come and go so quickly now but this DVD is a reminder of why she was so popular and successful for so long. Having a reputation for being our Joanie but at the same time never suffering fools, she was a diva in the true sense of the word. Could actually have watched for longer, I'm sure they could have found more material, never mind, see this it's excellent!!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
An excellent recording and one that had me in tears remembering her wonderful singing. Even today she cxan't really be outperformed. Like the comment about her vocal chords....'strongest specialist had ever seen'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 9 February 2014
Joan Sutherland was an amazing coloratura soprano and one of the great voices of the last century. Thanks to her advocacy, in large part, the bel canto repertoire was seen in a new light and taken much more seriously, which is our gain. She was particularly associated with Lucia di Lammermoor, which we hear a lot about here, and also La Fille du Regiment, Norma, and Alcina. This documentary interviews a number of people who worked with her, key among whom was her husband Richard Bonynge. It seems very likely that without him she would never have come to prominence, as she was far from confident, and he was an inspired guide, steering her away from a life as a Rhinemaiden that seemed to be the shape of things to come. Not that there is anything wrong with that, but when you can sing Bellini like she can, the tresses should be loosened and you should do that, surely ... it's almost an obligation, unless circumstances stand in the way. The film shows a number of clips, montages of footage, and still photos from the early days. What also comes across, apart from her marvellous singing, is how nice she was. You can see this within a couple of seconds of hearing her speak, and other singers, including Placido Domingo, Marilyn Horne, Sherrill Milnes and June Anderson all pay tribute to her in a way that comes from the heart. You can tell it has nothing of saying the expected thing for the camera. Hers was a model of a life where, with the right encouragement, things can turn out right, and the world is a better place for it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
This had so much exciting information to be found since reading Russell Braddon's biography and discovering Sutherland in the 1960's.
I went in search of the Lucia, that Domingo mentions and on that site found a wonder of recordings of Live events including a dvd of one of the Operas that I had seen in Sydney which was only done afterwards as a radio broadcast. A most exciting afternoon was spent seeing this production once again. This is a Definite for a fan or collector.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 September 2013
This is a very touching documentary which just nicely details how Joanie's career developed and there are some nice excerpts (even the dodgily costumed ones from Australian TV).

It's a gently summary of the roles she created and shows the appreciation of those who worked with her. It doesn't have any scandal or backbiting and just takes you through the essentials.

Wish it had been longer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2012
I found this DVD quite fascinating. I had only ever seen Sutherland in concert, this was the first time I had listened to her being interviewed. I wish there could have been more of the "personal interview", because the DVD does concentrate rather too much in my opinion on her early days in opera and it would have been even better if we had seen more of her talking about her life in opera. However, I am glad I made the purchase.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2010
Joan Sutherland - how can we forget her soaring voice and superb artistry. The story of her rise to fame is well documented, without being stuffy. She is still alive and acts as a judge in Cardiff Singer of the world. She will not hear her equal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2015
Brilliant DVD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£12.87

Need customer service? Click here